Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By janner43

Thread: ATKOSD2 taking up 151 Mb of memory

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    89199
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    58
    Liked
    0 times

    Exclamation ATKOSD2 taking up 151 Mb of memory

    In Task Manager I see that the ATOKSD2 process is costantly taking up 151 Mb of my memory, far more than any other process. Is that normal or excessive? (I'm using Windows 8.1) Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Moderator Meritorious
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Swainsboro, GA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4,654
    Liked
    895 times
    Quote Originally Posted by treehouse View Post
    In Task Manager I see that the ATOKSD2 process is costantly taking up 151 Mb of my memory, far more than any other process. Is that normal or excessive? (I'm using Windows 8.1) Thanks!
    You can safely remove it, but you would lose some functionality of some keyboard keys (eg-hot key, Fn, etc.)
    Asus Eee Pad TF101 (wife); Samsung Galaxy Note 4 (from an S4); Galaxy Note 8

    The Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html
    Guidelines of Conduct http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orums-com.html
    Frederuco's Fantastical Forum Favorites http://www.transformerforums.com/for...favorites.html
    Asus T100 Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

  3. #3
    Jazz
    Member #
    89199
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    58
    Liked
    0 times

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by sculptedstylus View Post
    You can safely remove it, but you would lose some functionality of some keyboard keys (eg-hot key, Fn, etc.)
    Yes, thanks, I know I can do that, but I'm just wondering how much memory it is using now on your computer or how much memory it is normally supposed to use? Because I don't remember it ever using anything near 151 Mb, but now it is constantly doing so. Edit: I just did a System Restore to an earlier date and now it is using only 0.9 Mb !! So.... could the previous 151 Mb usage be a sign of a hacker messing wth my computer?

  4. #4
    Senior Moderator Meritorious
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Swainsboro, GA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4,654
    Liked
    895 times
    Quote Originally Posted by treehouse View Post
    Yes, thanks, I know I can do that, but I'm just wondering how much memory it is using now on your computer or how much memory it is normally supposed to use? Because I don't remember it ever using anything near 151 Mb, but now it is constantly doing so. Edit: I just did a System Restore to an earlier date and now it is using only 0.9 Mb !! So.... could the previous 151 Mb usage be a sign of a hacker messing wth my computer?
    I see, I'm really not sure why there is such a dramatic increase in usage! Why don't you message Asus_USA, he is the Asus rep on this forum. Maybe he can explain it.
    Asus Eee Pad TF101 (wife); Samsung Galaxy Note 4 (from an S4); Galaxy Note 8

    The Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html
    Guidelines of Conduct http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orums-com.html
    Frederuco's Fantastical Forum Favorites http://www.transformerforums.com/for...favorites.html
    Asus T100 Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

  5. #5
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    13,993
    Liked
    2821 times
    This question really needs posting on a Windows forum - it is OS specific and not T100 specific.

    Moved from T100 help
    sculptedstylus likes this.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  6. #6
    Jazz
    Member #
    89199
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    58
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by janner43 View Post
    This question really needs posting on a Windows forum - it is OS specific and not T100 specific.

    Moved from T100 help

    The ATKOSD2 process is actually specific only to Asus computers, not OS specific.

  7. #7
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    13,993
    Liked
    2821 times
    Quote Originally Posted by treehouse View Post
    The ATKOSD2 process is actually specific only to Asus computers, not OS specific.
    Well, you live and learn...
    C:\Program Files\ATKOSD2\ATKOSD2.exe. The ATKOSD2 is a an onscreen display utility package bundles with many laptops from AsusTek. If this utility is not installed then you will not be able to properly use other AsusTek utilities such as Splendid and Power Gear.


    Your concerns about malware intrusion on a Windows machine are certainly reasonable. I'd think that you have cleared any issue that may have have been present though, if you no longer get the excessive memory use.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Low memory error - close ATKOSD2.EXE?
    By itm in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2016, 05:31 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-31-2013, 03:29 AM
  3. Internal memory unable to mount - any way to replace internal memory card?
    By teegunn in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2013, 01:30 AM
  4. what type of memory is the internal memory on the TF infinity?
    By hox in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-31-2012, 01:19 PM
  5. Memory put into Transformer is unreadable after taking it out
    By GIJoe in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 04:44 PM
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.