Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: [SOLVED] Cannot access Internet

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    28628
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times

    [SOLVED] Cannot access Internet

    Has anyone come across this problem?

    Prime has worked fine for 3 months and suddenly it doesn't like connecting to the Internet. Switch on and it may display one web page and then refuses to show any more (Cannot display web page). Also cannot access Google Play as it states no connection. However, the wifi connection is excellent and is showing as such. All other PCs work fine with the connection. Switch wifi off and on again and it will show a page or two before refusing to show any more. So currently is a useless piece of kit. Any clue as to what may be the problem?

  2. #2
    Starscream
    Member #
    33061
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    376
    Liked
    46 times
    Try this link here, it contains a lot of information about the Primes wifi.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    28628
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for that. Even after a cold boot it does the same thing. If the signal drops anywhere from excellent i.e. any farther than 10 feet from the router, it drops out and will then refuse to load anything even if I move back to the router with an excellent signal. Only way to get it back temporarily is to turn wifi off and on again to work for another minute before dropping again.

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    33061
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    376
    Liked
    46 times
    One thing you can try is to go into the wifi settings and select forget the network. Then you can set it up again with password, etc. Sometimes this works.

  5. #5
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    14,013
    Liked
    2826 times
    I doubt there is much wrong To reprise what has already been advised...

    1. "Forget" the wifi connection to your router
    2. Reboot your router
    3. Cold boot your Prime
    4. Reconnect to your router.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    28628
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    After much experimentation I have found the problem. Wireless authentication! After removing it to an open network, all is fine again. It was obviously connecting initially and then failing when re-authenticating. I haven't changed router settings for some time but there was a firmware upgrade for the Prime recently. Has that had an effect? All I need to do now is to close my network with a mutually agreed authentication. Thanks for the help out there.

  7. #7
    Starscream
    Member #
    33061
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    376
    Liked
    46 times
    Maybe the mods can mark this one as solved to help others?

  8. #8
    Helping Hero & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1745
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    1,788
    Liked
    246 times
    Quote Originally Posted by isherer View Post
    After much experimentation I have found the problem. Wireless authentication! After removing it to an open network, all is fine again. It was obviously connecting initially and then failing when re-authenticating. I haven't changed router settings for some time but there was a firmware upgrade for the Prime recently. Has that had an effect? All I need to do now is to close my network with a mutually agreed authentication. Thanks for the help out there.
    If this starts again you might try setting the TF to a static IP that way the lease won't expire (because there is none) and the Tf does not have to re-authenticate.
    Bob_of_QF likes this.
    Help shortcuts

    For TF101 http://www.transformerforums.com/for...tml#post177499
    For T100 http://www.transformerforums.com/for...tml#post344339

    My stuff!

    ASUS T100 64GB
    TF101 32 GB + Grandkids toy now
    Nokia 635 win 8.1
    ASUS MB Z97-A with I5 CPU (mine home brew PC)
    HP Desktop (wife's)
    Retired: My week is six Saturdays and one Sunday!

  9. #9
    Shockwave
    Member #
    26523
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    892
    Liked
    145 times
    Quote Originally Posted by helpifIcan View Post
    If this starts again you might try setting the TF to a static IP that way the lease won't expire (because there is none) and the Tf does not have to re-authenticate.
    I've seen this suggestion lots of times, but nobody explained why it's useful-- a non-expiring lease on the IP would be an excellent reason to use static addys. Thanks!
    TF101 B70 series, USA running Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3, rooted. 64gb microSDXC, keyboard dock with 32gb microSDHC in an adapter
    Dell Streak 7 running Honeycomb 3.2, rooted. 64gb SDXC. Mainly used as a music player.
    Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider, rooted -- frequently used as WiFi hotspot. 16gb microSDHC.

  10. #10
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob_of_QF View Post
    I've seen this suggestion lots of times, but nobody explained why it's useful-- a non-expiring lease on the IP would be an excellent reason to use static addys. Thanks!
    It could be useful to keep the TF from wandering off the reservation. If there is another WiFi transmitting close by or if there was a possibility of another device picking up the same IP on boot, putting fixed info in can guarantee a connection on any specific network. Keep in mind that Android does a subpar job of telling you what's wrong in may areas. If it was a PC you would be more likely to see what the problem is

    The trick to the fixed IP is to set it far outside the normal range of the DHCP on the router. If it issues IPs with the last octet starting with 100 (192.168.1.100) setting the last octet IP to 140 would be better than setting it to 102.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Please help with a refurb TF101 that won't access the internet
    By dancote in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 02:20 PM
  2. Lost Internet Access
    By WyattEarp in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-05-2011, 09:30 AM
  3. Transformer but no internet access!
    By brittwitty in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 08:20 PM
  4. Transformer but no internet access!
    By brittwitty in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 09:43 PM
  5. access to internet
    By ewinkler in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 04:04 PM

Search tags for this page

android 4.2.13 cannot access internet
,

android cannot access internet

,

android cannot access network

,

android cant access internet

,

asus t201 wifi dhcp release

,
asus tf201 tablet connect to internet
,

asusno internet access

,
authentication asus tf100
,
cannot access internet asus talet
,

cannot access internet on network android

,

problem with asus tf201 wifi internet access

,
problems accessing internet on the asus trans
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 AM.