Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Polaris Office

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    21424
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    2 times

    (update: Asus update fixed issue) Polaris Office

    ICS seems to diagree with this program. If I open the program, I can't get any options like being able to open a new document or settings unless I open a file, then back out of it. Then, all the options magically appear. I notice in the settings there is an option to update the program but everytime I try (with a great wifi connection) I get a network error. Anybody know a work around to get this working right?
    thanks in advance...
    Last edited by jermflux; 03-30-2012 at 12:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    183
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    6,099
    Liked
    722 times
    Not off the top of my head but Asus has promised us Prime owners a MAJOR update will be released before the 30th so there is a very good chance that things like that will be corrected since Polaris is a part of the Asus OS package.
    Current Devices:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition - Dell Venue 11 Pro Bay Trail (On Order) - LG Optimus G Pro

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    21424
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    2 times
    Ok, thanks for that info. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    25691
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    0 times
    I'd like to have a whinge about Polaris too. These are the things I have noticed and piss me off.

    1. There doesn't seem to be an autosave feature.
    2. Nothing appears in the recent docs menu.
    3. It doesn't remember where to save docs.
    4. There seems to be two ways of opening a doc, either from the program or file manager. The trouble is one doesn't seem to be aware of the other and you can end up with two versions of the same doc without realising it.
    5. Emailing a doc delivers the message but the doc that is supposed to be attached is missing.
    6. Uploading to Google docs doesn't seem to work work either (it might have at one stage).
    7. No word count (imagine creating a word processing program and not including a word count?)
    8. The other night I edited a word doc that my daughter had sent to me. Did several saves but later could not find any evidence of it anywhere and had to re-edit it all over again.
    9. As I think of more I'll add them.
    Cheers, Rev
    HTCHD2 LEO T9193
    RADIO: 2.15.50.14
    ANDROID: CLK/HyperDroidGBX
    AsusEee Pad Transformer Prime TF201
    Champagne 64Gb ICS 4.0.3

  5. #5
    Shockwave
    Member #
    13422
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    867
    Liked
    170 times
    There is a couple of free alternatives out there:

    KingSoft office
    Smart Office 2 (can be obtained legally via getjar.com)

  6. #6
    Shockwave
    Member #
    20008
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida West Coast
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    852
    Liked
    140 times
    Thanks for the getjar tip
    DrMightySnake likes this.
    Before anyone takes my advice, please read the disclaimer below
    He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence,
    and it was often difficult to tell which was which.
    Douglas Adams

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    31188
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    Unhappy

    I'm also having a problem primarily with Power Points after editing with Polaris. They will open fine on my tablet but when I try to open using Microsoft Powerpoint on the computer it fails and I get one of two messages:

    Error Message.jpg

    Security Message.jpg

    It's not the computer because I've tried on various computers and various versions of office (even google doc reader) with the same results. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Shockwave
    Member #
    13422
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    867
    Liked
    170 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bdjeeper View Post
    I'm also having a problem primarily with Power Points after editing with Polaris. They will open fine on my tablet but when I try to open using Microsoft Powerpoint on the computer it fails and I get one of two messages:
    Error Message.jpg

    Security Message.jpg
    It's not the computer because I've tried on various computers and various versions of office (even google doc reader) with the same results. Any ideas?
    No that's normal with Polaris office created files, for some reason they report a security issue but they are not.

  9. #9
    Ratchet
    Member #
    16993
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jermflux View Post
    ICS seems to diagree with this program. If I open the program, I can't get any options like being able to open a new document or settings unless I open a file, then back out of it. Then, all the options magically appear. I notice in the settings there is an option to update the program but everytime I try (with a great wifi connection) I get a network error. Anybody know a work around to get this working right?
    thanks in advance...
    When I've had the problem of not getting any options, such as to create a new document, I simply tap on the My Folders button in the upper left hand corner and the options appear.
    Transformer Prime, 32gb Champagne, Amethyst Dock
    iPad1
    Samsung Galaxy S

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    21424
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    2 times
    seems the new update fixed the issue.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Help using polaris office
    By kreitler41 in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-10-2011, 06:13 PM
  2. Polaris Office
    By mtmeakim in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 02:13 PM

Search tags for this page

android polaris office auto save
,
does polaris office autosave
,
how to update polaris office android
,

how to update polaris office on android

,
polaris auto save
,
polaris office 4
,

polaris office android word count

,

polaris office autosave

,
polaris office security
,
polaris office update
,

polaris office word count

,
why doesn't polaris office have an autosave feature
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 AM.