Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    25448
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    Question WEP Not Working on Prime w/ ICS

    My home network is set up to use WEP because of 2 older laptops still being used. I was hoping to get my new Prime working under WEP so that I didn't have to add a WPA2 AP. So far, no luck.

    Prime sees the AP just fine. I use static IP addresses and have DHCP disabled. I've configured the IP, Gateway, Subnet and DNS addresses.

    The Prime says that is it connected with excellent signal strength. But, no data gets passed.

    Suggestions? Or, should I just get a 2nd AP and set it up for WPA2?

    Thanks.

    /rick

  2. #2
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Welcome to the forum

    Unfortunately WEP has been an issue. In my experience WPA has been the minimum reliable security for the TF. You might see if there is a firmware update for your router that may change something and allow it to work.

  3. #3
    Ratchet
    Member #
    18246
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    120
    Liked
    11 times
    I had no issues with WEP on my Prime and actually had fewer drops before switching to WPA2. However, last firmware I was on WEP was on 0.13 so this may have changed. No argument on security issue with the network but better than open as it takes specific hardware to break it, not difficult for a determined hacker though.

  4. #4
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rynoc View Post
    I had no issues with WEP on my Prime and actually had fewer drops before switching to WPA2. However, last firmware I was on WEP was on 0.13 so this may have changed. No argument on security issue with the network but better than open as it takes specific hardware to break it, not difficult for a determined hacker though.
    Actually it only requires any WiFi equipped laptop and the right sniffer software. I have a good friend who works in security and he can break WEP encryption is 30 seconds using any laptop. But he's also good at breaking into supposedly secured wired networks too.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Prime charger not working
    By hb861 in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 07:05 AM
  2. Flash not working on Prime w/ICS
    By GrandpaCed in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2012, 07:52 AM
  3. is the sdcard required for working with the prime?
    By Spook in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 01:12 PM
  4. Make your Transformer Prime GPS working
    By Bern14 in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-18-2012, 02:10 PM
  5. 360 controller not working on prime..
    By truthlesshero in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2012, 09:02 AM

Search tags for this page

asus transformer change wep
,

asus transformer prime wep

,
asus wep problem
,

ics wep

,

prime wep

,
prime wep.com
,
set static ip on asus prime
,
tf101 wep
,

transformer prime just says obtaining ip address

,

transformer prime obtaining ip address

,

transformer prime static ip

,
wep ics
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 PM.