Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By vt220

Thread: Using the TP as a external monitor over HDMI with a Nikon D7000

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    39699
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    2 times

    Exclamation Using the TP as a external monitor over HDMI with a Nikon D7000

    I am trying to find out if you can use the Mini HDMI on the D7000 and convert it to micro HDMI and push Video and Audio onto the Transformer. For the main application of pulling focus on a DSLR filming rig.

    I am looking to buy the T. Infinity 700 for this use.

    Googled this for a while to no avail.

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Starscream
    Member #
    33061
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    376
    Liked
    46 times
    Check out Helicon remote beta at this link, I believe you connect to the camera via the usb charging port with an adapter. The software allows you to remotely control the camera.
    I believe the hdmi is out only and not for input, correct me if I'm wrong.
    Last edited by ncphoto; 07-02-2012 at 11:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    39699
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ncphoto View Post
    Check out Helicon remote beta at this link, I believe you connect to the camera via the usb charging port with an adapter. The software allows you to remotely control the camera.
    I believe the hdmi is out only and not for input, correct me if I'm wrong.
    That is a cool app.

    However all I am looking for initially is the capability of the Transformer to receive the image and display what the camera sees. So when I am shooting from a low or odd angle I can see exactly what my camera sees but bigger brighter and from the screen of the tablet.

    Kinda like this : Redrock DSLR Rig with Monitor mounting | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    33061
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    376
    Liked
    46 times
    That is a pretty impressive rig. It probably costs more than my Prime. The Prime does have the capability of a large monitor using Helicon Remote. Using live view you communicate the image in your viewfinder to the Prime giving you a much larger viewing image. The big plus is that you can also control the focus and exposure from the Prime or tablet as well. You can try the program, it's free with the only limitation of the free version is that you cannot shoot raw.
    A link here with a video showing the operation of the software.
    Last edited by ncphoto; 07-03-2012 at 09:28 AM.

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    25667
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulM View Post
    However all I am looking for initially is the capability of the Transformer to receive the image and display what the camera sees. So when I am shooting from a low or odd angle I can see exactly what my camera sees but bigger brighter and from the screen of the tablet.
    The prime has no HDMI input, so the only way to get your live camera image showing up is to use one of the DSLR tethered shooting programs like the one in the link earlier.

    Also, if you're shooting 1080 hd you'll be seeing a downconverted image since the prime's screen is not going to display 1080 lines, so I wouldn't trust it for critical focus stuff really. And all the cables and setup and stuff could be a pain on a shoot.

    I've used my prime tethered on some still shoots and the clients really loved it for the previewing, it worked great. I haven't shot any video projects yet with a DSLR but I've thought about using the prime in a similar way to what you're talking about but I don't think it will really work very well, for me. For certain kinds of studio shooting, it might be okay for video, but for location shooting I'm not so sure, I think plain old 1080p monitor would be simpler and quicker to deal with.


    Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by vt220; 07-03-2012 at 12:55 PM.
    PaulM likes this.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    39699
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by vt220 View Post
    The prime has no HDMI input, so the only way to get your live camera image showing up is to use one of the DSLR tethered shooting programs like the one in the link earlier.

    Also, if you're shooting 1080 hd you'll be seeing a downconverted image since the prime's screen is not going to display 1080 lines, so I wouldn't trust it for critical focus stuff really. And all the cables and setup and stuff could be a pain on a shoot.

    I've used my prime tethered on some still shoots and the clients really loved it for the previewing, it worked great. I haven't shot any video projects yet with a DSLR but I've thought about using the prime in a similar way to what you're talking about but I don't think it will really work very well, for me. For certain kinds of studio shooting, it might be okay for video, but for location shooting I'm not so sure, I think plain old 1080p monitor would be simpler and quicker to deal with.


    Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
    So I would be connecting via USB.

    I will be purchasing the TF700 ASAP. I just care that the image is displayed real time. Saves me money and time by having a all-in-one device.

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    25667
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulM View Post
    So I would be connecting via USB.

    I will be purchasing the TF700 ASAP. I just care that the image is displayed real time. Saves me money and time by having a all-in-one device.
    Doh I totally missed the TF700 in your post, coffee must not have kicked in.

    I use https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...dslrcontroller with a Canon 7D and 5D Mark II and image is displayed in real time. The app has focus pulling controls as well but I have not tested them thoroughly yet myself. I think it might work for you OK though, if it supports your camera. I am not sure about its support for Nikon cameras.

    Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by vt220; 07-03-2012 at 06:50 PM.

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    39699
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    2 times

    Re: Using the TP as a external monitor over HDMI with a Nikon D7000

    Quote Originally Posted by vt220 View Post
    Doh I totally missed the TF700 in your post, coffee must not have kicked in.

    I use https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...dslrcontroller with a Canon 7D and 5D Mark II and image is displayed in real time. The app has focus pulling controls as well but I have not tested them thoroughly yet myself. I think it might work for you OK though, if it supports your camera. I am not sure about its support for Nikon cameras.

    Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
    well I have one now. Ill let you know in a few days how things work out.

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    39699
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    2 times

    Re: Using the TP as a external monitor over HDMI with a Nikon D7000

    Quote Originally Posted by ncphoto View Post
    Check out Helicon remote beta at this link, I believe you connect to the camera via the usb charging port with an adapter. The software allows you to remotely control the camera.
    I believe the hdmi is out only and not for input, correct me if I'm wrong.
    Awesome, over a USB to mini-USB it worked. The picture taking time is slower than hand held ... but for video it should work well.

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble connecting Transformer tablet to external monitor
    By mortstiff in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-16-2012, 07:30 PM
  2. Anyone using a VGA converter for external monitor?
    By MrSimmonsSr in forum Transformer Prime Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-06-2012, 06:51 PM
  3. connection of a monitor and external hard drive
    By fmar26 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-18-2011, 09:20 AM

Search tags for this page

can i use my asus transformer prime as a monitor
,
can u use external monitor for nikonn d7000/
,
can you use tf201 as a monitor through hdmi
,

external monitor for nikon d7000

,
external monitor nikon
,
how can i connect the nikon d7000 with an android tablet
,
how to get live view on external screen for nikon d7000
,

nikon d7000 external monitor

,
nikon d7000 hdmi monitor
,
nikon dslr external monitor
,
nikon external monitor
,

use tablet as monitor

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.