Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Mickeylittle
  • 2 Post By Ches111

Thread: H.D.M.I. lead advice req,d

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    19418
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    H.D.M.I. lead advice req,d

    Hi ! Have been through loads of posts on this forum with regards to H.D.M.I. problems .I bought a "Cheap" (2.65 ) lead from E.Bay ....Yeah ,,i know!!! ....,and guess what !! It worked fine on the L.G. telly !!.... untill i tried it 20 minutes later .all i get now is the picture.. and no sound . Tried it on the Samsung T.V. and same thing ,picture and no sound .Can anyone PLEASE !! advise on a DECENT lead (which i think is the problem) .There are that many different versions of leads ,1.3,1.4 ,etc. out there ,i just want the one that will do what it is supposed to do . Answers on a postcard ...or better still ,on this forum ....
    Last edited by alz; 01-05-2012 at 03:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    183
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    6,099
    Liked
    722 times
    I bought my 15 foot micro HDMI cable from MonoPrice delivered to me for $10.06. It works great on my Insignia 46 TV.
    mmmooretx likes this.
    Current Devices:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition - Dell Venue 11 Pro Bay Trail (On Order) - LG Optimus G Pro

  3. #3
    Shockwave
    Member #
    8902
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    566
    Liked
    106 times
    Mikey.. By the color of his money I am guessing he is from the UK and I don't think Monoprice sell to UKish areas.
    Frederuco and Mickeylittle like this.
    Play Bf3? Give some love to our server! Great group of admins!!

  4. #4
    Ratchet
    Member #
    8770
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    127
    Liked
    8 times
    HDMI is all "zeros and ones".. it will either work or it won't. I have bought the cheapest ones I can find because the extra money for Monster etc. is a waste.. the sales people will point to extra insulation as a selling point, but the fact of the matter is, unless you live inside an old AM Radio transmitter building, it's all marketing crap.

    A new 1.4 cable will do just fine going into a 1.2 TV.. so there needs to be some info provided that is missing.. to begin with, what were you trying to watch off the TF and what was the player you were using? Did you bend any pins? Hard to see I know.. but have a look if you can. Have you "borrowed" another cable to test?

  5. #5
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    8638
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,958
    Liked
    362 times
    ebuyer.com is my favourite UK Tech Store - they tend to have pretty good deals on most things

    dabs.com and novatech.com are good too
    TF No longer charges: Clicky
    Transformer won't boot: Clicky
    Power / Lock button issues: Clicky
    Flash downloaded ASUS Firmware: Clicky

  6. #6
    Jazz
    Member #
    17879
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    36
    Liked
    3 times
    Any hdmi cable will transmit any version of hdmi fine.

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5503
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by tinman8840 View Post
    Any hdmi cable will transmit any version of hdmi fine.
    No they don't. I have found two that won't work from different manufacturers. There is something wrong with the Transformers HDMI and some cables will not work. It seems to be hit or miss unless Asus fixes it.

  8. #8
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    14,013
    Liked
    2826 times
    OP unfortunately, you have strayed into an area which is both simple & complicated. Simple, in terms of HDMI, complicated by the tf!

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinto View Post
    HDMI is all "zeros and ones".. it will either work or it won't. I have bought the cheapest ones I can find because the extra money for Monster etc. is a waste.. the sales people will point to extra insulation as a selling point, but the fact of the matter is, unless you live inside an old AM Radio transmitter building, it's all marketing crap.
    Is 100% correct. Personally I get my hdmi leads from the Amazon marketplace or Poundland & the cheap ones work absolutely perfectly.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hkellogg View Post
    No they don't. I have found two that won't work from different manufacturers. There is something wrong with the Transformers HDMI and some cables will not work. It seems to be hit or miss unless Asus fixes it.
    Is "sort of" correct. The HDMI standard does not seem to have been well implemented on the tf. On the original tf101 there were many reports of incompatability between the tf & Panasonic tvs for example. Recent firmware updates seem to have largely fixed this.

    If you have another lead you can try then try that first. If a different lead gives you problems, then reboot your tf & try again. If still no joy, buy a cheap cable from Amazon & try again. If still no good, then ask Asus technical for their advice.

    Let us know how you get on.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. USB Microphone / Guitar Lead
    By Ferg in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-14-2012, 06:42 PM
  2. Looking for CRM and Lead Management Software
    By Kayakboater in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 09:13 PM
  3. Where to get a new Transformer lead in the UK please?
    By charliebathgate in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Accessories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-08-2011, 10:58 AM
  4. Won't power on, or charge from AC lead
    By MarkTucker in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2011, 09:39 PM
  5. usb extention charger lead
    By wideload in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 06:15 PM

Search tags for this page

h d m i lead

,

transformer hdmi wont detect

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.