Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Swipe
  • 1 Post By ASUS_Scott

Thread: Touch Screen Failure

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    16326
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    3 times

    Touch Screen Failure

    I turned on my TF701 today (I've had it for a few months), and the touch screen no longer works. Everything else seems to. When connected to the dock, I can tab through stuff and hit enter to select links and such. It's just the touch screen that won't work.

    I don't know why this is happening. I have updated recently to KitKat. The tablet is not rooted or anything.

    Is this something that happens? Is there a way to fix it, or is it basically bricked? I assume I can return it because I've had it for a few months.

  2. #2
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    That sounds like hardware failure. The digitizer went dead or a cable got loose.
    You can try to factory reset it (something you should do anyway before sending it in) but I don't think that will fix it. Call Asus for a RMA.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1793
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Tablet
    TF Book T102HA
    Posts
    5,903
    Liked
    1225 times
    Hi. If you can get into your settings, try this:

    You can turn on Developer Options and then Show Touches --- might help see if you have "Casper's Ghost Touches" or if it's not registering any touches.

    To turn on Developer Options -- go to settings>press on about tablet 7 times and it should enable Developer options -- then press on Developer Options-input>show touches (enable) a "white circle" will appear where your screen detects input. If it shows anything where there shouldn't be or nothing then as droidbound said you most likely have a loose digitizer cable.

    This is one way to check. See the screenshot as an example:

    28 July, 2014 34214 PM PDT.png
    Last edited by Swipe; 07-28-2014 at 05:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    16326
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    3 times
    Enabled show touches using the dock. Nothing. No white spots at all. Did a factory rest too no avail.

    I was just told it had gotten dropped. There is a small dent on one edge and scratches on another.

    Would Asus replace it got dropped?
    Last edited by Carnivore; 07-28-2014 at 08:30 PM.

  5. #5
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1793
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Tablet
    TF Book T102HA
    Posts
    5,903
    Liked
    1225 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Carnivore View Post
    Enabled show touches using the dock. Nothing. No white spots at all. Did a factory rest too no avail.

    I was just told it had gotten dropped. There is a small dent on one edge and scratches on another.

    World Asus replace it got dropped?
    Did you check again after the factory reset? Tablet only? Undocked?

    With visible damage I would think not. It's "CID" --- Customer Induced Damage. Won't be covered. Sorry to say. I don't think if it's visible damage you'll be able to get it repaired under warranty because of that. Or replaced. A drag I know.

    BUT --- Someone may be able to open it up and check the cable -- probably got jarred loose when dropped. There are some teardown videos and links to be found, check Youtube or ifixit.com, most likely sources for info on disassembling the TF701. Or Google Search "TF701 teardown" or "TF701 disassembly"... "TF701 digitizer replacement"... Good luck!
    Last edited by Swipe; 07-28-2014 at 08:39 PM.
    droidbound likes this.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    71323
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Tablet
    Other - Android 4.X
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Carnivore View Post
    Enabled show touches using the dock. Nothing. No white spots at all. Did a factory rest too no avail.

    I was just told it had gotten dropped. There is a small dent on one edge and scratches on another.

    Would Asus replace it got dropped?
    Dear Carnivore,

    I do apologize that your touchscreen is not responding. If a hardware reset has not worked to help solve the issues you are encountering, I recommend sending it in to be diagnosed. I would be more than happy to help assist you with our RMA process. If you are interested please feel free to email me at CL-Scott1@asus.com with your serial number. Also, please put case number # N140740050 in the subject line.

    Best regards,
    Scott
    ASUS Customer Loyalty
    davioh likes this.

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    16326
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    34
    Liked
    3 times
    Wow! That's great. Of course, I already ordered a new one from Amazon. I'll contact you, Scott, and see what we can do.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Post Screen Replacement - Weird boot up failure
    By sinclairworld in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2014, 12:03 PM
  2. Touch screen not working..No touch Panel firmware version in settings
    By hellboyds in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-31-2013, 09:44 AM
  3. Screen Failure
    By volpo in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-2013, 08:44 AM
  4. Touch Screen Inoperative, Touch panel version not available
    By mtrider16 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2013, 09:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.