Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: HELP TF701T stuck on boot logo

  1. #11
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91987
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevinthefixer View Post
    OK, well let's give this a try, if you have access to a PC. Set up Fastboot (same link as above), and get the tablet into bootloader mode again, just leave it there, don't select an icon. Make sure you get a return from "fastboot devices", then enter "fastboot erase userdata", then "fastboot reboot". Hopefully you won't get any errors, but if you do make note of them, preferably copy/paste from the PC. If you went to church this morning maybe the tablet will work now. As always, make sure the battery is charged beforehand.
    Code:
    $ sudo fastboot devices
    15C3E10080C00000015008500	fastboot
    $ sudo fastboot erase userdata
    ******** Did you mean to fastboot format this partition?
    erasing 'userdata'...
    OKAY [  0.764s]
    finished. total time: 0.765s
    $ sudo fastboot reboot
    rebooting...
    
    finished. total time: 0.021s
    Unfortunately, I still have android error logo when trying to wipe data or to flash new firmware with RCK. ( I should have gone to church ! )
    I also erased cache, but issue is still there.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevinthefixer View Post
    Edit: hold the fort! You said you had "official T4_SDUPDATE.zip"? Where did that come from? For a US SKU the file should be named UL-K00C-US-11.4.1.29-user.zip. Get it here:
    The New ASUS Transformer Pad(TF701T) | Tablets | ASUS USA
    My tablet is a WW one (from Europe), so I downloaded WW_10_26_1_18_SDupdate.zip from http://www.asus.com/Tablets_Mobile/A...F701T/#support.
    This zip file contains T4_SDUPDATE.zip

  2. #12
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    After the erase userdata command trying to wipe /data is redundant anyway. I was hoping the tablet would reboot normally into /system, I take it that didn't happen. Erasing cache is also redundant, it's part of the /data partition.

    It's still the wrong file. Follow the link I provided, choose Android as your OS, expand the "firmware" section and the WW firmware is the second item. The downloaded file should be UL-K00C-WW-11.4.1.30-user.zip. Put the whole thing on the SD card and try again. BTW the link you gave is dead for me, but of course I'm not in Europe. Hmm, just noticed the version number of your file, it's way out of date, so even if it's the right file it's probably older than your current corrupted version, so the recovery isn't allowed to flash it. You shouldn't have to unzip the firmware file, just copy it to the SD card and boot into recovery. It might be a bit tricky to do this with all your fingers crossed, but it's the recommended way.

    Does your fastboot setup require root privileges? None of mine do, may I ask what distro you're using? I've never had to sudo fastboot or adb, IIRC I once needed to su inside adb shell but that's all.
    Last edited by Kevinthefixer; 12-12-2016 at 08:35 PM.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  3. #13
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevinthefixer View Post
    After the erase userdata command trying to wipe /data is redundant anyway. I was hoping the tablet would reboot normally into /system, I take it that didn't happen. Erasing cache is also redundant, it's part of the /data partition.

    It's still the wrong file. Follow the link I provided, choose Android as your OS, expand the "firmware" section and the WW firmware is the second item. The downloaded file should be UL-K00C-WW-11.4.1.30-user.zip. Put the whole thing on the SD card and try again. BTW the link you gave is dead for me, but of course I'm not in Europe. Hmm, just noticed the version number of your file, it's way out of date, so even if it's the right file it's probably older than your current corrupted version, so the recovery isn't allowed to flash it. You shouldn't have to unzip the firmware file, just copy it to the SD card and boot into recovery. It might be a bit tricky to do this with all your fingers crossed, but it's the recommended way.

    Does your fastboot setup require root privileges? None of mine do, may I ask what distro you're using? I've never had to sudo fastboot or adb, IIRC I once needed to su inside adb shell but that's all.
    Sorry to disagree but @Fabisoft has it right. If you flash the firmware from the microSD you have to rename the zip inside the zip to T4_SDUPDATE.zip
    But you are right about the firmware he/she's trying to flash being outdated.
    @Fabisoft: You can only flash the same version you already had or something newer with this method. You cannot downgrade. And if your tablet was halfway current on updates you have to flash the 11.4.1.30 which was the last firmware released for WW.
    Good luck

    Interesting that only for this version of the WW firmware they changed the instructions on their website and the way the firmware was packaged. I think that's where we actually got the T4-SDUPDATE method from....
    WW_10_26_1_18_SDupdate
    How to use SDupdate to update image for TF701T

    1.Download “WW_10_26_1_18_SDupdate” from ASUS support site.
    http://www.asus.com/Tablets_Mobile/A...F701T/#support
    2.Unzip “WW_10_26_1_18_SDupdate” and put “T4_SDUPDATE.zip” in an empty MicroSD card.(must larger than 2 GB)
    3.Turn off your TF701T
    4.Insert the MicroSD card with T4_SDUPDATE file.
    5.Long press “Volume down” button and “Power” button at the same time until below screen shows up. There is a line reads ”Press key in 5 sec to enter RCK”
    6.Soon, press “Volume Up” button and you will see below screen.
    7.After waiting a few minutes, you will see an ASUS logo with a status bar. It means update process starts and after about 5 minutes.
    Finally, you should see the Google Welcome Page after your Eee Pad is automatically rebooted. Congratulations!

    PS: please be noticed this SDupdate only for WW sku.
    Last edited by droidbound; 12-12-2016 at 11:36 PM.

  4. #14
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    Interesting. For the US version there is no such file in the download, just the blob and some folders (system etc).
    [IMG]/home/kevin/Screenshot at 2016-12-13 06-28-28.png[/IMG]
    Well, right now I can't get the image uploader to work but I have to go to work. But AIR there was some discussion about the 701 being the only one you didn't unzip the file and rename it?
    Last edited by Kevinthefixer; 12-13-2016 at 07:39 AM.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  5. #15
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91987
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Kevin : Regarding distro, I'm using Ubuntu 14.04. I used sudo just because I was too lasy to add an udev rule for this device !

    Droidbound and Kevin : Yes, sometimes, you get T4_SDUPDATE.zip inside a zip file, sometimes you should rename file, but I understand that there must be a T4_SUPDATE.zip file at sdcardroot, and this zip file must contain blob, boot.img and so on.
    Otherwise update will abort after a few seconds anyway.

    Bad, I downloaded 11.4.1.30 WW from Asus web site, renamed it to T4_SUPDATE.zip, and flashing also failed after a few minutes also.
    The tablet-no-more-booting issue happened when tablet crashed while I was using it normally (no update happened, I already had latest version since a long time), and since flashing or wiping data is now failing, I beginning to think that eMMC is definitely dead.

  6. #16
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    I think I see the light...It's so bright...

    I'm actually hoping that you duplicated the typo in your last paragraph when you renamed the file, but it doesn't seem likely. You typed T4_SUPDATE instead of SDUPDATE. Please double-check that!
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  7. #17
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevinthefixer View Post
    I think I see the light...It's so bright...

    I'm actually hoping that you duplicated the typo in your last paragraph when you renamed the file, but it doesn't seem likely. You typed T4_SUPDATE instead of SDUPDATE. Please double-check that!
    If that bright light is coming towards you, you may want to step off the street and out of the way of the semi barreling towards you. Just a thought.....

    @Fabisoft, curious, very curious... I am PMing back and forth with a guy with exactly the same problem with his 701. Or is that you in disguise??? His tablet also crashed during normal operation and now nothing makes a difference. And he actually has it unlocked and we tried all kinds of stuff to flash firmware to it. Maybe the build-in "use by" date has been reached for your tablets...

  8. #18
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    I had similar problems with mine soon after I got it, but since it was unlocked, fastboot had much more power over it. I'm of the opinion that there is a bug in the bootloader for the 701 that only rears its ugly head once in a while. I wound up fastboot flashing the bootloader/TWRP combo blob file for the second time and it worked. I am just now starting to like the tablet after flashing KK-Nougatella, and it still feels to me like it might just give up any time. It's simply not as robust a machine as the 700.

    That's not a semi, it's that moron with the mountain bike and the bright light riding up the dirt side road I take to work. Wonder how long it will take them to find a pile of bloody bicycle parts off the side of a mostly-unused back road between two pit mines?
    Swipe likes this.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  9. #19
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91987
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Kevin : you got it, I did copy/paste from discussion thread (I told you I was lasy ! ) Correct filename I used is indeed T4_SDUPDATE.zip.

    Droidbound : Well, I don't have any disguise on me right now ! I just posted here after some google search, I found out that gooofy123, who started this discussion thread, has same issue than me, I was wondering if he had found a solution.

    Asus is asking for 75 just to look at device, they would probably charge me 300 if they have to change motherboard because of bad eMMC, so I didn't return device to them.
    But it seems I'm not the only one to have issues with TF701T, my boss one crashes just before entering bootloader ...
    I also saw a guy who boots its TF701T from SDCard because eMMC is dead : [Q] dead mmc -- ideas? | Asus Transformer TF701

  10. #20
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    No, I wouldn't recommend sending it to Asus. In every instance I've read about they have simply replaced the mobo, at a cost greater than the tablet's worth.

    Thanks for the link, it's a good read. Some years ago I ran into a similar problem with a Coby tablet, it could no longer mount /data, and I found a fix that involved editing the build.prop file to point /data to its external SD card. That tablet works to this day, but it's gotten so slow and laggy (sort of like me) that I couldn't stand it anymore. I think it's going to be put out to pasture as a digital photo frame, it does have a nice display.

    As far as issues with the 701, well, they're certainly not unheard of. Lots of problems with the speakers, they aren't very loud OOTB, so many people add apps to over-drive them, and they melt down. There was a rumour awhile back that a recovery was causing speakers to blow out, no matter how ridiculous that is. Personally I found the stock ROM to be horribly bloated--a trial magazine-subscription app installed as a system app? Really? And of course, my bricking experience, which involved a failed OTA update while I had an unlocked bootloader (bad idea, that). The general consensus is that the keyboard dock is junk, even worse than the earlier TF docks.

    On the other hand, it has one of the sharpest screens around even now, very decent specs for its price range, very good performance for its price range even on stock ROM, battery life as good as you can expect. And of course here on the forum we mostly hear about the problem children like yours; I'm guessing there's at least a hundred with no problems for every brick, maybe a thousand. And after all, it's three years old now, soon to reach EOL if not already.

    Sorry but I'm about out of ideas for yours. The locked bootloader pretty much blocks all active commands except the one you tried, which looked like it worked fine but didn't fix the problem. We've spend IDK-how-many hours fiddling with fastboot on other TFs in similar situations and failed. I have wondered if one could fastboot boot to TWRP recovery and try filesystem repair from there, you might try that:

    download [RECOVERY] KANG TWRP TF701T 2.8.7.0@AREA51 [? | Asus Transformer TF701 and navigate to your download folder, open a terminal there and
    Code:
    fastboot boot twrp.img
    after shortening the filename. If it will boot to TWRP successfully, try to repair your /system partition. It all seems too easy, and I doubt it'll work, but you don't have a lot to lose at this point.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-24-2015, 09:13 PM
  2. Stuck on Asus boot logo
    By Rooniedoo in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-04-2014, 07:46 PM
  3. My TF701T stuck on bootscreen asus logo , please help me
    By vhoangvl in forum Transformer Pad TF701T (Tegra 4) Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-03-2014, 03:47 PM
  4. FT101 Transformer does not boot up - Stuck in EEE pad logo screen
    By ccommcomm in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2013, 08:37 PM
  5. Stuck after loading initial boot logo/graphic
    By snowb0l in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-16-2012, 10:01 PM

Search tags for this page

asus tf101 stuck on robot
,
asus tf701 does not boot
,
freeze logo 2kwallpaper
,
k00c bootloader downald
,

pad 11 bootlogo.zip

,
tf701 will not boot
,
tf701t freeze startup screen issue
,
tf701t stuck on boot screen
,
tf701t stuck on startup
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 AM.