Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Soundwave
    Member #
    61743
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by below_radar_00 View Post
    I was FINALLY able to unlock my tablet. I found another user at XDA reporting the same issue as me and his finally just started working too. Must have been an issue with the Asus servers because I didn't do anything different. I also can confirm that unlocking via their unlock tool DOES wipe your tablet. I lost everything which really sucks. Oh well...
    I am glad it worked out for you. Did that other user find out anything special that he had to do? When you mentioned "asus servers" are you implying that with this firmware update specific asus servers had to be up?

    Sent from my TF701T

  2. #12
    Soundwave
    Member #
    18586
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Liked
    1 times
    Just an FYI, when you want to unlock your tablet. Wipe your data first and reboot. Do not set up any accounts in the initial setup process. Just wifi. This way it won't phone home on your google account ID.

  3. #13
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryushin View Post
    Just an FYI, when you want to unlock your tablet. Wipe your data first and reboot. Do not set up any accounts in the initial setup process. Just wifi. This way it won't phone home on your google account ID.
    No, but it will phone home with your serial number and mac.... And that is all that counts

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

  4. #14
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by below_radar_00 View Post
    I also can confirm that unlocking via their unlock tool DOES wipe your tablet. I lost everything which really sucks. Oh well...
    That is very interesting. AFAIK this is the first time that unlocking wipes data on the Transformer.
    It did not on the 101, 300, 700 - seems they have changed the unlock process.
    Maybe it's now similar to the OEM unlock that was always available on the pure Android devices?

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

  5. #15
    Soundwave
    Member #
    62347
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Android 4.X
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by droidbound View Post
    That is very interesting. AFAIK this is the first time that unlocking wipes data on the Transformer.
    It did not on the 101, 300, 700 - seems they have changed the unlock process.
    Maybe it's now similar to the OEM unlock that was always available on the pure Android devices?

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4
    TF101: no locked bootloader
    TF300: locked, official unlock will wipe data
    TF700: locked, official unlock will wipe data
    TF701: locked, official unlock will wipe data
    if in doubt: locked, official unlock will wipe data

    reason for all this: to prevent access to user data by installing other system

  6. #16
    Soundwave
    Member #
    67809
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    I am just curious - what is the point of unlocking right now? Last I checked (about 1 minute ago) there is not TWRP for the TF701 so you cannot put a custom recovery on the tablet (the main reason to unlock).
    Perhaps my comment is out of date, but just in case, now there are indeed a recovery and an alternate ROM for the tf701.

    Recovery: Recovery ? ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7 (CM 11.0) ? TF701T (Macallan) | Droid Basement
    ROM: CyanogenMod 11 (KitKat) ? Transformer Pad (TF701T ? Macallan) ? Preview | Droid Basement
    .

  7. #17
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by HippoMan View Post
    Perhaps my comment is out of date, but just in case, now there are indeed a recovery and an alternate ROM for the tf701.

    Recovery: Recovery ? ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7 (CM 11.0) ? TF701T (Macallan) | Droid Basement
    ROM: CyanogenMod 11 (KitKat) ? Transformer Pad (TF701T ? Macallan) ? Preview | Droid Basement
    .
    More than one:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2608129

    Sent from my K00C using Tapatalk

  8. #18
    Ironhide
    Member #
    2470
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    1,078
    Liked
    39 times
    Do you have to unlock (excuse my ignorance is unlock the same thing as Root) in order to utilize exposed framework? People seem to be raving about exposed framework anyone on here try it out yet? if so how does it compare to stock rom and custom rom?

  9. #19
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by davioh View Post
    Do you have to unlock (excuse my ignorance is unlock the same thing as Root) in order to utilize exposed framework? People seem to be raving about exposed framework anyone on here try it out yet? if so how does it compare to stock rom and custom rom?
    You do not have to unlock the bootloader to run Xposed, but you do have to root (which is not the same thing, obviously). Unlocking will void your warranty, rooting should not, but on this tablet nobody has found a root exploit yet without unlocking the bootloader - unless Kingo Android Root works on the TF701...Not sure abut that.
    I am running Xposed modules on my TF700 and on the HTC One M8. They give you tons of options to customize your UI, cloak that you are rooted to some corporate snoops and much, much more.

  10. #20
    Soundwave
    Member #
    70421
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by droidbound View Post
    Glad you got it working :good:

    Mods: Maybe this thread should be moved to the TF700 der forum. Wouldn't want any TF701 owner to flash this firmware....
    yes indeed

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. TF300TL SIM unlocked?
    By kiboy6 in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-07-2013, 04:17 AM
  2. This device is unlocked
    By hanzo in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Development
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-21-2013, 12:49 AM
  3. TF201 unlocked - Can I lock it again?
    By ovation99 in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2012, 08:49 AM
  4. Unlocked prime question
    By Devincean in forum Transformer Prime Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 10:05 PM

Search tags for this page

asus tf701 unlock tool

,
asus tf701t the device is unlocked
,

asus transformer prime unlock device tool unknown error

,

asus unlock device tool unknown error

,
erreur unlock tf701
,

tf201 unlock network error

,
tf701 lost data unlock
,
tf701 unlocker
,
unknown error network asus tf701
,

unlock tf701

,

unlock tf701t now what

,
update an unlocked asus tf701
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:42 PM.