Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Kingo Root...

  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47076
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Northern tip Vancouver Island
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    1,736
    Liked
    501 times
    I use twrp on my tf700, so I do the wipe from the twrp menu. If you have a custom recovery like twrp then you must do the wipe from that, not from the stock recovery. If you are still using the stock recovery then you can do it from there (with the power+volume combo). I do not know how this particular root method works so I do not know what recovery you have.

    Factory reset...wipe data...should not unroot your device or roll back firmware.

  2. #12
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by frenziedfemale View Post
    I use twrp on my tf700, so I do the wipe from the twrp menu. If you have a custom recovery like twrp then you must do the wipe from that, not from the stock recovery. If you are still using the stock recovery then you can do it from there (with the power+volume combo). I do not know how this particular root method works so I do not know what recovery you have.

    Factory reset...wipe data...should not unroot your device or roll back firmware.
    You cannot unlock if I remember correctly, so you would be on rooted stock.
    Either using Settings > Backup&Reset or the Wipe Data option from the bootloader will only afect your /data partition. Root lives on /system, so it's not touched unless you update or install stock firmware.

    But you could do me favor: I've never gotten confirmation for the question: What exactly gets wiped if you use Factory Restore/Wipe Data.
    So if you are game, do this little test for me:
    Backup all your data off the tablet.
    Do a Factory Reset from Settings and check if your personal files (pictures etc.) are still present.
    If they are, boot to the bootloader and use the Wipe Data option.
    Check again if your personal files got erased.
    My guess is: Not
    The Facotry Wipe in any custom recovery only wipes user installed apps and settings on /data, but leaves the /data/media/ folder where your personal stuff is, alone.
    My guess is that Facotry Restore and Wipe Data on stock work the same, but I never got confirmation for it. And to tell you the truth - I'm, just too lazy to flash back to stock and try it myself.
    Last edited by droidbound; 06-05-2014 at 11:06 PM.

  3. #13
    Shockwave
    Member #
    22916
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Statesville NC
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    624
    Liked
    80 times
    OK...thanks for the info....

    @droidbound: I will be more than happy to confirm this for you when I do it. It might be a few more days as I'm sitting here in NC in the heat with no AC at the moment and don't feel like doing much of anything. But, when I do wipe it I will do it from the settings menu first and see what the results are and then if the data are in tact I'll see what happens from the bootloader and let you know exactly how it went in this thread.

    Yeah, mine is stuck and will not unlock so it's stock other than kingo root.....
    Not Your Father's Stock TF700T - KatKiss Is ON!
    Thanks to timduru - droidbound - kevinthefixer!

  4. #14
    Shockwave
    Member #
    22916
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Statesville NC
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    624
    Liked
    80 times
    Ok got AC back!! Yippie!

    Went to Settings and did a Restore Erase All Data

    Rebooted - Skipped all the setup crap - Everything was erased from SDCARD - No pictures, music, video it's all gone

    Nuff said?
    Not Your Father's Stock TF700T - KatKiss Is ON!
    Thanks to timduru - droidbound - kevinthefixer!

  5. #15
    Shockwave
    Member #
    22916
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Statesville NC
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    624
    Liked
    80 times
    Got one issue that is really ticking me off.

    The photo Gallery, it has all the crud from google+. Used to clear gallery data and media storage data reboot and it would be gone. Tried that several times and no joy. I suppose google figured out a way to stop it, though it would be nice to be able to option that with gallery settings.

    EDIT: Got it, all back to normal now.
    Last edited by flhthemi; 06-07-2014 at 03:37 PM.
    Not Your Father's Stock TF700T - KatKiss Is ON!
    Thanks to timduru - droidbound - kevinthefixer!

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [ROOT] Browser2RAM script, and root tool.
    By Tylorw1 in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Development
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-17-2013, 08:49 PM
  2. Lost root after update, OTA root keeper failed
    By U53r in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2013, 05:03 PM
  3. [ROOT] Using viperMOD PrimeTime v4.5 on TF101 B70 to root. Easy to do.
    By Leaston in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-08-2012, 11:33 AM

Search tags for this page

asus kingo root

,
asus tf300t kingo root
,
asus tf700 kingo
,

king root for asus

,
king user for asus k012
,
kingdoot for asus
,

kingo

,
kingo root asus tf300t
,

kingo root for asus

,

kingo root tf700t

,

root tf300t

,
tf700t kingo
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 AM.