Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF700
    Liked
    0 times

Losing my patience with TF700T

Hi all,

I eagerly bought a TF700 this summer after debating between Android and iPad. With the build specs and the constantly updating OS I figured the Asus was the right way to go.

However, since getting it, it has not lived up to my performance expectations whatsoever. I'm new to tablets, but I don't think they should be laggy or slow out of the box. My issues are as follows:

-Browser (built in) is very slow. Pages load slow; the system often hangs for 5-10 seconds while a new page loads; streaming video is a nightmare (streaming soccer on a Flash page via 'request desktop site', the video constantly freezes and refreshes but the sound is fine). Browser frequently quits/crashes. Dolphin is just as unstable; Chrome doesn't have Flash so it doesn't work for me. (My home internet connection is very good FYI and has never been a problem wirelessly)

-Watching videos (namely animated with subtitles) there are significant artifacts with HW rendering; SW rendering has perfect quality but causes the sound to not match the video. MX Player, BS Player, built-in player, all have similar problems. Downloaded arm7 codecs but it didn't seem to help much.

-When typing in forms, the keys often lag behind my actual typing. In fact in most applications, the keyboard input is slow and occassionally misses a letter (I type pretty quickly, but not THAT quickly lol)

I have done cold resets, tried various apps, tried to close everything via the 'recent apps' list, but little seems to work. Only thing I can think of now is a full factory reset, or installing a new OS. I don't have much on the harddrive but the inconvenience is obviously not ideal.

Please help me get some value out of this thing before I throw it out the window and jump ship to Apple...!

TF700T on android version 4.1.1; wifi V7.0.2.62.

Starscream
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF700
    Liked
    50 times