Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Recovery in APX mode

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    88615
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times

    Recovery in APX mode

    My current problem happened a couple of weeks ago. My tf700 tablet DIED.

    I was using:
    TWRP (twrp-2.8.7.0-tf700t.img) with
    CM 11 (cm-11-20150824-NIGHTLY-tf700t.zip)
    I updated within Cyanogen (4 times) without any problem then one day poof. It just wouldn't turn on anymore. The only response I can get is a slight vibration when holding down the power button.

    Since then I have installed Universal_Naked_Driver_0.73 on my Win7PC which now can see my tablet in APX mode (I powered on while holding the vol. down)

    The only response I have gotten from my tablet is a slight vibration when I hold down the power button. I really feel stuck. Is it the digitizer that's gone bad. Did something else get corrupted. I just don't know. I've searched all over but I can't find anyone with a similar situation who was able to solve this problem any help would be appreciated.

    Things I have tried:
    I held down power+vol up.
    I inserted a paper clip an did a hard reset.

    If my PC can see my tablet shouldn't there be some way of accessing some form of recovery.

    EDIT:
    I also tried wheelie/nvflash and got:

    c:\adb>wheelie --blob twrp.blob
    Wheelie 0.1 - Preflight for nvflash.
    Copyright (c) 2011-2012 androidroot.mobi
    ========================================

    Waiting for device in APX mode...
    [=] Chip UID: 0x123456789abcde (I modified the actual chip ID)
    [-] Failed to read RCMVERS from blob file.

    Is there a way to modify the blob so that I can exchange the chip UID strings?
    Last edited by blis; 01-04-2016 at 08:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    First thing to check if you're backlight went out. Get a HDMI cable, connect it to your TV and check if there is anything.
    If that is not it, this mainboard is probably toast. If you cannot get into either recovery or fastboot there is nothing you can do. Sorry...
    Feels as if a lot of these are dying recently... About 4 users just within the last couple of weeks with the tablet just giving up without cause....

    Sent from my TF700T using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    88615
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    Thanks for that idea. I'll have to grab a HDMI to micro HDMI from Amazon. I also vaguely remember running terminal on the tf700. I was trying to get it's ip address so I ran ifconfig. I think that the tablet stopped working after that so I tried a reboot and I never got anything back.

  4. #4
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by blis View Post
    Thanks for that idea. I'll have to grab a HDMI to micro HDMI from Amazon. I also vaguely remember running terminal on the tf700. I was trying to get it's ip address so I ran ifconfig. I think that the tablet stopped working after that so I tried a reboot and I never got anything back.
    I think you meant ipconfig?
    ifconfig is the terminal command to selfdestruct.
    Just kidding

    Sorry, couldn't resist
    wish you the best of luck

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    88615
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    ifconfig is the linux (android is linux/*nix based) "rough approximation" to windows ipconfig. But according to"" a/k/a androidcentral, it has to be added (compiled) to be available. I'm not sure if CM 11 has it.
    droidbound likes this.

  6. #6
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    14,013
    Liked
    2826 times
    Moved from New Members to tf700 development.

    Please post in the correct section.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  7. #7
    Helping Hero & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1745
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    1,797
    Liked
    247 times
    If the back light is the problem by shining a flashlight on the screen it should show any information on the screen. Saves paying for and waiting for a cable.
    blis likes this.
    Help shortcuts

    For TF101 http://www.transformerforums.com/for...tml#post177499
    For T100 http://www.transformerforums.com/for...tml#post344339

    My stuff!

    ASUS T100 64GB
    TF101 32 GB + Grandkids toy now
    Nokia 635 win 8.1
    ASUS MB Z97-A with I5 CPU (mine home brew PC)
    HP Desktop (wife's)
    Retired: My week is six Saturdays and one Sunday!

  8. #8
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    Quote Originally Posted by blis View Post
    ifconfig is the linux (android is linux/*nix based) "rough approximation" to windows ipconfig. But according to"" a/k/a androidcentral, it has to be added (compiled) to be available. I'm not sure if CM 11 has it.
    Zombi-Pop does not, at least for 700 or 701. Linux Mint Debian Edition v2 does (that was easy to check as I'm using it right now). KatKiss-LP for 300 does not. That's about all I'm equipped to check on short notice, so I can't say about CM11 but I very much doubt it. It seems to be more about LAN and WAN configuration than the individual device, so it makes sense that a full-featured desktop OS might have it but a Droid wouldn't.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    88615
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Tablet
    TF701
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    Could running an invalid command like ifconfig in CM's terminal have cause a meltdown of the whole OS, to point of not being able to access TWRP recovery?

  10. #10
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    No, I just did it on several machines, it simply returns nothing. Waste of time but no harm no foul. More likely CM misbehaving, but that shouldn't kill the bootloader.

    It's power and volume-DOWN that you want to try. That should boot you into the bootloader screen/fastboot mode, from which you can access system, recovery, and "wipe" (STAY AWAY FROM THIS WIPE COMMAND, AND THE ONE IN SYSTEM SETTINGS). No use to fooling with nvflash ("wheelie") unless you have created your own blob from a working system. If you can get the tablet into the bootloader screen with the 3 icons, we can probably save it with fastboot. Otherwise probably not, although the unlocked status helps.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Broken recovery mode
    By christian in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2014, 01:34 PM
  2. Recovery mode not working ?
    By FilipeMsc in forum Asus MeMO Pad FHD 10 Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2014, 06:44 PM
  3. Broken Recovery Mode
    By wawa100 in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-20-2012, 03:16 PM
  4. Recovery mode question
    By Bob_of_QF in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 06:55 PM
  5. Cannot Enter Recovery Mode(Newbie)
    By nickfury in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 05:52 AM

Search tags for this page

apx mode asus transformer tf101
,

asus transformer prime apx interface nexus 7

,
asus transformer tf101 apx mode
,
blob apx mode
,
fix apx mode nexus 7 2012
,
nexus 7 apx mode fix
,
nexus 7 apx recover
,

nexus 7 in apx mode

,
what apx mode
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 PM.