Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: [GUIDE] Help! My Transformer TF700 boots only to recovery!!!!

  1. #21
    Soundwave
    Member #
    84208
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevinthefixer View Post
    Can't beat hearing news like that.

    Any time you are changing ROMs you should wipe /data and /cache first. If changing Android versions, best practice is to format /system, /data, and /cache.

    Buster99's procedure is drastic but has saved a lot of tablets that otherwise were hard bricks. Please consider it a last resort, and avoid the need for it if you can.

    And don't let out @droidbound's secret. He thinks nobody knows.
    I think overwriting the zombi pop data section onto the older ROM was a no no as well


    That secret is just a guess

  2. #22
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rdsandy View Post
    I think overwriting the zombi pop data section onto the older ROM was a no no as well
    Quite correct. Your /data partition is like incest: it should be kept in the family.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  3. #23
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by droidbound View Post
    @LetMeKnow: I moved these posts here - feel better not hijacking that other thread..

    No, you're totally correct and your idea is interesting.
    Yes, I believe misc is checked for any commands before even the bootloader menu boots. It could well be that _that released bootit.ko before we knew about the role of the misc partition in the boot sequence or that the BL dumps that call for the recovery to it if you use Wipe Data from the BL.
    So if you have a recovery with a build-in terminal as TWRP does, it should be possible to wipe the misc partition from terminal, right?
    Then you would only need bootit.ko if you didn't have a terminal available in recovery.
    Now the question is: Do I want to test it???

    misc is mmcblk0p3 right?
    So the command would be
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=64 count=1
    Do you concur?
    This most likely does not work and I post it just for the record... The master himself stumbled across this thread and gave me the following info:
    I didn't read all of it, but I wrote bootit.ko for the case where the installed recovery isn't compatible with the bootloader - I think that was with a recovery on a 4.1 kernel and a 4.2 bootloader (related to enabling something called Trusted Foundation). In this situation you can't access the eMMC at all. So being able to run shell commands in the recovery doesn't help because you simply can't write anything to the misc partition.

  4. #24
    Soundwave
    Member #
    90465
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for your help
    I followed the instructions from droidbound, but I am still stuck

    C:\TF700>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    0123456789ABCDEF recovery


    C:\TF700>adb push bootit.ko /
    738 KB/s (27690 bytes in 0.036s)

    C:\TF700>adb shell insmod bootit.ko

    The above command shuts the TF700 down. It does not reboot on its' own.
    powering the tablet on again

    C:\TF700>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    0123456789ABCDEF recovery


    C:\TF700>fastboot devices

    C:\TF700>fastboot erase misc
    < waiting for device >

    What's next?

  5. #25
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    335 times
    You need to get the tablet into fastboot mode. Try to get to the bootloader screen manually, that is, after it powers down, turn it back on while holding the volume-down button, and when you see the bootloader screen with the three icons, let go and let it stay there. Then try your fastboot commands. The other thing you might try is to split the insmod command into two:

    adb shell
    insmod bootit.ko

    and see if it reboots into fastboot mode then.

    Just another thought, in the "housekeeping" category: did you check the md5 of your downloaded bootit.ko file?
    Last edited by Kevinthefixer; 06-16-2016 at 08:58 PM.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  6. #26
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Yeah, except these are not fastboot commands and he needs to be in recovery to run the adb commands
    But l like trying to separate
    adb shell
    insmod bootit.ko
    And maybe downloading the file again. It's so small - gard to imagine it got corrupted, but other than this I gave no idea why it doesn't work...

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  7. #27
    Soundwave
    Member #
    90465
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks again

    The tablet will not boot into the bootloader screen

    I tried splitting the adb shell and insmod bootit.ko commands
    unfortunately the result was the same.
    The command shuts the TF700 down. It does not reboot on its' own.
    I have to manually power the tablet back on

  8. #28
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Yeah, I didn't have too much hope for that....
    Can you link back to the thread we started in? Can't find it right now and I need to read your basic info again, but I think it was your son doing something and you didn't really know what, right? Anyway, we need to know as much as we can like: bootloader version, recovery version, rom version - what led to this etc..

    @LetMeKnow I am thinking about flashing the bootloader to staging with a dd command. What do you think of that in this situation?

    Sent from my TF700T using Tapatalk

  9. #29
    Soundwave
    Member #
    90465
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    0 times
    Sorry for the delay
    I spoke to my son. His adventures in flashing a customized ROM occurred awhile ago.
    The TF700T would have been running the original software from ASUS
    Going on memory, he believes the TWRP version was either 2.7.1.0 or 2.7.1.1
    He was trying to go to kitkat 4.4.4 using cyanogenmod. He thinks it was cm-11-20141112-SNAPSHOT-M12-tf700t.zip.

    Here's the link to my original post for the history
    TF700 hangs at teamwin curtain

  10. #30
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,724
    Liked
    711 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dneusitz View Post
    Sorry for the delay
    I spoke to my son. His adventures in flashing a customized ROM occurred awhile ago.
    The TF700T would have been running the original software from ASUS
    Going on memory, he believes the TWRP version was either 2.7.1.0 or 2.7.1.1
    He was trying to go to kitkat 4.4.4 using cyanogenmod. He thinks it was cm-11-20141112-SNAPSHOT-M12-tf700t.zip.

    Here's the link to my original post for the history
    TF700 hangs at teamwin curtain
    Sent you a PM yesterday. There was a typo in my command.

 

 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 190
    Last Post: 06-09-2019, 11:30 AM
  2. System Recovery Boots After Malwarebytes Scan
    By takingflight005 in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-14-2014, 12:20 PM
  3. caseen carries Genuine ASUS Transformer Connect Dock for Infinity TF700 TF300 TF201!
    By caseenBrandon in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 06:25 PM
  4. transformer tf201 & tf700 guide for older dummies
    By der_schotte in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 04:52 PM
  5. caseen VIDEO soon: TF700. TF300, Prime TF201 cases DO NOT FIT the TF700 Pad Infinity.
    By caseenBrandon in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 07:35 PM

Search tags for this page

asus transformer k010 boots only into recovery
,
how to get into developer mode on my tf700t
,
make ext4fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 size tf700
,

tf201 lollipop

,
transformer only boots recovery
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.