Thread: Geek squad refuses to install screen protector

Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF700
    Liked
    3 times

Geek squad refuses to install screen protector

I bought the TF1700 from Best Buy a couple of weeks ago...great deal for the Tablet and keyboard as a package. I also got the Skinomi screen protector (from Amazon) based on a recommendation on this forum. My wife and I got cold feet about putting on the protector ourselves so she brought it to the Best Buy Geek squad. The head geek, or whatever he is called, refused to install the protector, saying that it prevents the touch screen from working. Sounds like BS to me. Has anyone had any problem with the Skinomi or any other screen protector?

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Liked
    98 times
    While I have seen no evidence that a screen protector "prevents the touch screen from working", as a responsible business owner, I would prefer to prohibit my employees from installing them for customers, simply to avoid the responsibility for a poor job, which is very possible. A retail store environment is not the best place for doing a job that is best done where there is very little dust. Also, who will be the judge of whether the application is adequately "bubble free"? Now, why the employee offered the reason he did is another question.

Starscream
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF700
    Liked
    66 times
    I would think they didn't want to install it due to not purchasing it there in store.

Ratchet
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF201
    Liked
    18 times
    It's a service they offer...if you buy the protector there, and for a $14 charge it believe. The "geek" either didn't know his job very well or was avoiding telling you this information.

Senior Moderator Meritorious
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    TF101
    Liked
    903 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DRS View Post