Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: [GUIDE] Help! My Transformer TF300 boots only to recovery!!!!

  1. #21
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91270
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    19
    Liked
    0 times
    Just getting back to report.

    I was finally able to format and flash the rom and gapps yesterday. It runs much better than it has in quite some time. I'm thinking I will let it update 2-3 times and see how it works after that.

    I read a little bit about Katshmallow and may want to give it a try.

    I appreciate all your help.

  2. #22
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,713
    Liked
    707 times
    Quote Originally Posted by notsure View Post
    Just getting back to report.

    I was finally able to format and flash the rom and gapps yesterday. It runs much better than it has in quite some time. I'm thinking I will let it update 2-3 times and see how it works after that.

    I read a little bit about Katshmallow and may want to give it a try.

    I appreciate all your help.
    Good deal! Glad you got it working.

  3. #23
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91270
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    19
    Liked
    0 times
    Back again to report on my Asus.

    In the past week or so, it has slowed down to a crawl. I've deleted the browser that I was using and tried a couple other browsers--neither of which worked. I had problems getting it to connect to wifi for most of the day yesterday. I have also tried to send text messages (via an app). But it is so slow I am unable to type the message. Email isn't much better. Yesterday, I was away from it for 4 hours. During that time while the screen was off, the battery discharged from 73% to 23%.

    Should I try to go back to JB? Can I (or should I try) to delete TWRP? Or could that even be a problem? Or try to reinstall TWRP?

    Thanks for all your help.

  4. #24
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,416
    Liked
    335 times
    Well the problem is certainly not TWRP, unless you've spent that time booted to recovery instead of the ROM. I'm not sure exactly which ROM you ended up with, but just offhand I'd say it's time to try another. And are you running your /data partition in f2fs, or still ext4? Turns out this is something that makes a huge difference. Unfortunately not all ROMs support it.

    It's also possible that you simply have a bad app installed. As a general rule, social media apps like Facebook are resource hogs that are absolutely unnecessary; you can do anything on those sites through your browser that you can do in their apps. The browser you choose makes a big difference too; I'm a fan of Dolphin, many like Boat because of its speed, there are lots of choices but you want to avoid the big-name (and big download file) ones like Chrome or Firefox. These just try to do too much at once, and our poor little Droids just can't handle the load.

    Look under settings>apps>running to see what apps are taking up the most RAM. Settings>Battery should give you an idea what's eating your battery. Keep us up on what's happening! Oh yeah, and reboot your router, that cures lots of connection issues.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  5. #25
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,713
    Liked
    707 times
    I agree with Kevin. If you flashed CM as you intended it proves what I have been thinking all along: Don't really like the rom - never have.

    Remember: When you switch to a different rom base or for any major upgrade you have to do a full format of data first. and then for any Katkiss rom you should format data to f2fs.\
    BTW, if you go for KatKiss you do not have to settle for Marshmallow anymore. Timudru released Nougat for the TF700, called Nougatella!!
    Android 7 on the TF700/TF300/TF201!!! Who would have thought! Unreal!
    Runs great btw. Still has bugs like no video is working at the moment, not in browser, not in YouTube, no video app, but he just released the first update - I'm downloading it as we speak - and he switched codecs so I suspect it's fixed. Let you know in a few minutes.
    Standby battery is much better than on MM or CROMi-X. BT needs to be turned on a couple of times to work - read the OP carefully. But other than that it's a great rom!

    Edit: Yep, Nougat 8 fixed the video issue
    Last edited by droidbound; 09-26-2016 at 11:01 PM.
    Swipe likes this.

  6. #26
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,416
    Liked
    335 times
    Hey, Cyanogenmod works great--on my obsolete 'phone. And, for that matter, on my Mad Catz MOJO game console. I like the configurability (that's an ancient Roman engineering term that I just made up). But I've never heard of anyone liking it on a Transformer, and let's face it, however much we like these things they need special tweaks in order to keep up with the big dogs. The good news is that we have an unbelievable pool of talent that has given us these tweaks! As @DB said, who would have believed Android 7 on the 700, let alone the earlier models? Asus gave up before KitKat, what was the latest stock, 4.1 or 4.2? Anyway I for one am grateful for it.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

  7. #27
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91270
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    19
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi all.

    Recently my transformer has been giving me problems with being so slow, and the message "Unfortunately, [app] is not responding. Do you want to wait or close it?"

    So last night, I decided to go in to my TWRP 3.0.2-0 and delete the Dalvik cache to see if that would speed things up. In the process, I apparently wiped some data or system info that I should not have deleted.

    Now when I turn it on, it won't go past the opening ASUS screen. However, I am able to get back to TWRP.

    What I'm wanting to know is whether I can flash the ROMs again or whether I have to go through the adb fastboot procedure to reinstall it.

    I don't remember how I did it before. And unfortunately I had to get another computer because my motherboard went bad on the one I used to install it before.

    Thank you for your help.

  8. #28
    Chief Customizer & Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    47492
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    2,713
    Liked
    707 times
    Just go into TWRP and reflash the same rom you were running. If it was a Katkiss rom you also have to flash the gapps package and root if you need root. Wipe cache and Dalvik, reboot and you should be back to normal

  9. #29
    Soundwave
    Member #
    91270
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    19
    Liked
    0 times
    Well, it's me again. I was able to go into TWRP and reflash the ROM again on my Asus 300T. And it worked well--for a day or two.

    Then after charging it two days ago, it wouldn't boot up. So I tried to get it to go into TWRP. I was able to get it to boot to the TWRP logo. But it will not go beyond the TWRP logo. It restarts and goes back to the continuous ASUS loop. Right now as I look at it, it has been stuck on the ASUS icon for about 30-45 minutes.

    I also connected it to my PC, but it isn't recognized.

    Just wondering if it sounds like it has been used for the last time.

    I had it 5 years and liked it a lot. I bought an iPad on Black Friday so I can get by. But I liked the ASUS much better.

    Thank you for all your help.

  10. #30
    Developer & Repair Magician
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    68238
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1,416
    Liked
    335 times
    Can you get it to stay in the bootloader screen? Where you have the 3 icons with one flashing? If so there is hope. Leave it booted to that screen and try to get a fastboot connection going. If you can do that, simply fastboot flash the stock firmware (see Master Help Guide linked in sig) and start over. You won't have to unlock again.
    Master Help Guide--guide to help from the masters:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    T100 Master Help Guide:Caster's comprehensive guide to comprehending the T100
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

    TF100 FAQ--Frequently Asked Questions about the TF100:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...s-guides-tips/

    What Got Me In to All This Trouble--Linux live CD with ADB & Fastboot:
    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...x-live-cd.html

 

 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 188
    Last Post: 08-01-2018, 08:28 AM
  2. [GUIDE] Help! My Transformer TF700 boots only to recovery!!!!
    By droidbound in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Development
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 07-06-2016, 08:35 AM
  3. [GUIDE] Help! My Transformer TF201 boots only to recovery!!!!
    By droidbound in forum Transformer Prime Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2015, 09:18 PM
  4. caseen carries Genuine ASUS Transformer Connect Dock for Infinity TF700 TF300 TF201!
    By caseenBrandon in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 05:25 PM
  5. transformer tf201 & tf700 guide for older dummies
    By der_schotte in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 03:52 PM

Search tags for this page

news

,
tf300 bootloop bootit.ko
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 PM.