Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Erratic screen behaviour - tablet does things without me touching the screen

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    58577
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Tablet
    TF300TG (3G)
    Posts
    75
    Liked
    5 times

    Erratic screen behaviour - tablet does things without me touching the screen

    Today after playing Backgammon for about 15 minutes all of a sudden the game began to 'select' a piece to move and move it without me touching the screen. If I did an UNDO (to undo the move move) it would repeat the same action once again without me touching the screen.
    I tried to turn the tablet off but could not.
    I then exited to the Home screen and an app on the home screen automatically started up as if I had tapped on the icon.
    I unattached the keyboard in an effort to stop this wild behaviour and shut the tablet down. I was eventually able to stop the tablet holding down the start/stop button.

    The tablet has NEVER been dropped and is only 4 weeks old.

    I could not find a post for this condition doing a search of erratic screen behaviour.



  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1793
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    5,266
    Liked
    1023 times
    Hi. I suggest you go to settings>developer options>show touches - check whether you are getting "ghost touches" - not just in Backgammon. You may have a loose digitizer cable. Report back.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    44686
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    UK
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    25
    Liked
    1 times
    I had episodes of erratic screen behaviour and I think it was because of the non asus charger unit i was using at the time. It charged my tablet ok but using it at the same time was a problem. Programs would start and end on their own and I could not shut down either.
    Hope this helps.

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    58577
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Tablet
    TF300TG (3G)
    Posts
    75
    Liked
    5 times
    Thanks Swipe
    I went to settings, tapped Developer Options which displayed the warning that it might slow things down and recommend that I disable these settings I tapped OK which displayed lots of options ALL greyed out, including show touches, and unselectable. So what did I do wrong?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    50369
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    SKU WW
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    552
    Liked
    149 times
    After enabling you must do another enable.. there will be a button/slider in the top right corner.

    -Tor

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    59827
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    My TF300T has developed an erratic screen problem where the shut down window will pop up without even touching the screen. Sometimes the tablet will reboot and other times I can touch outside the pop up and it will go back to normal. It seems to happen less when docked on the keyboard. I have cold booted, backed up data and did a reset, and even installed the new Jelly Bean (although that sounds like a mistake according to other forum topics). Nothing has worked.

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    58577
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Tablet
    TF300TG (3G)
    Posts
    75
    Liked
    5 times
    The problem has not happened again since the first time when I reported it above.
    I am wondering, Swipe, if setting 'show touches' is relevant if the problem is not happening and that it is a debugging tool. Should I set it on just in case?
    At the time it happened the battery on the docked keyboard was completely 'empty' but I don't think that should make any difference.
    I am also wondering if the problem was caused by me accidentally pressing on a key or keys on the keyboard as I was using a 'stylus' at the time.
    I will monitor it and report back should it happen again.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1793
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    5,266
    Liked
    1023 times
    jparnold:
    "Show touches" in the Developer Options would indicate any "ghost touches" or malfunction - most likely the ribbon cable attachment to the digitizer. I turn on "show touches" when I hook up the tablet to the TV via HDMI. That way I don't have to look at the tablet to select things. (Takes a little practice to get the hang of it...)

    Other than that "Show touches" is not really necessary.

  9. #9
    Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    46635
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Greek Islands
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    229
    Liked
    98 times
    Quote Originally Posted by spooks View Post
    I had episodes of erratic screen behaviour and I think it was because of the non asus charger unit i was using at the time. It charged my tablet ok but using it at the same time was a problem. Programs would start and end on their own and I could not shut down either.
    Hope this helps.
    Yes, some after market power supplies are electrically "noisy". Won't harm the tablet, but can cause havoc with software and screen input.

    When troubleshooting any form of erratic behavior, it's best to do it in battery power, unless it's a charging issue. That way, no AC line noise to deal with.
    Last edited by Aviator47; 08-24-2013 at 01:01 PM.
    Swipe likes this.

  10. #10
    Jazz
    Member #
    58577
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Tablet
    TF300TG (3G)
    Posts
    75
    Liked
    5 times
    Not sure if I have experienced the problem again or just a buggy game (program).

    I had been playing JEWELS STAR for some time and had amassed a reasonable score when all of a sudden the game exited back to the home screen as if I had tapped the 'home screen' 'button.
    The tablet then performed as normal.
    Should I post another question regarding a possible bug in the game?

    If there is a problem with the ribbon cable attachment to the digitizer could it be intermittent?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Headphone keep touching the screen....
    By nicky_131203 in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2013, 01:34 PM
  2. Erratic touch screen while charging
    By murphness in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-25-2012, 09:50 AM
  3. Cursor's erratic behaviour
    By Warrior in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2012, 02:56 AM
  4. Erratic Sleep / shtdown Behaviour - Advice appreciated
    By Shamus in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 01:58 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 07:09 AM

Search tags for this page

android tablet doing things on its own
,
my tablet is doing all kinds of stuff by itself
,

my tablet is moving by itself

,
my thomson tablet is pressing random buttons
,
tablet doing things by itself
,

tablet doing things on its own

,
tablet move on its own
,
tablet problem moves on its own
,

tablet touch screen randomly clicking

,
tablets screen moving problems
,
why does the touch screen on my tablet do things when im not touching it
,
why is my android tablet doing stuff on its own
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.