Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF300TL (4G)
    Liked
    0 times

Android 4.2 - Non OTA

Newbie here.

I just purchased an Asus Transformer TF300 TL. It is running Android version 4.1.1.
    When I check for updates, I am ‘up to date’.

I've seen postings on the web that an upgrade to Android 4.2 was available in 3/2013 for the TF300TL

I called Asus. Asus support stated since my serial # begins with a 'C' (2012) I can't get an OTA update to 4.2. Since that response didn’t make sense, I opened a support ticket and was told to download
    ASUS Transformer Pad TF300TL Firmware: V10.4.3.10.7 Only for US SKU (Android 4.1)

I was provided the link to that page.
    My questions

1) Is this Android 4.2. I see the Android 4.1 at the end of the descrption
    2) Once I download the firmware above, how do I install it on the TF 300. Note: I have no desire to ‘root’ the device’ !
    3) Will this work OK or should I leave well enough alone and stick with Android 4.1 I don’t want a ‘bricked’ tablet. I still want evetyhig to work, especially the AT&T 3G/4G
    Last edited by gsuemnic; 06-30-2014 at 09:33 AM.

Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Liked
    2825 times
    Welcome to the forum

Here are a few comments/suggestions...
    1) As you have bought a new device, I would suggest the first step would be to go to settings & do a full Factory Reset. That may well get you your update OTA.
    2) If it doesn't then you need to manually update the firmware as you have suggested. The first thing to ensure is that you get the correct firmware for your device. You MUST ensure you download the TL (4G) firmware - not the standard wifi only model firmware.
    3) To apply the firmware manually, you should follow our guide thread on that process.

All the guides we have are linked from the Master Help Guide, (Factory Reset, Manual Update & more) linked in my signature below.

All the best