Results 1 to 5 of 5
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By janner43
  • 1 Post By huwyngr

Thread: T200TA 64bit with Windows 10 AC Home upgrade forced to 10CU lost touchscreen

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    85525
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Tablet
    TF Book T200
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    2 times

    T200TA 64bit with Windows 10 AC Home upgrade forced to 10CU lost touchscreen

    When 10 cu first arrived Windows Update said not ready for this hardware at present.

    Yesterday it forced the upgrade since with AC Home you can't delay it.

    Took many fails but eventually said done ... and posted that since I did not have a touchscreen! touch would not work and it doesn't.

    My wife needs tablet for medical therapy exercises so fix is important.

    Live chat with ASUS eventually gave link to SOC chipset file but install says older than present which might be what I need but not sure how to.

    NOTE that all posted solutions I could find like Calibrate don't work because screen not listed under HID devices....

    Any one else run into this with WIN 10CU upgrade?

  2. #2
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    13,919
    Liked
    2811 times
    Lots of problems have been experienced with the creators update... the forums are littered with them.
    Roll back seems to be the solution.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    85525
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Tablet
    TF Book T200
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    2 times
    Thanks Janner

    I really appreciate the quick reply. I did some searching here on touchscreen but did not find anything I could use alas.

    I do have a fairly recent 10AC image (Wonderful free Macrium Reflect!) if necessary and the way the T200TA is used there's nothing on it that I would lose due to time shift.

    I was wondering whether to try the Windows own Revert to earlier version (of Windows) to see how and if that really works. Do you have any experience of using that? If all else fails then I still have the Macrium Image to restore -- Macrium and the image are on a USB3 thumbdrive.

    The first priority is to get the machine functioning again for my wife.

    If I do get back to 10AC OK I will then have the problem of stopping MS from improving it again since it is the Home version and I thought the ability to delay for months only came in with CU but I've been told I'm wrong about that and that it is in AC. Do you know about that? I used to have GWX Control Panel on my machines including the T200 when it had Win8. I must check to see if it works on 10.

    Thanks again for the quick reply. Today should be a good quiet day to work on the T200.

    PS I was born in Cheshire but live in the US now. Do we have Private Messaging between users here? I'd like to give you some background.
    Last edited by huwyngr; 07-15-2017 at 06:35 AM.

  4. #4
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    13,919
    Liked
    2811 times
    I'm sorry to say that I can't help any further with Windows as I gave up on the OS over 10 years ago. But given you have a Macrium Reflect image, I'd start by trying the built in roll back and then the image restore if required

    I don't do PMs on the forum, but its great to hear from another Brit - I hope you are enjoying being an ex-pat. We've done three visits to the USA. And driven around 10,000 miles visiting Florida, Alabama, Louisiana, Texas, California, Arizona & Nevada. We hope to get back to Yellowstone one day.
    huwyngr likes this.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    85525
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Tablet
    TF Book T200
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    2 times
    Thanks again Janner

    I'll let you all know how it goes .... It certainly has messed up things since the Battery Gadget I had installed on the desktop tells me there is no battery .... even when it is not line powered (mains here means water I found out doing support on CompuServe!) and not even the initial pre boot-up battery image shows up. Makes me think of replacing the BIOS files first!

    It's repeated F9 preboot that takes the T200 to BIOS I think.

    Your '43 reminds me that that was the year I was drafted in the USA into the US Army making me a WW-II Veteran still doing support as best he can both on CompuServe and as a Norton Guru in their forums! BIO-RAM and CPU need replacing <g>

    All the best
    janner43 likes this.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 10 64bit on T100TAM divers issue!
    By SkyFry in forum Windows 10 Help & Discussion for all Asus MS powered transformer & tablet models
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 12-23-2015, 05:01 PM
  2. Windows 8.1 32bit or 64bit?
    By Overdrivegt in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-13-2014, 02:40 PM
  3. Can 64bit Windows be installed on T100?
    By shalesh in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 Alternate OS's & Development
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-12-2014, 09:25 PM
  4. 64bit Windows 8.1?
    By complainypants in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-12-2014, 02:29 PM
  5. T100 Pro with 64bit Windows 8.1 Pro
    By Tao in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2014, 01:58 PM
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.