Thread: [GUIDE] Windows 10...Without the Recovery Partition

Jazz
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF Book T100HA
    Liked
    18 times

[GUIDE] Windows 10...Without the Recovery Partition

Warning: I would much prefer that others who have more computer knowledge than I look this over and confirm things before anyone tries this.

***Annoying disclaimer...I am not an IT professional, and this is not professional advice and it is not a complete guide. This is what worked for me but there are no guarantees it will work for you. I am not responsible for you bricking your tablet or otherwise making it unusable.***

This is how I installed Windows 10 on my Asus T100 Chi (32GB) in such a way as to remove the old Windows 8.1 recovery partition and gain that 8GB of space back. When it's all said and done my tablet was left with just over 20GB of space on the drive. I should also add that most of this information is just pulled together from various scattered posts here on the forums.

Prerequisites
    USB flash drive
    Microsoft's Media Creation Tool

If you have a T100 with bluetooth keyboard, such as the Chi models, you may also need:
    USB2.0 hub and a cable to connect it to the USB2.0 port on the tablet
    USB mouse
    USB keyboard (optional)

Download Asus drivers for your tablet.
    Save these drivers somewhere outside of your tablet or the USB flash drive. Asus has a couple Win10 updated drivers (ATK package and SmartGesture), but you will also need a few others that are available to download under Win8.1:
    Chipset
    Realtek Audio Driver
    Chikeyboard power
    Asus live update utility

I strongly recommend that you make an image backup of your tablet with Macrium Reflect or some other disk image tool. Reflect allows you to create a USB backup drive with a basic OS on it so you can run it and restore your tablet/PC even if windows won't start.