Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    50311
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times

    [SOLVED]Need help with "finding IP address" problem with my new TF300T

    I am so hoping someone here will be able to help me! Spent 2 hours on the phone with Asus & AT&T last night with zero help.

    Here is the problem: I have owned my TF300T for 24 hours. Charged it up at work and was able to get it going via our Comcast internet at work. Took it home and it cannot locate the IP address for my AT&T 2wiregateway modem (the wifi finds my home system, but then gets stuck with "locating IP address"). Called Asus and they said it was an AT&T problem since it worked with the Comcast system at work and AT&T said it was an Asus problem since my laptop (running Vista) is working fine (as is my wireless HP printer). This is my first android product (and I do not own a smart phone) so I know zero about how it works or how to get my IP address into the tablet. I found this site and saw so much awesome help being given that I thought I would throw this problem out to all of you before I sent the tablet back to Amazon! If anyone has any help for me they will have to explain what to do step by step since I really do not know my way around the tablet.

    I also tried pressing down on my home system name (in the wifi area) as one reply to a similar problem to this one suggested, to bring up another screen, but that only got me back to trying to log in. I have unplugged the 2wire twice and even reset it. I also did a wipe of the tablet (with a paperclip) and that did not make any difference. I also turned off my laptop, and placed the tablet right next to the 2wiregateway modem.

    Any help would be appreciated and even if you can't help me (and I end up getting rid of the tablet) I think this is a great site!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    590
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    U.S/CA/OC
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    3,375
    Liked
    471 times
    Welcome, dal.

    One simple thing to try is rebooting your home router.

    Here's a link to most of what we know here about wireless connections...LINK

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    50311
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks - as I stated, I rebooted my 2wiregateway modem a total of three times (twice unplugged and once hit the reset button). I had already seen that link and tried everything listed - but no help with my problem. I think I will have to manually put in not just my IP address, but all of the other info, but I have no idea if I can even do that on a tablet.

    Any additional help would be appreciated!

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    40840
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    348
    Liked
    100 times

    re: [SOLVED]Need help with "finding IP address" problem with my new TF300T

    Quote Originally Posted by dal View Post
    Thanks - as I stated, I rebooted my 2wiregateway modem a total of three times (twice unplugged and once hit the reset button). I had already seen that link and tried everything listed - but no help with my problem. I think I will have to manually put in not just my IP address, but all of the other info, but I have no idea if I can even do that on a tablet.

    Any additional help would be appreciated!
    Did you put in the password. Go to settings, network, pick the network, forget the network, scan for networks add password as required.

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    40775
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    8 times
    One more thing I would try is to connect to some other WiFi (like at work) and upgrade your Firmware. I don't recall if you said you did that. Because I believe I had a problem with my TF700T when I got it.

    I have 2 WiFi routers in my house (one setup as an Access Point). One uses WPA2-PSK-TKIP and the other uses WPA2-PSK-CCMP. In the past I seem to recall it having trouble connecting to the CCMP one but it connects to both of them now.
    Last edited by Sir_Geraint; 12-18-2012 at 05:49 PM. Reason: typo

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    50311
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for all the great help. I talked to the computer guy at work who told me not to use the password I have always used in the past, but to use the numerical one on the modem and that did the trick! I have no idea as to why my old password stopped working, but my tablet is now up and running!

    I think I will be spending a lot of time on this site and I want to thank everyone for their help!!!!

  7. #7
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    14,013
    Liked
    2825 times
    Now that this is resolved - & that is very good news I will post this helpful link which should resolve matters for anyone else who finds the thread...http://www.transformerforums.com/for...onnection.html

    Marked as solved & closed.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] TF300T shuts down when closed
    By Gewitty in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-05-2012, 05:03 AM
  2. [SOLVED] tf300t installed skype but can't find it in apps
    By lizhood in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-02-2012, 04:33 PM
  3. [ SOLVED ! ] Close to buying a TF300T...
    By malteserinhk in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-07-2012, 02:22 PM
  4. [SOLVED] TF300T ota update issues
    By cjaaron17 in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2012, 03:49 AM
  5. [SOLVED] ASUS Eee Pad Transformer tf300T slow battery charge
    By blagojkk in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-21-2012, 02:56 AM

Search tags for this page

android obtaining ip address stuck

,
asus tablet ip address
,
asus tablet stuck obtaining ip address
,
asus tablet stuck on obtaining ip address
,
find ip address for asus tf300t
,
my asus tablet stuck in obtaining address ip
,
my tablet is stuck on obtaining ip address
,

obtaining ip address android tablet

,

obtaining ip address tablet

,

phone stuck on obtaining ip address

,

stuck on obtaining ip address android

,

wifi stuck on obtaining ip address

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:31 PM.