Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    60144
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times

    What is that black circle?

    I just updated to Jelly Bean 4.2 on my TF300 tablet and for some reason there is now a black circle/blob on the home screen. It does not disappear if I change background.

    https://twitter.com/Ellociraptor/sta...087809/photo/1

    There's a picture. What is it? This is my second TF300 tablet with 4.2 (screen cracked on the first one) and I don't remember that black blob being on the first one. And it was not there on 4.1.

    I want it to go awaay but nothing happens when I click it

  2. #2
    Starscream
    Member #
    17790
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    294
    Liked
    54 times
    a weather widget showing moon phase? long press or drag do anything?
    iMac 21.5" 2011 32GB OSX 10.12
    TF101 32GB KatKiss 6.0.1 v 34 TWRP 2.8.1.1 Recovery
    http://dl-1.va.us.xda-developers.com/thumbs/3/0/7/6/5/8/7/3076587.png

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    60144
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    That seems to be the most popular guess. It did move, because I first covered it with the g-mail app and then it appear where it shows on the image. However if I click nothing happens and if I press and hold after a while I get the usual "change background image" I get click anywhere else on the screen. So if it is the moon it seems I can't get it to go away. :/

  4. #4
    Senior Moderator Meritorious
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Swainsboro, GA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4,738
    Liked
    904 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ellociraptor View Post
    ...if I press and hold after a while I get the usual "change background image" I get click anywhere else on the screen. So if it is the moon it seems I can't get it to go away. :/
    When you long-press, don't you get the usual dialog pop-up, "Remove, Edit, App info, Share, Uninstall?"
    Asus Eee Pad TF101 (gave to wife); Samsung Galaxy Note 8 phone and tablet

    The Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html
    Guidelines of Conduct http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orums-com.html
    Frederuco's Fantastical Forum Favorites http://www.transformerforums.com/for...favorites.html
    Asus T100 Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    60144
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    No, that's what's so weird: it doesn't act like it's an app. It acts like it's part of the background. And I thought it was because I have that interactive background with the tree that changes depending on what time of the day it is, but even when I changed to the interactive ocean background or a photo I took with the camera, the blob was still there.
    Last edited by Ellociraptor; 09-05-2013 at 12:10 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Moderator Meritorious
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Swainsboro, GA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4,738
    Liked
    904 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ellociraptor View Post
    No, that's what's so weird: it doesn't act like it's an app. It acts like it's part of the background. And I thought it was because I have that interactive background with the tree that changes depending on what time of the day it is, but even when I changed to the interactive ocean background or a photo I took with the camera, the blob was still there.
    Why not just disengage the interactive background, see what happens?
    Asus Eee Pad TF101 (gave to wife); Samsung Galaxy Note 8 phone and tablet

    The Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html
    Guidelines of Conduct http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orums-com.html
    Frederuco's Fantastical Forum Favorites http://www.transformerforums.com/for...favorites.html
    Asus T100 Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    60144
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    I did, it didn't help. Tried another interactive background and tried one non-interactive with a picture I took. Still there. :S
    Last edited by Ellociraptor; 09-05-2013 at 12:10 PM.

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    57680
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    It looks like an empty app folder, which can happen if you remove (or uninstall) all apps that are in a folder. However, that should respond to a long press and be able to be removed.
    - Conrad

    TF700T with dock; Lenovo A2109A; Nexus 7; other old stuff

  9. #9
    Senior Moderator Meritorious
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Swainsboro, GA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4,738
    Liked
    904 times
    Here's a stock thing to try, a hard reset or cold boot, then of course, the biggie, if that doesn't help, factory reset.
    Asus Eee Pad TF101 (gave to wife); Samsung Galaxy Note 8 phone and tablet

    The Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html
    Guidelines of Conduct http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orums-com.html
    Frederuco's Fantastical Forum Favorites http://www.transformerforums.com/for...favorites.html
    Asus T100 Master Help Guide http://www.transformerforums.com/for...elp-guide.html

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    60144
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by biking4jesus View Post
    It looks like an empty app folder, which can happen if you remove (or uninstall) all apps that are in a folder. However, that should respond to a long press and be able to be removed.
    It doesn't. :/


    Quote Originally Posted by sculptedstylus View Post
    Here's a stock thing to try, a hard reset or cold boot, then of course, the biggie, if that doesn't help, factory reset.
    Nooo, not factory reset. I just got everything to work...

    How do I do hard reset or cold boot? That won't delete anything on it?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What's that circle next to the front camera?
    By phoenixblue in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-13-2013, 10:12 PM
  2. circle launcher
    By relishmi in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 11:36 PM
  3. What Happened To The Pointer? It's Now A Circle.
    By GinNH in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 08-28-2011, 05:33 AM
  4. circle cursor
    By NyanCat in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-02-2011, 07:39 AM
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.