Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    36764
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Tablet
    TF300
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times

    Jelly Bean (Android 4.1.1): How to reverse default ("Always") app.

    In Jelly Bean version of Android, the user is prompted for the choice of the app to handle a certain 'referred task'. For example, when I click on a URL link in my e-mail message, I would be prompted with the choices of browser to handle to referred link. I mistakenly selected "Always" button following the selection of a browser. This has effectively made that browser to become the 'default' browser. The question is how can I reverse this (to allow me to choose the browser choice again)?

    Thanks in advance.



  2. #2
    Ratchet
    Member #
    41797
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Outta here
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    154
    Liked
    31 times
    Find the browser in the system settings apps list, open its settings, and "clear defaults".

  3. #3
    Jazz
    Member #
    36764
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Tablet
    TF300
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by SkookumPete View Post
    Find the browser in the system settings apps list, open its settings, and "clear defaults".
    There is no "settings" available in the Browser app. However, I have figured out (by swimming through the options) how to clear the default settings:

    Select "Settings" (the gear icon) > Apps (located in the left pane) > click on option icon (located at the top right corner of the screen) > select "Reset app preferences".

    There will be warning message. Simply click on "Reset apps".

    The annoying thing here is Jelly Bean would reset all preferences for disable apps among other things like background data restrictions for apps.

    Those engineers at Google have too much time in their hands!

  4. #4
    Ratchet
    Member #
    41797
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Outta here
    Tablet
    TF300T
    Posts
    154
    Liked
    31 times
    I said "system settings" not "browser settings." The gear thing, yes. Then select Apps (under Device) and tap on the app name to open the info/settings pane. Then "clear defaults". Sorry this wasn't clear.
    Last edited by SkookumPete; 08-26-2012 at 11:04 PM.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2531
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Thailand
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8,628
    Liked
    1001 times
    Just wondering which browser does not have a Setting Menu.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Android 4.X
    Posts
    11,296
    Liked
    2320 times
    Moved to Jelly Bean

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Android device personal pantheon...
    SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Razr; CnM Touchpad II; Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Motorola Xoom 2 ME; Samsung Tab 2 7.0

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    36764
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Tablet
    TF300
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times
    Thanks for your hints. I still think Jelly Bean is a step backward and now my frustration in using Jelly Bean has translated into serious loss of respect for those idiots at Google now!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2531
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Thailand
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8,628
    Liked
    1001 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Digita View Post
    Thanks for your hints. I still think Jelly Bean is a step backward and now my frustration in using Jelly Bean has translated into serious loss of respect for those idiots at Google now!
    IMO those "idiots" at Google did a pretty good job. You stated that YOU chose the wrong browser. Does that make it a Google issue?

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    43839
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Tablet
    Researching Tablets
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    Sorry to jump in as a "newbie" to the forum...

    I have a problem with the new "default app" selector, which can mean mis-selecting the default:
    I have 7 browsers installed on one of my Jelly Bean devices ("Default", Chrome, Dolphin, Firefox, Marathon, Opera & Skyfire), but there are certain Jelly Bean app selectors doesn't show all apps, and has a BIG problem when you have to select from so many apps - it fills the whole screen height, you have to scroll & the previous "tap to use" now becomes multiple taps

    From using it repeatedly (I keep no default app for browser as I need to test mobile sites on as many browsers as I can), you get frustrated with continually tapping the app name, and then having to tap "Just once" that mis-tapping to "Always" is actually very easy

    The previous versions of Android used to just open the app, and you had to tap the box for "default" to select, so now we have an extra tap to use without selecting the default

    Overall, what I'm saying is that I understand the frustration with the new method, especially for developers, the additional taps can get boring, and a mis-tap can become VERY easy the more frustrated & bored you get with it...

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    56033
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Android 4.X
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    You can do it per app as well. Just go into settings then apps and then into the App concerned. Here you can reset the defaults just for that one particular App.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-24-2012, 07:08 AM
  2. cannot clear "Launch By default" setting
    By kevison in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2012, 09:03 AM
  3. silly question - how do you put the unit to "sleep" and/or "standby" mode(s)?
    By sonicking in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 11:21 AM
  4. Browser - why does BBC default to "Mobile" version?
    By whitegj1 in forum Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-08-2011, 09:55 AM
  5. Default "Tree" Wallpaper
    By Longstone in forum Asus Graphics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 03:08 PM

Search tags for this page

always just once android
,
android 4.1 change default application
,
android change default browser jelly bean
,

android jelly bean change default application

,
android jelly bean change default browser
,

android jelly bean default apps

,

change default app android jelly bean

,
change default browser android jelly bean
,
change default video player android jelly bean
,

jelly bean change default app

,

jelly bean default apps

,
reset app preferences jelly bean
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 AM.