Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    49409
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    Asus Vivo RT
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times

    Can VivoTab 600RT Run an older version of Windows Explorer?

    Bought a new Asus 600RT for my wife, who is a realtor. Works great, but the MLS (Multiple Listing Service) has not brought their site up to handle IE 10 yet, and she can't search the site with the new Windows 8 OS with IE 10.

    Question(s): Can an older version of IE be installed and run on Windows 8 or -- alternately -- can the drive be partitioned and OS 7 installed with an older version of IE?

    Any help/guidance greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Ratchet
    Member #
    13733
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    private
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    9 times
    Categorically no. The version of Windows on this tab is not backward compatible with any previous version of Windows including Windows 8 for the desktops.

  3. #3
    Ratchet
    Member #
    13733
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    private
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    9 times
    But you could use Goggle Chrome or other third party browsers available in the store app.

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    49409
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    Asus Vivo RT
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for the info/option -- however, the MLS system only works with IE -- shows you how slow they are in technology. They say they're working on upgrading the system to handle IE 10, but I'll probably be old and gray before they get it right.

    Thanks again!

  5. #5
    Ratchet
    Member #
    13733
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    private
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    9 times
    The problem is with previous versions of IE. Microsoft introduced non-standard coding options that caused issues when the sites using those "HTML" tags and scripts were rendered with the really standard browsers like Netscape and later Mozilla browsers that stuck to the standards. Boo on those companies who were "bought" by the empty promises that IE brought along. In fact those web designers ended up having to create different versions of their sites along with workarounds to get them to render as close to the original design. In releasing IE8 and IE9, Microsoft finally gave you a rendering engine that made use of standard HTML all the way up to HTML5 in the case of IE9 with an option to "view in compatibility mode" those sites written for IE7 and earlier whose owners and not reworked their sites to work with standard browsers.

    Check to see if your version of IE10 in your RT version of Windows8 if it also has this option to view those sites with the old engine. I can't check that for you in my desktop version as it may not be the same.

  6. #6
    Ratchet
    Member #
    13733
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    private
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    9 times
    And only a preview of IE10 is currently available to Windows 7 users.

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    49409
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    Asus Vivo RT
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    You mean that under "tools" select "compatibility view"?

  8. #8
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    1793
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Tablet
    TF Book T102HA
    Posts
    5,903
    Liked
    1223 times
    Thread has been move from the TF101 Help section to Vivo Help. Please post in the correct forum. Thanks !

  9. #9
    Jazz
    Member #
    48959
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Tablet
    Asus Vivo RT
    Posts
    76
    Liked
    2 times
    If you swipe up from the bottom and click on the tools option you also have an option to open the site on the desktop browser. Could be worth trying though should be the same rendering engine. Compatability mode as previously mentioned should do the trick though.

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    49943
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Tablet
    Asus Vivo RT
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Did you get this to work.

    I just purchased a Vivo for my Realtor wife. (It's a Christmas present. I haven't opened it.)
    And accessing MLS will be a requirment.

    I CAN say that the "compatability mode" of IE 10, works perfectly for viewing MLS on my desktop pc.

    I'm interested in your experiences with this tablet.

    Ray in Wisconsin

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 12:01 PM
  2. [SOLVED]Micro SD Card shows incorrect content on PC Windows Explorer
    By morrig47 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 09:57 AM
  3. PC suite causes Windows Explorer to crash/restart on startup
    By TonyG in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 11:24 AM
  4. Windows Explorer would not display TF files
    By travis52 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 11:51 AM

Search tags for this page

android for asus 600rt
,

asus 600rt

,
asus tf600r
,
asus vivo 600rt
,
asus vivo realtor
,
can a vivotab run windows 7
,
can i run an older version of internet explorer on windows rt
,
can windows 7 be installed on asus vivo tf600
,
can't login to mls in internet explorer 10
,
does the asus vevo tablet have windows explorer?
,
tablet pcs and the mls compatibility
,
vivotab 600rt
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.