Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Internet connection through phone via bluetooth?

  1. #21
    Shockwave
    Member #
    8542
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    534
    Liked
    21 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Garemlin View Post
    AFAIK HTC phones do not have the ability to bt tether natively buzz. These steps work with Motorola phones.
    I have a HTC Wildfire phone but there is an option under the phone settings to turn on Wi-Fi Hotspot on it - but as my phone contract does not include data package, I am not able to verify whether I can use the 3G and create a Wi-Fi hotspot and then use the TF on this Wi-Fi network.
    VLBaindoor

  2. #22
    Jazz
    Member #
    5034
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    63
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by buzzman View Post
    They worked with my iphone and optimus V too. Thought it was worth a shot. Never had an HTC.
    I am trying to use my optimus v. Which internet tethering app should I use? Thanks.

  3. #23
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mnsansei View Post
    I am trying to use my optimus v. Which internet tethering app should I use? Thanks.
    If you phone can be turned into an access point you might check out PDANet it's the most well known and usually works.

  4. #24
    Jazz
    Member #
    5034
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    63
    Liked
    2 times
    Got internet via bluetooth working with PDANet. Thanks!

  5. #25
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Once you use PDANet, the proxy settings may block you from the Market and other Google services when you are not using PDANet. You will need to load AnyCut manually to change the settings if this is the case.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  6. #26
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    44
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Jersey-USA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,156
    Liked
    337 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mnsansei View Post
    I am trying to use my optimus v. Which internet tethering app should I use? Thanks.
    When I had the optimus v, I downloaded quicksettings, and if you go to hidden settings, you can pull up the tethering function and natively tether without an app. I read that in later upgrades of firmware virgin mobile disabled this.

    On the lg thrive it was not available. When I chose the tether function from quicksettings, it would reboot the phone. There was another work around though.
    Kgs Original Transformer with dock- rooted (TF 101)- USA

    nook & libre pro e-readers-asus vivobook- samsung orig. galaxy note- Galaxy Note 8- asus TF 101 and dock with 4.4 kitkat- Iphone 5s- galaxy Mega
    "Never be afraid to try, but always know where your back-up is when you screw up!"

  7. #27
    Soundwave
    Member #
    8575
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    0 times
    Just recently I figured out that you don't have to have any extra app installed on your TF or have a rooted phone. I have a stock Verizon's Droid 2 and a stock 16 GB Transformer + Dock and I was on the train and I just wanted to transfer some files between my phone and tablet via Bluetooth and realized my phone connected its Internet to my tablet. The tablet is as fast as your phone connection. The only problem I found was that Google Market still sees me as disconnected from the web. But everything else works. Hope this helps

  8. #28
    Soundwave
    Member #
    16305
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times

    Can get bluetooth connection but no internet access

    Hi All,

    I have searched around for this answer but can't quite find it. I just got a TF and have a Droid Bionic. I can connect to the Bionic via Bluetooth but it doesn't do me any good for Internet access. On the TF settings I have the option to connect to the Internet via the Bionic selected but can't get a web page to load. The Bluetooth indicator in the TF system tray is highlighted but not the Internet access icon.

    Any suggestions? I also tried using PdaNet but probably aren't doing something right there. I have it on the Bionic but not the TF.

    Thanks for your help!

    Ian

  9. #29
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    One of our members (Buzzman) came across this. It is for the Xoom, but works on the TF:

    1. Put TF into airplane mode (turns off all data access)
    2. Turn ON bluetooth on the TF
    3. Turn ON internet tethering or whatever app your are using- on your Phone,if a popup asks if you want USB only or bluetooth, select bluetooth,
    4. Pair Phone with TF (if you haven't already)
    5. Under paired devices on TF, select Phone until it says connected (important step)- you should see a wrench icon- if this icon does not appear it will not connect. If it is a no go, try to delete pairing and try again after placing into airplane mode.

    Pair, then try to connect.

    Good Luck!
    hutch6072 likes this.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  10. #30
    Soundwave
    Member #
    7045
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    I have a My Touch 4G through T-Mobile and use the WIFI Hotspot option on my phone. My TF sees it just like a WIFI network and connects seamlessly as a remembered network. I have and unlimited data plan and surf on my TF at 4G speed with no problems.

 

 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. internet connection
    By Connie1052 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2011, 08:06 AM
  2. Phone Internet Sharing with jaikuspot ad-hoc network connection problem ...
    By ihsanberk in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-29-2011, 03:09 AM
  3. Internet connection via USB
    By gazzaton in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 08:53 PM
  4. 3G Internet connection through WM 6.0
    By cruel205 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 04:08 AM
  5. No Internet Connection
    By mngopherfan in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-12-2011, 05:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 PM.