Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13646
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times

    SD memory: speed increase?

    Is an SD card like extra RAM or like more hard disc space?

    (The TF seems a little slow with large files. If an SD card is like extra RAM then it will help.)

    Thanks in advance.



  2. #2
    Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    10,736
    Liked
    1548 times
    It's much more like extra disk space. The (any) SD cards cannot compete with RAM. If your SD card is not as fast as you would like you might consider getting a card that specifically states the class of the card. A minimum of class 4 works but it goes to class 10.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13646
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times

    Thanks for that.

    So is there any way to upgrade the memory? (My AT has 16Gb.)

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Ratchet
    Member #
    2035
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    165
    Liked
    11 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid View Post
    So is there any way to upgrade the memory? (My AT has 16Gb.)

    Thanks again.
    That's what the external SD card slot is for.

  5. #5
    Starscream
    Member #
    7835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    454
    Liked
    49 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid View Post
    So is there any way to upgrade the memory? (My AT has 16Gb.)
    Thanks again.
    That "16GB" is like a harddisk, not like RAM. Plugging in a microsd will kinda increase the "harddisk" space.

  6. #6
    Starscream
    Member #
    7835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    454
    Liked
    49 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid View Post
    Is an SD card like extra RAM or like more hard disc space?

    (The TF seems a little slow with large files. If an SD card is like extra RAM then it will help.)

    Thanks in advance.
    RAM is random-access memory. That's the keyword, random-access. None of the SD, microsd, emmc, NOR flash are random-accessible. The only type of flash that is random-access is NOR-flash. They're primarily used for boot-loader because they're more expensive. But even NOR-flash cannot replace RAM: reading is random-accessible but writting requires a special commands sequence and polling.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    853
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Sacramento Ca
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    3,390
    Liked
    690 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid View Post
    So is there any way to upgrade the memory? (My AT has 16Gb.)

    Thanks again.
    Where there's a will there's a way. Look at member goodintentions who opened up his Dock and added a 500GB hard drive. But IMO it is a lot cheaper and easier to just get micro sds if you only own the Tablet. I personally have two 32gb and one 16gb micro. (Waited until they were on sale at Fry's my store of choice.) So that is a total of 80gb between the 3 cards. More than enough memory for me for now.

    That's the beauty of your 16gb Transformer. You can at least add memory, whereas for the iPad, you'll have to buy the next model up. And iPad ends at a mere 64gb!

  8. #8
    Shockwave
    Member #
    8542
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    534
    Liked
    21 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bogolisk View Post
    RAM is random-access memory. That's the keyword, random-access. None of the SD, microsd, emmc, NOR flash are random-accessible. The only type of flash that is random-access is NOR-flash. They're primarily used for boot-loader because they're more expensive. But even NOR-flash cannot replace RAM: reading is random-accessible but writting requires a special commands sequence and polling.
    Inaccuracies there.
    RAM as is popularly known is a term to refer to volatile memory which needs continueous power and looses all its contents when power is lost - in other words Primary Memory used by CPU for most of its computations.
    The flash memory as you are mentioning there is a semiconductor device which retains its contents without the need for continueous power.
    Access limitations you are refering to are relevant only when you consider the granularity of the access that you need. All these devices have random access capabilities to a degree - some can access any specific bytes at a time whereas some can only access a bunch of bytes at a time - the granularity.

    None of this apparently is relevant to the OP's question.
    VLBaindoor

  9. #9
    Shockwave
    Member #
    8542
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    534
    Liked
    21 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid View Post
    So is there any way to upgrade the memory? (My AT has 16Gb.)

    Thanks again.
    In your original post you mentioned some big files are slow - or something like that.

    Can you please expand on that? What exactly are you trying to do and finding it to be slow?

    Your answer may help us help you better - rather than getting into the discussion about what is RAM or Hard disk or specific type of flash memory and the like - none of these could be relevant for you if the proposed solution addresses a different problem altogether.
    VLBaindoor

  10. #10
    Starscream
    Member #
    7835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    454
    Liked
    49 times
    Quote Originally Posted by vlbaindoor View Post
    Inaccuracies there.
    RAM as is popularly known is a term to refer to volatile memory which needs continueous power and looses all its contents when power is lost - in other words Primary Memory used by CPU for most of its computations.
    The flash memory as you are mentioning there is a semiconductor device which retains its contents without the need for continueous power.
    Access limitations you are refering to are relevant only when you consider the granularity of the access that you need. All these devices have random access capabilities to a degree - some can access any specific bytes at a time whereas some can only access a bunch of bytes at a time - the granularity.

    None of this apparently is relevant to the OP's question.
    Why is it not relevant to the OP's question? he asked whether the SD is more like RAM (note: he wrote RAM and not Memory) or like HDD. By asking such a question he sure knows that RAM is volatile and HDD is persistent. The answer is SD (MMC, NAND flash, etc.) can never be like RAM! Because when the CPU want to read data from SD (or MMC or NAND flash), the data must be transferred first into... (surprise surprise) RAM! The only type of flash that the CPU can access directly (ignoring writing and erasing for now) is NOR flash. There lies the the big difference: to access data from RAM (or NOR flash), the cpu just use a (move or load) instruction (depending on the architecture); to access SD, MMC, NAND flash, the cpu must use a... driver! As for the granularity you're wrote, it's a huge difference between 1 byte and 512 bytes (most sane drivers don't use 512byte xfer neither: too slow, 16K is more common xfer unit.)
    Last edited by bogolisk; 10-23-2011 at 08:55 AM.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. increase headphone volume?
    By Kar.E.2010 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2011, 11:42 AM
  2. How to increase the sound volume ?
    By pfeiffer in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 07:02 PM
  3. How to increase movie's volume on Asus Transformer?
    By sammystevan in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 10:16 PM
  4. Need for speed shift
    By JKirby in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 05:11 PM
  5. Increase font?
    By AncientPC in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 11:06 AM

Search tags for this page

asus tf101 expand memory

,

asus transformer increase sped of sd card external

,

asus transformer sd card speed

,

asus transformer tablet increase speed

,

can the memory be increased on the asus transformer tf700

,

can you increase the ram in a asus tablet

,

how to increase speed and memory for a asus tf101

,

increase flash memory speed

,

increase memory asus transformer

,

increase ram on my asus tablet

,
increasing memory asus transformer
,

to extend memory asus transformer

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.