Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13482
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times

    Searching for gps

    New user here and this forum has been a life saver.

    Have had my transformer about a week here in Arizona, and today it decided I'm really in Leyden Colorado on the weather widget. Went to maps and that too thinks I'm in Colorado and the GPS can't seem to lock in. I did a cold restart...didn't fix it.

    Any thoughts?
    Last edited by linderlee; 10-20-2011 at 03:21 PM.

  2. #2
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13482
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times

    update on the problem

    Well...for a few hours this morning it seemed to fix itself. I shut it off (off off) and just turned it on again. And once again I'm 830 miles away from here back in Layden Colorado...on the weather widget and on google maps.

    HELP!!!!

    linderlee

  3. #3
    Ratchet
    Member #
    2171
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    102
    Liked
    12 times
    Maybe it's getting the location from a nearby WiFi hotspot that recently moved from Colorado. Take the TF outside so it can see the sky, wait a few minutes, and see if it figures out where it is from the GPS satellites.

  4. #4
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ebrowne72 View Post
    Maybe it's getting the location from a nearby WiFi hotspot that recently moved from Colorado. Take the TF outside so it can see the sky, wait a few minutes, and see if it figures out where it is from the GPS satellites.
    Your WiFi idea is interesting but GPS is GPS. Taking it outside and pointing at the night sky and waiting for it to catch up is a good idea, using Google Sky Maps. It's a ton of fun too.

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13482
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    thank you so much, ebrowne!

    That's exactly what I think is happening. Drove a few blocks away to an open hotspot, connected, and the GPS put me back home.

    I just got a refurb router...maybe from Colorado? Now I just need to figure out how to make it know where it is.

    Thx again. Love this forum.

    Linderlee
    Last edited by linderlee; 10-21-2011 at 08:04 PM.

  6. #6
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    All that really says is that the TF could not get a fix on the Sats. If the GPS is functioning correctly your router should not matter.

    In short, a WiFi connection isn't even necessary.

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13482
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    hi, leeshor...

    When I first drove away from my house, it was obvious that the GPS was starting to connect by the movement of the cursor on google maps. But the map itself was blank, and the cursor bounced around some. TF said something like "connect to a wifi network for better results." As soon as I did, the cursor on the map stabilized.

    When I got home and connected again to my own wifi, right away the cursor on the map popped back 850 miles away to Colorado. So it does sound like the wifi is involved somehow...though I'll be the first to admit that I don't really understand why that should be.

  8. #8
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    In that case, the GPS is working. I was under the impression that it was not. The problem is not with the GPS but with the maps. You may need to check out some of the GPS apps that will allow you to use the maps off-line. If you have planned a route you can (in the labs section) tell the Google maps to cache the route. Then you WILL have something for the cursor to follow.

    This https://market.android.com/details?i...dpYy5hdXJhIl0. is a popular off-line GPS app.

    If you stand outside, with a clear view of the sky but within range of your WiFi it should pick up on your exact location.

    Glad we finally got that straight.

  9. #9
    Ratchet
    Member #
    2171
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    102
    Liked
    12 times
    GPS doesn't work very well indoors, because the satellite signals are pretty weak. That's why it also uses WiFi hotspot locations to help calculate your position. The best way to update Google's idea of where your WiFi router is is to go outside where your TF can see both the sky and your WiFi network and open Google Maps. Give it a couple of minutes to figure out your actual location from the satellites, and your TF should report back to Google the new location of the router. I don't know how long it will take Google to update their WiFi database, but hopefully soon everything will be working correctly.

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    13482
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    thank you again, ebrowne!

    i did what you suggested and everything is working the way it should.

    I appreciate your time.

    A happy TF user

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Market Searching impossible
    By smoki in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 04:14 PM
  2. Searching for GPS
    By DaveL in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 02:24 AM
  3. Searching for posts here and Posting to forums
    By Hesynergy in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 02:27 PM

Search tags for this page

asus eee pad transformer gps problem
,
asus eeepad transformer gps tweak
,

asus transformer gps

,

asus transformer searching for gps

,
eee pad transformer says searching for gps
,
eee transformer searching for gps
,
samsung infuse searching for gps
,
searching for gps
,
searching for gps asus transformer
,

searching for gps samsung infuse

,
searching gps samsung infuse
,
transformer searching for gps
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 PM.