View Poll Results: Have you been stuck in a boot loop?

Voters
98. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes,recovered from it with Cold Boot

    4 4.08%
  • Yes,recovered from it with Wipe Data.

    7 7.14%
  • Yes and I'm still stuck.

    16 16.33%
  • Nope...

    71 72.45%
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: [How-To] Recover from Boot Loop.

  1. #1
    Ratchet
    Member #
    4731
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    105
    Liked
    6 times

    [How-To] Recover from Boot Loop.

    From what I've read, around here many people, including myself, have been stuck in a boot loop and new ones are popping out all the time.
    So what's a boot loop? The self-explanatory name tells quite much; it's a situation, where you are stuck in the booting screen with the Asus logo and the rotating dots.
    Like so:


    Now, how to get rid of it and start using your TF again?
    In my case (and in alot of others' too), cold booting, forced restart and rebooting didn't have any effect; no matter how they did it, connected to the dock, to the charger, to a PC. No effect.
    So the only option left is to Wipe Data, which was the solution for me and alot of other people too.

    NOTE:Wipe Data erases all data on your Eee Pad, including files and settings. You'll have to set it up again, like you did the first time you opened it.

    How to Wipe Data:
    1. Remove any SD cards from the Eee Pad.
    2. Press and hold the <Volume Down> button, then press and hold the <Power> button. Keep pressing them both until you see white writing on the top left corner of the screen. You can then release the two buttons.
    3. Wait for about 5 seconds, until you see two icons in the middle of the screen. (An anroid icon and the Wipe Data Icon.)
    4. Use the <Volume down> button to highlight "Data Wipe"
    5. Press the <Volume up> button to execute the process.
    6. After the "Wipe Data" process finished, it will automatically reboot and should start normally.

    If you have set Google to back up your apps, once you sign in to the account, most of your apps can be synced back.


    Was this tutorial helpful? Please reply

    At your service,
    J.D
    Last edited by J.D; 09-15-2011 at 08:28 AM.
    travis52 and grandpa220 like this.
    Asus Ee Pad Transformer 16GB + Keyboard Docking Station
    Mac Mini 4GB RAM (Late 2009) + BenQ 22" WideScreen Display
    Samsung Galaxy S II

    xBox 360 S 250Gb...

  2. #2
    Jazz
    Member #
    5484
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    35
    Liked
    2 times
    Thank you JD. I was able to reinstall my apps from back up but lost all of my games scores. Small price to pay!

  3. #3
    Ratchet
    Member #
    4731
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    105
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by travis52 View Post
    Thank you JD. I was able to reinstall my apps from back up but lost all of my games scores. Small price to pay!
    You're welcome.
    Asus Ee Pad Transformer 16GB + Keyboard Docking Station
    Mac Mini 4GB RAM (Late 2009) + BenQ 22" WideScreen Display
    Samsung Galaxy S II

    xBox 360 S 250Gb...

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    11093
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    i bought my Asus yesterday and when i did updates thusmorning i got this loop, i have searched everywhere and keep getting the same thing as you posted but it does not help... i wipe it, and it just restartes with the loop...

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Member #
    2531
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Thailand
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8,595
    Liked
    976 times
    Quote Originally Posted by JustinDennison View Post
    i bought my Asus yesterday and when i did updates thusmorning i got this loop, i have searched everywhere and keep getting the same thing as you posted but it does not help... i wipe it, and it just restartes with the loop...
    Hello Justin and welcome to the Forum. Did you fully charge the TF. If so, and If you did the wipe data and still getting the boot loop, I would exchange the TF at the retailer you bought it from.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    11093
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    was really hoping for a different answer to the problem but if i cannot get it working by tomorrow looks like i will have to...
    thank you

  7. #7
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Justin, I have 2 suggestions:

    From powered off and with the charger unplugged, press and hold the power button for 20-30 seconds.

    2nd option, plug the TF into a standard USB port and let it sit with the screen off for about 3 hours to charge it to about 10% and see if that helps.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    11093
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    Justin, I have 2 suggestions:

    From powered off and with the charger unplugged, press and hold the power button for 20-30 seconds.

    2nd option, plug the TF into a standard USB port and let it sit with the screen off for about 3 hours to charge it to about 10% and see if that helps.
    is there a special way i can shut it off besides letting it die? when i shut it off it just turns back on and continues the loop.... when i do wipe it it says its wiped and restarting but it keeps this up... i will be returning it in the morning if i cant figure it out in next couple hours (before bed)

  9. #9
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    I am only aware of letting it die if you are stuck in a boot loop. If you have the keyboard, undock it so it will not have that battery to go through as well.

    Also, I had an issue where my tablet died. I plugged it in and it immediately booted because it was charging. By the time it got to be fully booted, because of the issues with 3.2 and the charger not working, it would show not charging and then it would shut off before I could adjust the charger.

    To fix this, I plugged it into a USB port for a few hours to get about 10% charge before powering it up.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    11093
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    I am only aware of letting it die if you are stuck in a boot loop. If you have the keyboard, undock it so it will not have that battery to go through as well.

    Also, I had an issue where my tablet died. I plugged it in and it immediately booted because it was charging. By the time it got to be fully booted, because of the issues with 3.2 and the charger not working, it would show not charging and then it would shut off before I could adjust the charger.

    To fix this, I plugged it into a USB port for a few hours to get about 10% charge before powering it up.
    alright ill give this a try and let you guys know, thank you

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. new transformer, continuous loop, now continual reboot
    By adamcanderson in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-21-2012, 10:39 AM
  2. TF won't boot.
    By J.D in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 03:27 AM
  3. boot screen
    By mrdispatcher in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-28-2011, 01:39 AM
  4. no boot HELP
    By deweyuz in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 11:08 AM

Search tags for this page

asus tf101 boot loop

,
asus tf101 boot loop fix
,
asus tf101 stuck in boot loop
,
asus transformer book bootloop
,

asus transformer boot loop

,
asus transformer prime boot loop fix
,
asus transformer reboot loop
,

asus transformer stuck in boot loop

,
asus transformer stuck in bootloop
,
how to fix asus start boot
,

samsung infuse boot loop fix

,

tf101 boot loop

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 AM.