Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    95367
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times

    Hdmi to dvi-d monitor

    Hi
    I have an early TF101 and am trying to watch via my Dell monitor... The Dell doesn't have an HDMI input so I got a mini hdmi to dvi-d cable... Plug it all in... Have the hdmi icon next to the clock and the monitor selected to dvi-d input... Nothing... Says no input from the Transformer.
    There is a percentage chance it's a bad cable from the factory but looking on the web I notice some transformer models have a 'two screens' key needs pressing the... Mine has no such key (key to take screen shot seems to be there instead).... Can't find any menu driven way to activate the hdmi (if that's what's needed).
    Any advice or ideas
    K
    (unfortunately I don't have any other devices using dvi-d or mini hdmi to try the cable on)

  2. #2
    Asus USA Social Media Team
    Member #
    35389
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Tablet
    Uncategorised
    Posts
    774
    Liked
    151 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Image View Post
    Hi
    I have an early TF101 and am trying to watch via my Dell monitor... The Dell doesn't have an HDMI input so I got a mini hdmi to dvi-d cable... Plug it all in... Have the hdmi icon next to the clock and the monitor selected to dvi-d input... Nothing... Says no input from the Transformer.
    There is a percentage chance it's a bad cable from the factory but looking on the web I notice some transformer models have a 'two screens' key needs pressing the... Mine has no such key (key to take screen shot seems to be there instead).... Can't find any menu driven way to activate the hdmi (if that's what's needed).
    Any advice or ideas
    K
    (unfortunately I don't have any other devices using dvi-d or mini hdmi to try the cable on)
    Hello,

    Thank you for posting and we are sorry to hear of the issue. Could you please provide to us the model number for the external monitor?
    Asus USA is a social support channel for North American purchasers. UK users requiring warranty support should contact their retailer. For other geographic locations, please check your product documentation or the Asus website for your locality and follow the support section instructions.




    Transformer Forums is a privately owned "user to user" forum and is not affiliated with ASUSTeK Computer Inc in any way.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    95367
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Asus_USA View Post
    Hello,

    Thank you for posting and we are sorry to hear of the issue. Could you please provide to us the model number for the external monitor?

    Sorry for the delay I have been away ---- the monitor is a Dell ... the model number is 2007 WFPb

    I have tried using alternative cables but with no success ---- for info the monitor display perfectly from my wife's chromebook via the same cable and DVI input.... from the chromebook it was nescessary to enable 'Mirroring' there appears to be no matching command on the Transformer.

    Many Thanks

    Keith

  4. #4
    Asus USA Social Media Team
    Member #
    35389
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Tablet
    Uncategorised
    Posts
    774
    Liked
    151 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Image View Post
    Sorry for the delay I have been away ---- the monitor is a Dell ... the model number is 2007 WFPb

    I have tried using alternative cables but with no success ---- for info the monitor display perfectly from my wife's chromebook via the same cable and DVI input.... from the chromebook it was nescessary to enable 'Mirroring' there appears to be no matching command on the Transformer.

    Many Thanks

    Keith
    The option for mirror should appear when you swipe down from the notification bar. However, what version of Android are you using?
    Asus USA is a social support channel for North American purchasers. UK users requiring warranty support should contact their retailer. For other geographic locations, please check your product documentation or the Asus website for your locality and follow the support section instructions.




    Transformer Forums is a privately owned "user to user" forum and is not affiliated with ASUSTeK Computer Inc in any way.

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    95367
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Asus_USA View Post
    The option for mirror should appear when you swipe down from the notification bar. However, what version of Android are you using?
    Hi There
    my android version is 4.0.3

    not sure what you mean by swipe down from the notification bar.

    regards

    Keith

  6. #6
    Asus USA Social Media Team
    Member #
    35389
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Tablet
    Uncategorised
    Posts
    774
    Liked
    151 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Image View Post
    Hi There
    my android version is 4.0.3

    not sure what you mean by swipe down from the notification bar.

    regards

    Keith
    Thank you for the response. Can you test this with a TV or any other display has a HDMI port?
    Asus USA is a social support channel for North American purchasers. UK users requiring warranty support should contact their retailer. For other geographic locations, please check your product documentation or the Asus website for your locality and follow the support section instructions.




    Transformer Forums is a privately owned "user to user" forum and is not affiliated with ASUSTeK Computer Inc in any way.

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    95367
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Asus_USA View Post
    Thank you for the response. Can you test this with a TV or any other display has a HDMI port?
    I will try that... It just seems odd that my wife's chromebook works perfectly well with the same cable and monitor and the monitor reads that it is connected but there's no input from the transformer.... Seems like the output from the Asus is faulty or inhibited in some way
    Regards
    Keith

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [ SOLVED ] using external monitor (HDMI)
    By drdigital1 in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-19-2014, 07:27 PM
  2. HDMI to Monitor Only Shows Wallpaper
    By Dongle in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2014, 03:52 PM
  3. TF700T to LCD monitor via micro HDMI and DVI
    By ColdFusion in forum Asus Video
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 05:48 AM
  4. Using the TP as a external monitor over HDMI with a Nikon D7000
    By PaulM in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-07-2012, 04:16 PM
  5. HDMI/Dell monitor issue
    By noskralc in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-30-2012, 07:50 PM

Search tags for this page

news

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 PM.