Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Hard reset

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    7035
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    0 times

    Hard reset

    Hope it is not a dumb question on Hard Reset:
    Unplug the power cord and shut the unit off and Press and Hold the power button and the "Down" volume button together for 6-10 seconds and let them both go. After a few seconds you should see a couple of shapes in the middle of the screen called "Wipe Data" and "Android". Wait a few more seconds until the term "Cold Boot" appears in the list near the top of the screens and just press and release the "Down" volume button again and let it reboot. If you own the dock be sure and do this with the dock connected.

    I follow the instruction but never seems the see wipe data or cold boot etc. What I see is Asus logo and a moving round cursor moving in clockwise direction, follow by the lock screen. Notwithstanding that, after unlocking, all things work fine. Is this normal or am I missing some step? Thanks..

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    44
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Jersey-USA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,156
    Liked
    337 times
    It's not just you. I can never seem to do it either. All I get is a reboot- nothing else appears. But I never needed to do it to fix anything. Just tried it to see what would have happened. Maybe Mickylittle, king of the hard reset can interject??
    Kgs Original Transformer with dock- rooted (TF 101)- USA

    nook & libre pro e-readers-asus vivobook- samsung orig. galaxy note- Galaxy Note 8- asus TF 101 and dock with 4.4 kitkat- Iphone 5s- galaxy Mega
    "Never be afraid to try, but always know where your back-up is when you screw up!"

  3. #3
    Jazz
    Member #
    7035
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by buzzman View Post
    It's not just you. I can never seem to do it either. All I get is a reboot- nothing else appears. But I never needed to do it to fix anything. Just tried it to see what would have happened. Maybe Mickylittle, king of the hard reset can interject??
    Thanks, TF is working fine, just that I want to try to see how hard reset works, so kind of surprise I don't see the Wipe Data and Cold Boot messages appearing. I even shut down TF first before performing hard result but with same result. Strange..

  4. #4
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    I am in the same boat. Mine never pops up, but I know that when I press and hold volume- and lock for 10 seconds the boot cycle is longer than if I just do a power on, so I know it is hard resetting. If you need to factory reset you can do that through the settings on the tablet.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    7035
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    I am in the same boat. Mine never pops up, but I know that when I press and hold volume- and lock for 10 seconds the boot cycle is longer than if I just do a power on, so I know it is hard resetting. If you need to factory reset you can do that through the settings on the tablet.
    Thanks for the confirmation and I gather we need to change the hard reset instruction to exclude those messages. LOL. Cheers

  6. #6
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    44
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Jersey-USA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,156
    Liked
    337 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    I am in the same boat. Mine never pops up, but I know that when I press and hold volume- and lock for 10 seconds the boot cycle is longer than if I just do a power on, so I know it is hard resetting. If you need to factory reset you can do that through the settings on the tablet.
    That's good to know- I thought I was button challenged!
    Kgs Original Transformer with dock- rooted (TF 101)- USA

    nook & libre pro e-readers-asus vivobook- samsung orig. galaxy note- Galaxy Note 8- asus TF 101 and dock with 4.4 kitkat- Iphone 5s- galaxy Mega
    "Never be afraid to try, but always know where your back-up is when you screw up!"

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    2460
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    3 times
    I see the messages except that I do not need to press last volume down. Images should show order of what I see.
    r1
    r1.jpg
    r2
    r2.jpg
    r3
    r3.jpg
    rfull (you can see a glimse of icons, i took wrong shot)
    rfull.jpg
    Last edited by pedro_fun; 08-13-2011 at 06:49 PM.

  8. #8
    Jazz
    Member #
    7035
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    0 times
    Strange, not happening. Haha

  9. #9
    Jazz
    Member #
    2460
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    3 times
    In my opinion.... than you are not doing it right I guess....

  10. #10
    Jazz
    Member #
    7035
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by pedro_fun View Post
    In my opinion.... than you are not doing it right I guess....
    Mmmmmm but I am not the only one. I believe I did the right thing, pressing both the vol down and power for about 6 to 10 secs and release. Only difference is it takes a while (screen only have Asus logo and round circle in closewise direction but no messages) to reset before the lock screen appears, and after unlocking, you can see all the widgets reloading, so I guess it was hard reset. I live in Asia, so maybe we have different firmware that may result in the difference, I guess? LOL

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Factory Reset, Hard Reset...and so on...
    By Fly_and_Momy in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-27-2012, 12:13 AM
  2. 3.2=>How do I perform a hard reset?
    By Gir in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-30-2011, 07:41 PM
  3. auto reset??
    By mojowerking in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 09:29 AM
  4. Backup of the device, restore and hard reset ?
    By rushino in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2011, 12:34 PM
  5. Lose purchased apps after a hard reset?
    By Dick Emery in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 08:08 PM

Search tags for this page

asus tablet reset
,
asus transformer factory reset
,
asus transformer hard boot
,

asus transformer hard reset

,
hard boot a asus tablet
,
hard boot asus transformer
,
hard reset
,

hard reset asus transformer

,
how to factory reset a jazz tablet
,
how to hard boot asus transformer
,
how to reset asus tablet
,
reset
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 AM.