Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Frederuco
  • 1 Post By serbrian

Thread: HELP! New TF101 owner - Unable to upgrade firmware either automatically or manually.

Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF101
    Liked
    1 times

HELP! New TF101 owner - Unable to upgrade firmware either automatically or manually.

Hi everyone! I sincerely hope that you're willing to be patient with a newcomer to Android tablets and willing to help me with a question that has been asked a million times before!

I'd like to preface my post (and forthcoming posts) by saying that I'm not a native English speaker, so I hope that what I am typing is coherent.

I'm far from a dummy when it comes to computers, but other than my old HTC Wildfire I have very little experience with Android. When I look at the Master Help Guide I feel completely lost, even though I know what I am looking for.

I traded my iPad 2 for this ASUS TF101 (which I am using now) yesterday, because as fine as the iPad is, I need a little bit more freedom and flexibility with my tablet. I got the aforementioned tablet, docking keyboard and a leather case for it all in an even trade, and I think I got a fantastic deal. Even got the original packaging... and there's not a ding or scratch on it.

So starting fresh, I immediately downloaded the apps that I needed and set up the account with no trouble. I noticed that in the bottom corner there was a notification about a firmware update.

I downloaded said update with no trouble, but upon installing it the following occured:

1. I got the graphic with the "unpacking box", which installed about a quarter of the progress bar.
    2. Suddenly I got a graphic with the Android character and an exclamation point. Nothing else happed after that.

I repeated the download and tried again for a second and third time without success. The same issue happened.

So, I hopped on Google and was directed here.

Here is my relevant technical information:

Android version 4.0.3