Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times

    Exclamation Browser problem >> black screen

    Hi guys,

    I tried to search if someone had a similar problem, but could not find any relevant topic, so here is my problem.

    I received my transformer 2 hours ago, unboxed it and starting using it ...

    The only problem is that it went wrong right away.
    Each time I try to start the browser (or an app that is based on the browser I guess, the contact app does the same), the screen goes black.
    If I press twice quickly on the power button, then I come back on the locked screen (so I guess the first time locks, the second wakes up the screen). I unlock it, then I can see the screen for not even a second (it seems to ask a question for flash) but then it goes black again instantly.
    The only solution so far has been to do a reboot to be able to use the tablet again, but each time I use the browser, same thing happened.

    I tried to use some other apps (e.g. camera and polaris) and this does not happen ...

    I tried to do a factory reset but it didn't solve anything.

    Not that this is basically my first android experience, but I really can't figure out what is going wrong ...
    Any ideas ?

    Thanks
    Gmooron

    PS: Firmware :US_epad-8.2.3.9-20110423

  2. #2
    Starscream
    Member #
    180
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    252
    Liked
    15 times
    How much battery is left? Mine wasn't even half-charged when I got it.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    Yeah, I forgot to say that ... Battery was at 20% at that moment, so I thought maybe it could be that, so I plugged it in, and it was doing that again ...
    Last time I tried, plugged in, battery was at 80% so I don't think it's that :/
    And it doesn't do it with other apps (well, it does it with other apps, but I wouldn't be surprised if they use the browser some way or some other ...)

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    73
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    240
    Liked
    3 times
    how long have you waited with the black screen? sounds like your browser app may be corrupt maybe try installing another browser app.

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    Well, I tried to leave it for a couple of minutes and it would stay that way ...
    I just did more tests ... so it really seems that it is just the screen which turns off, but it is still fully functional. If I touch the "home" button (well, the place where the home button is supposed to be), and then I press power, and then power, and unlock the screen, I am on the home screen. Then when looking at the running app, it is there, and if I choose the running browser, it will go to black screen again.
    I even tried to take a screenshot while it was black and it worked !
    So basically, the system keeps running normally, it just that it triggers the "off" part of the screen ! (but the touch part of the screen is working during that moment).
    Where can I re-download the browser app ?
    Do you think I can try to reinstall the firmware ? Can it be done externally ?

    Thanks for your help
    Gmooron

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    OK, I just installed firefox, and it's actually doing the same thing ...
    So it's something deeper than just "the browser" ...

    So, do you know anyway to reinstall the firmware ? :S

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    Tried to reinstall the firmware (which is the latest version available), it did not change anything

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    246
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    1 times
    hum just so you know it happens to me sometimes but scarcely and i think it's a flash content display problem( that's the problem for me ). Just to let you know something when it does that you can just quit the browser without powering the pad off all you need is the app killer to kill the browser and go back to your home screen .

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    Well here it does it also where I know that there is no flash, so I think it's a different problem. And I figured out that I indeed don't need to reboot.

    I mailed the support. I wouldn't be surprised if the hardware I got is slightly different from previous units (since they have to produce more than they anticipated, they probably use also other suppliers) and there is a bug somewhere triggering that. I hope I won't have to send it back for servicing though I would be OK with waiting 1 week for a software update ...

    Thanks anyway
    Gmooron

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    426
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    An update appeared so I had high hopes ...
    Well,it didn't change anything even though I'm now running US_epad-8.2.3.13-20110511

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Eee Pad Pc Suite Problem
    By gene20354 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-12-2012, 06:11 PM
  2. Problem charging through usb
    By shortguy088 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-13-2011, 02:20 PM
  3. eee Pad screen problem?
    By BxBorn31 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 10:53 AM
  4. ASUS Sleeve (Black) for Transformer TF101 Model available right now
    By Garemlin in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Accessories
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2011, 06:01 PM

Search tags for this page

android browser black screen
,
asus tablet black screen problem
,
asus tablet screen went black
,
asus tablet went black
,

asus transformer black screen

,
asus transformer screen goes black
,
black browser problems
,
black screen asus transformer
,
black screen browser
,

black screen in browser

,

black screen on browser

,

browser black screen

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.