Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Frederuco
  • 1 Post By Wooky

Thread: LAN file transfer in Filemanager HD, need help.

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    4614
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times

    LAN file transfer in Filemanager HD, need help.

    Hi Guys,
    Can you please help me with this? I'm already so fed up and frustrated....
    I'm trying to set up LAN server in Filemanager HD.
    I scan the network and it finds 192.168.1.102. Now no matter what I do I can't connect to it... I always get error "Connection Error: Connection is not available, modify the connection settings and try again".

    I'm running Win 7 PC. Any ideas will be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    In the Control Panel -> Firewall do you have a check box to allow file and printer sharing on your network type (I assume it would be home/private) and also to check that in the Network and Sharing that your network type is set to Home/Private
    petexx likes this.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  3. #3
    Jazz
    Member #
    4171
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    1 times
    Try this:

    on Windows 7 PC, open 'Network and Sharing Centre (under Control Panel)...

    Then click on 'Change advanced sharing settings' (on the top left side windows).

    Under 'Home or Work' setting tick/click ON :
    - Turn ON network discovery
    - Turn ON file and printer sharing
    - Turn on sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the Public folders
    - Enable file sharing for devices that use 40- or 50-bit encryption
    - Turn OFF password sharing
    - Allow Windows to manage homegroup connections (recommended)

    Took from File Sharing between Windows 7 and OS X - Page 2 - MacRumors Forums
    Guess one of the problems is the encryption.
    petexx likes this.

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    4614
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    @Frederuco I don't have a checkbox there. My network is set to Home so it's all good here.
    @Wooky I have changed encryption to 40-50 bit but I still suffer from the same problem. "Connection Error"

    I'm slowly giving up now...

    //edit
    It finally works! The funny thing is that I haven't changed anything... it worked after I restarted my PC.
    Anyway, thanks both of you.
    Last edited by petexx; 07-23-2011 at 03:57 AM.

  5. #5
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    You have to to love Microsoft for some of the quirks that are solved by a simple restart. Glad it is working for you!


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  6. #6
    Jazz
    Member #
    4171
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    You have to to love Microsoft for some of the quirks that are solved by a simple restart. Glad it is working for you!
    yeah, some network parameters are loaded at startup, so usually if you alter some Windows setting and it doesn't work as expected a reboot is a thing to consider. I guess maybe some command line magic could've done the same thing without a restart, but I am not really a Windows guy. Happy our friend got it working too.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. USB to USB file transfer
    By peck in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 07:12 PM
  2. File transfer question
    By nova87 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-2011, 09:34 PM
  3. File transfer
    By kman2017 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2011, 01:43 PM

Search tags for this page

asus filemanager lan connection
,
asus transformer network file transfer
,
can you connect a asus tablet into a lan to share files
,
connection is not available file manager
,

file manager hd connection error

,

file manager hd help

,

file manager hd lan connection

,

file manager hd lan setup

,

file manager hd network

,

file manager hd no server connection available

,
filemanger hd connection error
,
lan file manager
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.