Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: [SOLVED] Help Please! TF101 is bricked and USB is dead

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    42621
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    1 times

    [SOLVED] Help Please! TF101 is bricked and USB is dead

    Hi guys,

    Please help me with my TF101.

    My TF now is bricked and the USB does not get recognize on any computer (1 PC, 2 laptops, 12 different ports). Only if I can have a USB connection, i can try to flash the TF. I installed CWM 5.8.3.4 and it killed my tablet. I was trying to make backup before installing CM9. Now, it is stuck on CWM recovery loop, freezes on cold boot, and I dont even know if APX mode is working for my tablet. Before I rooted the tablet, I was running ICS and was already having hard time getting the tablet get detected by my PC. After trying different ports, i was able to root with 1-Click Transformer Root. Installed OTA Root Keeper, SuperUser, then CWM. And now it is dead.

    I have try drivers but there's no point, it does not get detected Nothing under device manager says APX device or TF101. Try Android SDK, ADB, NvFlash (tried to get in APX mode no sign of detection), but no point, computer can't detect it.

    I am really clueless what to try anymore....Please any suggestions is greatly appreciated.

    I have a post on xdadevs forum as well but i haven't got one reply yet. I really need help on this one. Please.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Welcome to the forum!

    I would try flashing your CM9 ROM again and see if it will boot with a cold boot. Most likely you have a CWM bootloop that can be fixed in a terminal window.

    If that does not work, try APX mode. Hold VOL UP and POWER for about 12-15 seconds. Plug into a PC and see if it is detected. If not, hold POWER for 3 seconds and it should detect.

    You will need the Android SDK to try to push files (ROM) to the tablet.

    If that version of CWM can use a microSD, you can also put files on the microSD and try to flash from there.

    Be sure to check your MD5 checksums to make sure the downloads were good.

    If THAT doesnt work, you can use NVFlash to restore, but that is a bit more involved.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    42621
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    1 times
    Fred, thanks for your reply.

    I have tried getting in APX mode but i still cant get the TF detected. The CWM version it's on can access sdcard, which is the internal memory, but there are no files in there that i can flash from. It seems everything was wiped after i installed CWM and rebooted it. I dont know how to make it browse to my external microsd. I have try cold reboot as well and it would stay on "Platform Pre OS Boot configuration", "Cold-booting Linux."

    How would NvFlash work if i dont have a USB connection, is there another way?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    While in cwm and connected to your computer post the output of "adb devices"
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    42621
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi bfmetcalf,

    how do i post the output of adb devices? sorry, please explain a bit. thanks

  6. #6
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    If you have adb installed on your PC. Open a command prompt, type adb devices, copy and paste the results here.
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    42621
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    1 times
    bfmetcalf,

    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>adb remount
    error: device not found

    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>adb devices
    List of devices attached

    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>
    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>

    Is there an indication when the tablet is in APX mode? I have been trying Vol + & Power for the last 15mins or so and the screen just go black.

  8. #8
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Quote Originally Posted by xanhny View Post
    bfmetcalf,

    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>adb remount
    error: device not found

    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>adb devices
    List of devices attached

    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>
    C:\androidsdk\platform-tools>

    Is there an indication when the tablet is in APX mode? I have been trying Vol + & Power for the last 15mins or so and the screen just go black.
    The screen is black in APX mode. If you look real close you can see the backlight come on a bit when it is on, but it is quite hard to see.

    Run the adb commands. If it does not work, hold the power button for 3 seconds on your tablet and try the adb commands again.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    42621
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    The screen is black in APX mode. If you look real close you can see the backlight come on a bit when it is on, but it is quite hard to see.

    Run the adb commands. If it does not work, hold the power button for 3 seconds on your tablet and try the adb commands again.

    if that's the case, then i dont think my tablet is getting into APX mode. The eee Pad/Powered by Nvidia page loads up for awhile then the screen goes black if I hold Vol + and Power. Then I would hold down Power button for 3-5 secs, but i get nothing. ADB still does not see any devices. I have to hold down the Power button like 30 secs to get it turned on.

    am i doing this wrong? you think my usb cable is busted?

    thanks

  10. #10
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    To push files with adb I would do it while in cwm, not apex mode
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tf101 so bricked that NVFLASH doesn't work
    By barabba1966 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-18-2018, 07:34 PM
  2. [SOLVED] Oh gawd, I think I've bricked my TF
    By turbohobbit in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-01-2012, 05:53 PM
  3. Bricked tf101 B70 sbk2 help me !
    By saveski in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 04:03 PM
  4. Bricked tf101 B70 sbk2 help me !
    By saveski in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 04:00 PM
  5. Bricked Transform TF101 - B60 ICS FAILURE... REALLY NEED SOME HELP
    By ktarnor in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2012, 06:22 AM

Search tags for this page

asus hard bricked
,

asus tf101 bricked

,
asus tf101 bricked cant get it into apx mode
,
cannot detect my bricked tab
,
cwm 5.8.3.4 brick
,
hard brick tf101
,
hard brick usb device not recognized
,
hardbricked but detectable
,
how to make pc recognize bricked android tablet
,
how to unbrick itel hard brick
,
pc not recognizing bricked tablet
,
transformer tablet dead apx mode
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.