Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF101
    Liked
    0 times

[SOLVED] Can't update new Firmware

Hi,

I'm new to all of this and I have been looking around the forums for two weeks now. So, I'll start here: I initially attempted to root my TF101 because I wanted ad hoc capabilities. A few months ago, I rec'd notification of a firmware update. I tried to update it, the device rebooted, and image of an adroid appeared and began unpacking the contents, then a sudden "exclamation mark" and failure.

I thought that the failure had something to do with what I thought had to do with intially rooting the device for ad hoc, but after a ton of trial and error, it turns out the device was never rooted, says the "Root Checker" app. I do, however, have SuperUser installed. How is this possible?

Point is, I don't know where to go from here and I just want the ICS update. I still have Honeycomb. Do I continue to proceed with a new root? Do I go back to stock? How can I move on from here? Sorry for the newbiness, and thanks for any help.

*Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Liked
    2811 times
    Welcome to the forum!

Not sure what is going on with the root issue, but there are a few things to try.

The most sure-fire way is to run PERI which installed custom Recovery, then flash the latest stock ROM from the Asus support site and it will get you back to 100% stock unrooted. I will warn you that ad-hoc does not work in ICS unless you root again.

Another option is to install a custom ROM like Revolver, Android Revolution HD, Megatron, AOKP or the such and then you will be rooted and some of them have Ad-hoc enabled if that is important to you.

Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF101
    Liked
    0 times