Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By janner43
  • 1 Post By Frederuco
  • 1 Post By bfmetcalf
  • 1 Post By morrig47

Thread: [SOLVED]Micro SD Card shows incorrect content on PC Windows Explorer

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    11406
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    62
    Liked
    3 times

    [SOLVED]Micro SD Card shows incorrect content on PC Windows Explorer

    I have a number of Micro SD Cards each filled with different media i.e. one for music, one for pictures etc. To edit or update these Micro SD Cards from my master collections on my PC, I connect my TF101 to my Windows 7 PC in order to use Windows Explorer. The TF101 shows correctly under "Computer" as does the Micro SD Card when I click on the TF101 entry. This is where things get a bit strange. The easiest way to illustrate the issue is to give an example. If I have my Music Micro SD card in the TF101 it will correctly list my music tracks. If I then change the Micro SD Card to my pictures Micro SD Card it will continue to show the music content, sometimes with and sometimes without the picture content from the new Micro SD Card. It is as if it has left a "shadow" of the former content. Refreshing (F5) does not resolve the issue. This has happened with Honeycomb and all ICS firmware updates, so no blame can be apportioned there!! I should also point out that the File Explorer on the TF101 shows the correct content.


    To complete my tasks I have to use an USB adapter, which has a Micro SD slot.


    All very odd - any thoughts? Has anyone experienced anything similar?

  2. #2
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    14,013
    Liked
    2826 times
    Do you properly "unmount" the card in your tf?
    ThingODoom likes this.

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  3. #3
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Also, you may have to unmount the TF from windows (unplug it, swap microSD cards) and plug it back in for it to properly refresh. I think this may be because Windows is not expecting an MTP device to have removable memory like that.
    janner43 likes this.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    11406
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    62
    Liked
    3 times
    Frederuco

    Yes that is the way I was doing it, but just in case I tried it again. As before it lists the proper content of the Micro SD Card, but also the "shadow" of the content of the Micro SD Card which I removed.

    janner43

    Not sure what you mean by properly unmount the card. The process I followed is as described by Frederuco. Am I missing a stage?

    Thanks both for support as always.

    Gareth

  5. #5
    Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    12453
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Posts
    14,013
    Liked
    2826 times
    Hi Gareth

    AFAIK the process should be

    1. Connect tf to pc - do your copying etc
    2. Disconnect in software (windows) from pc & physically remove cable
    3. Unmount microSD on tf
    4. Remove microSD & replace with next microSD card & allow it to mount
    5. Reconnect to pc

    PLEASE Search for existing threads before posting a new one. Thanks.

    Your opinion matters. But should you disagree - please try not to be disagreeable

    Forum guide - here ~~ T100 FAQs - here ~~ Cold boot - here

    Adobe Flash Player & Browser Guide here

    Master Help Guide - here ~~ FAQ malware - here ~~ FAQ e-reading - here
    Mobile OS devices personal pantheon...
    ANDROID: Doogee DG310; SGS; Huawei Y300; Motoroloa Xoom 2ME; Razr; Defy Mini; CnM Touchpad II;
    Asus TF101; Lenovo A1; Samsung Tab 2 7.0
    APPLE: iPhone 4s; iPhone 5c; iPhone 6; iPhone 7; iPad 3; iPad Mini 2; iPad Air 2 64gb
    CHROMEBOOK: HP 14-Q010sa Celeron 14 Inch 4GB 16GB Chromebook - White.

  6. #6
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    To add to what Janner said, to unmount the card - tap the red X on the right hand side of the notification icon for the storage.

    For me, I just use an SD card reader. I never have a need to connect my TF to my PC via USB (I just use WiFi file transfers via SMB) and then use a microSD or SD reader for my movies and such.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    11406
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    62
    Liked
    3 times
    Still no joy I regret to say. Not a big issue as I can carry on using the SD Card reader, but could I just clarify a couple of points from your responses just to make sure I have fully understood your advice.

    Janner - "Disconnect in software (Windows)". I cannot connect within Windows Explorer (no such option on a right-click). All you can do is close Windows Explorer and disconnect the tablet. Given it is attached by USB cable I find it strange it does not show up in Safely Remove Hardware and Eject Media which is the normal way to disconnect media from a PC. Wonder if this is the cause?

    Frederuco - "tap the red X on the right hand side of the notification icon for the storage" Do you mean the red X on the right hand side of the main Windows Explorer i.e. to close the Windows Explorer window?

    Thanks for your patience!!

    Gareth

  8. #8
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    You will not see a safely remove hardware on windows because the transformer connects like an MTP device. It is safe to remove at any time.

    Frederuco was talking about on your tablet. Down by the notifications, you should see a small sdcard, if you tap on it you should see a red x or a way to un-mount the card before removal.
    Frederuco likes this.
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  9. #9
    Jazz
    Member #
    11406
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wales
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    62
    Liked
    3 times
    Problem resolved. The key was the correct unmounting of the MicroSD Card from the tablet. Frederuco's advice, complemented by btmetcalf's further explanation, was the resolution to my problem. Thanks to btmetcalf's information on the tablet's connection to a PC.

    Thanks to one and all for the help - much appreciated!

    Gareth
    Frederuco likes this.

  10. #10
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    Glad it all got worked out for you. Have fun in all your future endeavors with the tablet and don't be afraid to ask plenty more questions.
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] Unable to read micro sd card
    By lamxing in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-26-2012, 03:09 AM
  2. SD Card Content Questions
    By 4Nails in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-20-2012, 12:45 PM
  3. PC suite causes Windows Explorer to crash/restart on startup
    By TonyG in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 12:24 PM
  4. PNY micro sd card shows 0 byte on my transformer. Need help.
    By daewkim in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 02:15 PM
  5. Windows Explorer would not display TF files
    By travis52 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 12:51 PM

Search tags for this page

micro sd card reporting wrong size

,
micro sd card showing wrong capacity
,

micro sd card showing wrong size

,
micro sd card shows wrong size
,
micro sd card wrong size
,
microsd showing wrong size
,

sd card reporting wrong size

,
sd card reports wrong size
,

sd card showing wrong size

,
sd card shows wrong capacity
,

sd card shows wrong size

,
sd card wrong size
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 AM.