Soundwave
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Exclamation USB & SD not working on dock

Hi all,

Newbie here, needing a bit of help. I've spent 12 hours yesterday reading forum posts and trying different things, but I think I have a semi functional dock that needs to be exchanged.

First of all, got my Transformer & keyboard dock this week, but didn't get to unbox them until yesterday. Did a quick check for light bleed (only mild at the lower edge), and started charging. The see-thru wrapping of the tablet had Chinese characters but the SKU was US. Firmware was 3.0.1, and when I quickly tested the dock, USB did not work (thumbdrive's LED flashed once, less than 1/10 sec, when first inserted , but no ongoing flashng, and no notification at the right-lower corner to show mounting). I simply thought it was because it was 3.0.1, or that the dock did not have enough juice (even though the dock LED was steady red, not flashing red).

While charging, notification came for System Update. Updated tablet (not connected to dock) to 3.1 OTA without problem. Build was now 8.4.4.5-20110527. USB and SD still not working on dock, although keyboard and trackpad worked fine.

USB thumbdrives now don't even flash once when inserted, although the LED on my WD Passport USB harddrive would at least come on (and stay on, so it's got power from the USB). However, no mounting of either type of devices (I tried 3 different USB thumbddrives from diff manufacturers and also tested them on other devices to make sure they are not dead).

Similar thing with the SD slot -- neither a 1GB "pure SD" nor a 4GB SDHC (nor a 32GB SDHC) card would read/mount. The microSD slot on the tablet was fine -- mounted right away, and it was visible to my desktop PC when I connected the TF101. Therest of the dock works fine -- I am typing this post on it (the lag is driving me nuts, but without the directional keys I would have killed myself already).

I've already tried: