Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By leeshor

Thread: Can't connect to unlocked router.

  1. #1
    Starscream
    Member #
    9024
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    10 times

    Can't connect to unlocked router.

    Hi,

    I was visiting at our local hospital. My TF shows several networks. Most are protected but one called "Guest" is open and the signal appears to be strong.

    I tried to connect and nothing happens. From the list of networks, I tap on "Guest" and tap "Connect". But nothing happens! It doesn't say "Connecting" or anything else. It just sits on the list of networks.

    This is a big hospital and I'm guessing most patients and visitors have no trouble connecting. So why not my TF?

    I've had no trouble connecting to other networks; both protected and not.

    Are there some networks that the TF isn't able to join? Is there a workaround?

    This is a TF101.

    Thanks,


    AB

  2. #2
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Next time try opening a browser. Chances are you will be greeted with an agreement regarding use of the network and you'll need to agree to it.

  3. #3
    Starscream
    Member #
    9024
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    10 times
    Aha! I'll bet that's it.

    Thanks,

    AB

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    15321
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Hamilton., New Zealand.
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    401
    Liked
    81 times
    Another possibility is that it might be like the guest WiFi network in the company I work for - it is only open to approved visitors to the site whose device MAC addresses have been loaded into the WiFi router's access control table, rather than the wider meaning of a guest being anyone who happens to stumble across it.

  5. #5
    Starscream
    Member #
    9024
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    10 times
    On further thought, wouldn't the network say "connected" even b4 checking in to the web page?

    After all, you have to be connected to see the web page in the first place.

    AB

  6. #6
    Starscream
    Member #
    9024
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    10 times
    I suppose that's possible but unlikely. It's a busy hospital with lots of traffic and lots of entrances. I just don't think it would be a practical approach.

    Plus, I asked a couple of nurses and they just said I should be able to connect. They didn't say you had to register first.

    Thanks,

    AB

  7. #7
    Developer
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    37034
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    USA
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    490
    Liked
    101 times
    Usually you have to load the 'terms of use' page before going anywhere else. I almost guarantee that this was the issue, if it connects to other networks fine. Unless you happen to be on Guevor's kernel v19.4 to 21.5 which had issues with I believe AD-hoc related networks, in which case just update to his latest v22.

  8. #8
    Starscream
    Member #
    9024
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ThingODoom View Post
    Usually you have to load the 'terms of use' page before going anywhere else. I almost guarantee that this was the issue, if it connects to other networks fine. Unless you happen to be on Guevor's kernel v19.4 to 21.5 which had issues with I believe AD-hoc related networks, in which case just update to his latest v22.
    Well I'll just have to try again. Unfortunately (or fortunately depending... ) I have no immediate plans to re-visit the hospital.

    Thanks,

    AB

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Wi-fi through my wireless router will not connect
    By bigtoz in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 03:33 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2011, 06:06 PM
  3. Transformer to HTC HD2 Wi-Fi Router connect problems
    By WilliamNell in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 10:27 PM
  4. Transformer to HTC HD2 Wi-Fi Router connect problems
    By WilliamNell in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 09:09 PM

Search tags for this page

can't connect to unlocked wifi
,

can't connect to unlocked wifi

,
cannot login unlocked wifi
,

cant join unlocked network

,
how come i cant connect to unlocked wifi
,
why can't i connect to an unlocked wifi
,

why can't join an unlocked network

,
why cant i connect t a wi fi which ua unlocked
,

why cant i connect to an unlocked network

,
why cant i connect to wifi when its unlocked
,
why cant i join a unlocked wifi network
,

why cant i join an unlocked wifi

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM.