Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    6319
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times

    Wifi on N-standard

    Is there anyone who has a faster speed on the tf than 20mbs? I have a n router and 40mb from my isp but i seem not to get a faster speed on the tf than between 12 and 20mb..

    Does te tf realy has n standard wifi?

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    590
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    U.S/CA/OC
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    3,375
    Liked
    471 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionhead View Post
    Does te tf realy has n standard wifi?
    Nope...It's G.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    4461
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeM View Post
    Nope...It's G.
    Yes the TF has N To go a little off topic, if you have a Wireless N router (2.4Ghz frq only), and you haven't locked it down to N devices ONLY, as soon as any one B or G device is connected all network traffic will be throttled.

    B speeds up to 11Mbps
    G speeds up to 54Mbps
    N speeds up to 300Mbps

    With my router locked to N devices only I average a network connection speed of 72Mbps (mind you router is on different floor)

    Remember all these speeds are Network and NOT Internet, they have nothing to do with your internet speeds from ISP.

    Hope this helps

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    6319
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times
    So, yes, i locked it on n only, i do speedtest on the internet, it goes not above 20mb, which makes me think its operating on g, and you are saying that is normal, because n provides you only more network speed?

  5. #5
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    590
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    U.S/CA/OC
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    3,375
    Liked
    471 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionhead View Post
    So, yes, i locked it on n only, i do speedtest on the internet, it goes not above 20mb, which makes me think its operating on g, and you are saying that is normal, because n provides you only more network speed?
    We had this discussion here some time back and I believe it was Frederuco that determined the TF was operating on G.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    4461
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    Hey LionHead,

    You can determine the speed that your Transformer is connected to your network at by:

    Go to Settings
    Wireless and Networks
    Do a Long press on your network
    Choose Modify Network
    you will see the ###Mbps that your Tablet is connected to your network. That speed is between your Tablet and the Router.

    If it's less then 54Mbps then likely yes you're connected at G speeds to your router. As for verifying your speed from your ISP, they likely guarantee UP TO 40Mbps, but I'd call them to verify.

    Hope this helps you out some more!

    -Z

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    6319
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times
    65mbps... Still i am thinking something is wrong..

    When i connect my router wirh a cat5 cable to a laptop i get 40mb, so that is secured...

  8. #8
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Zacher's figures are correct though he may have over simplified it just a little and probably for good reason

    Your 65 figure is pretty good so don't complain.

    Your internet speed can be determined by going to speedtest.net and picking a server to test, best pick more than one. Whatever that result is has no real relationship to the performance of your TF on your network. One is the speed you are communicating with the router and the other is the speed the router will allow to the Internet.

    Your local network will typically transfer files between, systems no matter what the Internet performance is, faster than you will be able to do any downloading from the Internet. Some of the differences have to do with overhead when using the Internet and the performance of the Internet server, but there are many other factors.

    We have some cable providers in the Atlanta area offering 100 mbits/s download speeds, (that's typically where a very old network card, not WiFi, could get saturated but not likely), but even if you are getting 40 mbits/s on the Internet the local network cards are running no slower than 100 and your WiFi is running at 65 so you don't have a -problem. Don't want to get into a multi page post so I'll leave it there.

  9. #9
    Jazz
    Member #
    6319
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times
    Tss, you can tell me not to complain and saying there is no problem, i paid for 40mbps internet speed, i have an n router and a tf that can handle n speeds. Speedtest.net tells me 18mbps, so that is more than half less... Excuse me for finding that a lot..

  10. #10
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionhead View Post
    Tss, you can tell me not to complain and saying there is no problem, i paid for 40mbps internet speed, i have an n router and a tf that can handle n speeds. Speedtest.net tells me 18mbps, so that is more than half less... Excuse me for finding that a lot..
    If that's the case then the problem is probably your Internet provider, not the Transformer or your router unless there is a (serious) problem with the router, which I doubt.

    So yes, you have a right to be upset, but take it up with the ISP.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Rom Standard
    By hugosouza in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) ROMS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2011, 02:29 PM
  2. Standard browser how can i close a tab
    By hardyx9 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 07:25 AM
  3. Read amazon kindle books in standard TF Library
    By Kar.E.2010 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 06:28 PM
  4. Anyone help with standard music player?
    By chrisp in forum Asus Audio
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 07:27 PM
  5. Standard tests for Transformer?
    By fireseed in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 06:42 AM

Search tags for this page

asus prime wireless n 40mhz
,
asus transformer 40 mhz wifi
,
asus transformer n only network
,
asus transformer tablet wireless connection speeds
,
asus transformer throttled download speed wifi
,

asus transformer wifi speed

,
asus transformer wireless speeds
,
asus+transformer+wifi speed
,
asustransformer wifi n
,
tf 201 40mhz
,
transformer prime 40mhz
,
transformer wifi n
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.