Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Frederuco
  • 1 Post By funbob

Thread: Animated Backgrounds... Why only on Smartphones/Tablets?

Soundwave
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Animated Backgrounds... Why only on Smartphones/Tablets?

I have been pondering this question for many years now. Ever since the Minority Report, when I saw their desktop computers sporting a slick animated background I have wondered why the heck don't we have that now? And I am referring to our run-of-the-mill laptops and Desktop Computers. I think it's derelict of M$ and Apple to not give a flying flick at a rolling doughnut about such a wonderful addition to our IT of today. Ever since the advent of the smartphone it's become an industry standard and I love it! The tablets take the idea and further beautify it with simple size enhancement.

So I guess what I am asking is there talk of something in the pipeline for notebooks? Are there programs that can substitute this feature? And if Android can do it why can't Windows 7???

Soundwave
    Member #
    Liked
    4 times
    I've been using animated backgrounds on my Linux workstations for over a decade (via xscreensaver, I currently have sharks and whales swimming around behind my browser.) - Windows is just behind the curve on stuff like that. I'm sure they'll announce it as a "revolutionary new innovation" that is part of windows 8 any day now.

Since the Win8 desktop is almost entirely based on javascript and html, it should be pretty simple for people to build animated wallpapers for it.

*Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Liked
    2813 times
    Since Windows XP (maybe even older) you can put an animated .gif as the wallpaper, or even a URL of a webpage with animations.

10 years ago one of my friends had this as their wallpaper:

RaVenBlackehart and junior like this.

Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock