Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1844
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    12 times

    My HD videos won't play since I upgraded to HC3.2

    Hi.

    I've noticed that my 1280x720 h264 48KHz AAC 2700Kbit videos that used to play fine on 3.1 with the hardware decoder now won't play with 3.2. I get the dreaded "Sorry, this video cannot be played" popup.

    The trouble is that the soft decode players simply can't handle them at a decent frame rate, so basically I now can't watch them.

    Any ideas as to why they have stopped playing?
    Last edited by mitchelln; 08-11-2011 at 07:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1844
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    12 times
    Anyone know what the lib driver file for the hw video codec support is? I'll try putting the 3.1 one onto 3.2 and see if this sorts it. Can't lose HD playback. Looks like Asus broke something.
    Last edited by mitchelln; 08-11-2011 at 08:24 AM.

  3. #3
    Jazz
    Member #
    6806
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    5 times
    I've encoded some 1280x720 (iPad standard?) mp4s from several blurays recently and have not had an issue playing them back on the TF. I'm using mobo player if that helps. Not sure what codecs the app is using (its own or codecs I perhaps loaded separately a couple weeks ago). I have videos of various Kbps at NTSC framerates, and some non standard stuff I got online. So far so good on 3.2
    16GB Transformer, standard Android OS

  4. #4
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1844
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    12 times
    I've just downgraded to 3.1 and the videos play again. Something has definitely got broken in 3.2. Seems to have lost either h264 or AAC hardware acceleration.

    It would be great if the working 3.1 drivers could be copied over to 3.2. I'll give it a go if someone could tell me which files they are.
    Last edited by mitchelln; 08-11-2011 at 09:06 AM.

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    6806
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mitchelln View Post
    Seems to have lost either h264 or AAC hardware acceleration.
    How do you assign the playback to use the hardware versus software decoders? I didn't even know the TF did hardware decoding.
    16GB Transformer, standard Android OS

  6. #6
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1844
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    12 times
    Quote Originally Posted by stoopid View Post
    How do you assign the playback to use the hardware versus software decoders? I didn't even know the TF did hardware decoding.
    Yes, the TF does hardware decoding otherwise it would never be able to play HD files at full frame rate. Players like mVideoPlayer and MoboPlayer default to trying hardware first. Moboplayer then will playback in software if HW support is not available. These HD files simply will not play at more than a few fps with the soft decoders.

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    6806
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    5 times
    So do you think the update changed the hardware firmware or just what settings the hardware will handle (as registered in the OS), before handing off for software decoding? Interesting...

    Admittedly, the odd ball videos I have are smallish resolution. The larger HD stuff I made myself (using BD Rebuilder) and used a preset that encodes them as iPad compatible MP4 files, so it's likely nothing I'm playing as HD is being decoded by software. Is there a reason your HD content isn't standard?
    Last edited by stoopid; 08-11-2011 at 09:15 AM.
    16GB Transformer, standard Android OS

  8. #8
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1844
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    12 times
    Quote Originally Posted by stoopid View Post
    So do you think the update changed the hardware firmware or just what settings the hardware will handle (as registered in the OS), before handing off for software decoding? Interesting...

    Admittedly, the odd ball videos I have are smallish resolution. The larger HD stuff I made myself (using BD Rebuilder) and used a preset that encodes them as iPad compatible MP4 files, so it's likely nothing I'm playing as HD is being decoded by software. Is there a reason your HD content isn't standard?
    My HD stuff is completely standard h264. Plays on everything including the tf with 3.1 If I knew which libs handled it I could try patching 3.2. I'm tempted to try a scatter gun approach and replace the 3.2 libnv*video libs with the 3.1 ones to see if that fixes it, but that will be very hit and miss and time consuming.

  9. #9
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1805
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    130
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mitchelln View Post
    My HD stuff is completely standard h264. Plays on everything including the tf with 3.1 If I knew which libs handled it I could try patching 3.2. I'm tempted to try a scatter gun approach and replace the 3.2 libnv*video libs with the 3.1 ones to see if that fixes it, but that will be very hit and miss and time consuming.
    Are you playing MP4 h264 or mkv contained?

  10. #10
    Ratchet
    Member #
    1844
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    113
    Liked
    12 times
    MP4. But they key point here is the files played HW accelerated on 3.1, but do not play on 3.2. So it can't be the files themselves. Something has got broken.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Videos loaded to Picasa won't play in Gallery?
    By exp in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 09:54 AM
  2. Very unhappy with my Eee. CAN'T PLAY VIDEOS!
    By nonnasmyladie in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 77
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 01:38 PM
  3. Can't play some videos
    By namaste04 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 02:30 PM
  4. can't play embedded videos
    By namaste04 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-14-2011, 04:27 PM
  5. embedded videos wont play
    By namaste04 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2011, 02:31 PM

Search tags for this page

asus transformer mp4 hardware acceleration

,

asus transformer sorry this video cannot be played

,
asus transformer sorry, this video cannot be played.
,

asus transformer won't play hd video

,

asus transformer won't play video

,

asus transformer wont play video

,
asus transformer wont play videos after firmware update
,

asus transformer wont play videos after update

,
cannot be played trying soft decoding
,

picasa sorry this video cannot be played

,
transformer won't play hd videos asus
,

video playback on asus transformer after update to 3.2

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.