Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    531
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times

    Does vpn work with the transformer?

    Cannot install Pandora on the transformer in the UK using vpn.Tells me is not available for my location.Have tried other USA only sites using vpn.and got on them without any problem.Got Pandora working ok on my desktop using vpn. Can anybody give me any advice?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Member #
    2531
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Thailand
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8,595
    Liked
    976 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jkd41 View Post
    Cannot install Pandora on the transformer in the UK using vpn.Tells me is not available for my location.Have tried other USA only sites using vpn.and got on them without any problem.Got Pandora working ok on my desktop using vpn. Can anybody give me any advice?
    Have you setup the VPN in the setting menu?

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5990
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    3 times
    VPN works fine, I use it every day.

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    6628
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times
    Same here, using a L2TP VPN was one the first things I confirmed was working. However there are a few annoyances
    1) after sleeping and waking up the VPN drops but the icon remains in the notification area. It isn't until you tap it do you see the message that the VPN has been disconnected. There should be a different icon to distinguish between being connected and disconnected
    2) The VPN connection will NOT remember the password (at least I can't get it to). It'll remember the username but not password. Seems weird it would do that since it did place credentials in a keystore of some sort that I need a master password in order to get into. Whatever that repository if info is, it doesn't remember the password.

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5990
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    3 times
    I think it's probably good that it doesn't retain the password. You don't want to compromise larger systems if you lose your TF>

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    6628
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times
    From a security perspective I understand your point 100%, but that's why there is a password on the keystore. The way the VPN connection is now on the TF, I have to remember two passwords to use it, the one for the keystore and the one for the VPN connection itself. Seems kind of bass-ackwards. I've only had the device for 4 days though, so maybe I'm missing something?

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    6011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    32
    Liked
    0 times
    I had the same difficulty. Pandora will work fine outside the US with a VPN, but you won't be able to download it from the app store if your Google account was set up outside the country. Search for the Pandora apk file and download it manually from somewhere else. It'll work fine after that.

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    531
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times
    [QUOTE=scylla;32578]I had the same difficulty. Pandora will work fine outside the US with a VPN, but you won't be able to download it from the app store if your Google account was set up outside the country. Search for the Pandora apk file and download it manually from somewhere else. It'll work fine after that.[/QUOTE
    Thanks for that info scylla,got it working at long last

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    27005
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    Is there a VPN app for the ASUS transformer tablet?
    I would like to be able to access files at the office when I am traveling, and I would need a VPN app. Most office software is for MACS, and the IT folks at the office cannot help with software for the ASUS transformer.

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5990
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Nkozyra View Post
    I think it's probably good that it doesn't retain the password. You don't want to compromise larger systems if you lose your TF>
    For the record ... this has changed in ICS. It allows you to save the VPN password, but it requires a more elegant lock screen be enabled.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Asus Eee Pad Transformer Dock does not work at all
    By MBCH in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-30-2011, 04:36 AM
  2. is the Transformer suppose to work as a GPS?
    By thisn00bagain in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 10:57 AM
  3. How to see my work files by vpn
    By bmustard in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 05:41 PM
  4. Fulltime Work on Android
    By Androgeny in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 06:12 PM

Search tags for this page

asus eee pad transformer vpn
,
asus router with transformer vpn
,
asus tf101 vpn
,

asus transformer vpn

,
asus transformer vpn setup
,
best vpn for asus transformer
,
tf101 vpn
,
transformer 101 vpn broken ipsec
,

transformer vpn

,

vpn asus transformer

,
vpn for asus transformer
,
vpn on transformer
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.