Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5766
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times

    System Update last night, now Network drops when I plug in HDMI!!

    So last night I got a notification that there was a system update available for my TF. Installed fine, rebooted, used it for a while with no problems. Tonight, I plugged it into my TV with the HDMI port to watch some media files streamed through Plex. (Awesome app, get it if you don't have it) Plex couldnt find my media server on the network... strange! So I played around with it a little and confirmed, using Plex, Youtube, and the Browser, that as soon as I plug in the HDMI cable to the TF, the internet drops! Wifi still stays connected to my Access Point, but I can't browse on ANY app, its like all internet traffic is blocked.

    Anyone else having this issue or can confirm it is not just me?

    I can't help but think its due to the pending "Official Netflix support" that is allegedly rolling out with the 3.2 update. Disabling network when HDMI is connected so people can't circumvent the DRM in Netflix and pirate stuff through the HDMI port...

    About Tablet states:
    Wifi Version 5.1.50
    Android 3.1
    Kernel 2.6.36.3-00011-g3eb19ec android@Mercury#1
    Build Number HMJ37.US_epad-8.4.4.11-20110711

  2. #2
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5766
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    So am I correct in assuming that I am the only person affected by this problem then? Has anybody else tested this with the latest update?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Member #
    2531
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Thailand
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    8,595
    Liked
    976 times
    you show 3.1 not 3.2

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5766
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    Yeah because I have 3.1... not 3.2. Just checked for updates and it is now available for me. I got some other preliminary update a few nights ago which caused this problem, we'll see if the 3.2 update fixes it!

  5. #5
    dtp
    dtp is offline
    Soundwave
    Member #
    8966
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    We have the same problem...any soloution?

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5201
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi I have just discovered that I when I plug in the HDMI cable I cannot access the internet via the browser or download EMAILs. I have tried it on two different TVs and via a switch and amplifier and have the same results. I am on 3.2 with the latest maintenance release. I cannot confirm when this started as I have only just got the HDMI cable.

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5766
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times

    Problem went away, then came back!

    I had that update back in July, and this problem started. I got another system update a few days later and the problem went away and I was able to stream video on Plex and browse internet and local network while plugged in with HDMI. I got another system update about a week ago and now the problem is back. As soon as I plug in HDMI, the network drops out. This is super frustrating because everything I use my tablet for when plugged into the TV is network and internet based.

  8. #8
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2509
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Tablet
    Too lazy to choose
    Posts
    841
    Liked
    71 times
    Can you install WiFi Analyzer, go to the wifi channels screen (first one) and see what happens when you plug in HDMI?

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5766
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    ok installed wifi analyzer and tried it again and what do you know, it works fine now. wtf. Last time I had tried this was yesterday and as soon as I would plug in hdmi, the network would just stop working. Did a restart on the tablet and now its fine. I'll keep everyone updated if it happens again but now I'll check with the wifi anaylzer first. Thanks for the help

  10. #10
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2509
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Tablet
    Too lazy to choose
    Posts
    841
    Liked
    71 times
    With wifi analyzer running do you see a drop in signal strength? I wonder if something near the TV is putting out interference.

    My 2.4 GHz cordless phone kills channel 1 every time I answer the phone. I configured my router to channel 11 and everyone's happy now.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Unboxed it last night, used it this afternoon
    By Suz at Large in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 08:20 PM
  2. System Update Problem(s)
    By malong in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 07:46 AM
  3. Hello! Just ordered last night
    By lynette in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-04-2011, 11:37 AM
  4. System Update Pending But...
    By Dungeoncrawler in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2011, 11:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2022 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 PM.