Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Factory Reset, Hard Reset...and so on...

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    1094
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bologna, Italy
    Posts
    29
    Liked
    0 times

    Arrow Factory Reset, Hard Reset...and so on...

    Hey, dont know if this may become a usefull thread or not...but i read that a lot of people suggest, after a FOTA Update, to do a Hard Reset.

    Now i know that the Factory Reset is the way to clean your TF and bring it to the "First boot state".
    I also know that the Hard Reset is done by pressing down the Power and the Volume down buttons for 10 seconds or a little more...


    ...can someone explain in details how to do the first one (easy, thorugh the Settings panel...) and the second one...and what happens when you do one and when you do the other...


    I can see that my TF is now a little bit slower than before...i would like to do a Hard reset...and i read in one of this forum thread a nice explanation of what is and how to do a Hard Reset...but i'm unable to find it again now.

    Can we include in this thread all the info about the TF Resets writing :

    When to do it
    How to do it
    What it does
    What to do before the reset

    and so on...



    THX!!!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    183
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    6,099
    Liked
    722 times
    Hard Reset Instructions: Unplug the power cord and shut the unit off and Press and Hold the power button and the Down volume button together for 6-10 seconds and let them both go. You should see a little shape in the middle of the screen so just press and release the Down volume button again and let it reboot. If you own the dock be sure and do this with the dock connected.
    Current Devices:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition - Dell Venue 11 Pro Bay Trail (On Order) - LG Optimus G Pro

  3. #3
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    183
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    6,099
    Liked
    722 times
    i believe you are asking for someone to create and post a Reset Sticky Thread? It's a great idea so let's see what happens.
    Current Devices:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition - Dell Venue 11 Pro Bay Trail (On Order) - LG Optimus G Pro

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    3468
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    29
    Liked
    0 times
    I noticed on ASUS' site that a new Kernel update has been added dated 7-3....It's a zip format. After several attempts to update mine, it appears that the TF was unable to locate the file. I placed the zip in the root of the SD card, as well as inthe root of the Micro SD but I still get the "yellow exclamation point". Anyone sure as to wether you leave the file in .zip format and simply place it in the root of the SD Card (Internal Memory)? This was mentioned in an earlier link for how to manually update the TF. I've tried it several times to no avail? My hope is that the update will resolve the issue where my Wifi doesn't waken when the TF wakens.

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    1094
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bologna, Italy
    Posts
    29
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Mickeylittle View Post
    i believe you are asking for someone to create and post a Reset Sticky Thread? It's a great idea so let's see what happens.
    Yep!
    I was looking for the explanation that you wrote in the first reply and then i thought to suggest a Sticky...

    ...if anyone thinks that could be usefull and knows something about the Resets.


    Anyway, thx I'm ok now!

  6. #6
    Jazz
    Member #
    919
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    61
    Liked
    0 times
    Can someone advise if the OS resets to 3.0 if you perform a factory reset, or does it remain on 3.1 (provided the tablet was previously updated OTA to 3.1).

    Also, if performing a factory reset should I have the tablet docked in the keyboard - i.e. Does the dock need to be "reset" to remove all personal data etc... too?

    Many thanks
    Asus Transformer with Keyboard Dock
    iPhone 4
    iMac 27"

  7. #7
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    183
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    6,099
    Liked
    722 times
    I always plug the dock in for updates or a factory reset. A factory reset will not revert you back to 3.0 so you don't have to worry about losing your update.
    Current Devices:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition - Dell Venue 11 Pro Bay Trail (On Order) - LG Optimus G Pro

  8. #8
    Jazz
    Member #
    919
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    61
    Liked
    0 times
    Mickey, fast and informative reply as ever! The day has come for me to reset, repackage and sell my TF, hence the query.

    A massive thank you to you and all the other mods for making this a wonderfully helpful and enjoyable site!

    Cheers and all the best,

    Tony
    Asus Transformer with Keyboard Dock
    iPhone 4
    iMac 27"

  9. #9
    Jazz
    Member #
    919
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    61
    Liked
    0 times
    ... and all the other helpful TF owners too, of course!
    Asus Transformer with Keyboard Dock
    iPhone 4
    iMac 27"

  10. #10
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    183
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississippi
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    6,099
    Liked
    722 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony8 View Post
    ... and all the other helpful TF owners too, of course!
    Tony, hate to see you go. Are you going to try a different tablet or what?
    Current Devices:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition - Dell Venue 11 Pro Bay Trail (On Order) - LG Optimus G Pro

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [How To] Factory Data Reset
    By Garemlin in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) FAQ
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 08:00 PM
  2. Backup of the device, restore and hard reset ?
    By rushino in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2011, 11:34 AM
  3. Lose purchased apps after a hard reset?
    By Dick Emery in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 07:08 PM
  4. running not smoothly, factory reset a solution ?
    By blue-ray in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 09:47 AM
  5. Factory Reset / MyBackup Pro!
    By Mickeylittle in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 01:08 PM

Search tags for this page

asus b121 hard reset

,
asus b121 reset button
,

difference between hard reset and factory reset

,
factory default asus b121
,
hard reset asus b121
,

hard reset tablet lucky

,
how to factory reset a jazz tablet
,
how to reset asus ep121 tablet
,
jazz tablet reset
,
jszz 9 tablet reset
,
resetar tablet lucky
,

tablet lucky hard reset

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 AM.