Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    4691
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    28
    Liked
    0 times

    TF101 ICS adhoc phone tethering?

    Interested to know if anyone in the UK who has updated to ICS can still tether their windows mobile 6.5 phone (HD HD2) via WIFI in adhoc mode please ?
    Last edited by alan; 02-24-2012 at 06:39 AM.
    TF101 and dock

  2. #2
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    I know most users with the Prime noted that ICS breaks ad hoc tethering.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  3. #3
    Ratchet
    Member #
    17692
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    30 times
    currently on ICS and am tethered at this moment to my Raze Maxx.

  4. #4
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Rlarson_mn View Post
    currently on ICS and am tethered at this moment to my Raze Maxx.
    I suspect the Razr Maxx uses an Infrastructure access point not Ad-Hoc. Most of the Motorola phones do this.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  5. #5
    Starscream
    Member #
    5449
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    15 times
    Quote Originally Posted by alan View Post
    Interested to know if anyone in the UK who has updated to ICS can still tether their windows mobile 6.5 phone (HD HD2) via WIFI in adhoc mode please ?
    Hi. I can confirm this as working. Some more info: I am using a Sony Ericsson Vivaz running Symbian OS with JoikuSpot which, as I understand it, creates an ad hoc connection. This is something that didn't used to work for me prior to a particular firmware upgrade to Honeycomb but it is still working fine for me. Happy days, I didn't think this was going to work but it does.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    4691
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    28
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryTheTerror View Post
    Hi. I can confirm this as working. Some more info: I am using a Sony Ericsson Vivaz running Symbian OS with JoikuSpot which, as I understand it, creates an ad hoc connection. This is something that didn't used to work for me prior to a particular firmware upgrade to Honeycomb but it is still working fine for me. Happy days, I didn't think this was going to work but it does.
    Thanks for reply,

    had the same with my htc hd2 worked after firmware upgrade whilst on honeycomb so given your experience I hope my phone will tether still
    TF101 and dock

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5990
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    3 times
    Yes, adhoc is broken. Those of us with vanilla ICS phones can set up a WAP from our phones, but I think that excludes most other phones.

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    20586
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    1 times
    Can you not use BT tethering? I know that still works with my Droid X.

  9. #9
    Ratchet
    Member #
    17692
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    30 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    I suspect the Razr Maxx uses an Infrastructure access point not Ad-Hoc. Most of the Motorola phones do this.
    I was using FoxFi application to give my tablet a hot spot to connect to.

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    9427
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    18
    Liked
    0 times
    Has anyone got ICS tethering working for Blackberry? I have it paired via Bluetooth and the connection works fine for file transfers,etc, but I cannot get it to use Internet via the BB,even though it shows the phone in Profiles and 'Use for internet access' is selected. I've switched wifi off to try and force but the settings box always says 'No internet connection'.

    Would be a major bonus if I could get this working!

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk

 

 
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tethering to Android Phone
    By joehanratty in forum Transformer Prime Accessories
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 05:40 AM
  2. No Android Phone Tethering with ICS
    By Brandon in forum Ice Cream Sandwich
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 08:15 PM
  3. Tethering to Android Phone
    By samtgrizz in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 08:37 PM
  4. Tethering to a Mobile Phone (UK)
    By paulg26 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 01:20 PM
  5. Need a recommendation for best 4G phone for tethering...
    By minnemike in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-13-2011, 10:41 PM

Search tags for this page

ad hoc tf101

,
ad hoc wifi tf101
,
ad-hoc samsung ics
,
adhoc network tf101
,

asus tf101 ics adhoc

,
getting tf101 to see ad-hoc network
,
ice cream sandwich wifi tether
,
ics adhoc
,

ics tethering

,
tf 101 adhoc
,

tf101 ad hoc

,
windows mobile 6.5 infrastructure wap tether
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 PM.