Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Why No Root Access?

  1. #1
    Guest
    Member #
    15773
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    0 times

    Why No Root Access?

    I am brand new to the world of Android and I just got my TF101 B70 and really like it.
    I installed the DroidSSH app and can remotely access it just fine but I see I can't cd into /root for instance
    or other directories. Why is Android created this way? I believe as owner of the device, I should have
    access to everything! I do on Windows and any Linux I install.

    I happen to be an IT security engineer. If I wanted to perform a security audit on this device in order
    to authorize usage for a company network, I could not perform it! I don't know anything about Apples iPad.

    Is there a simple way I could gain root access?

    What am I missing here?

    Thanks,

    Ray

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    8638
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,958
    Liked
    362 times
    There is a way to gain root access, it is a process on Android devices called "Rooting" all be it, not without its dangers as one member found out today.

    With your device as it is a B70 there is one definite way of gaining root, and another possible way which works on "some" B70" devices but not the majority.

    Razorclaw is the rooting tool, but be aware, OTA updates will no longer work once you have rooted, and getting back to stock in order to repair OTA updates will require you to completely wipe the tablet clean by flashing a stock ROM.

    Again, because of your TF being B70 - this method will more likely need to be done via a custom recovery called ClockWorkMod that you need to flash in place of the stock recovery. (Make sure you flash ClockWorkMod after rooting to avoid being stuck with a damaged ROM if root fails)


    So with all that said, if you still want root access, here is the link to the tool

    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orclaw-v1.html

    ClockWorkMod Recovery installer
    http://www.multiupload.com/F7TZAEJKT2

    Instructions on flashing back to stock
    http://theunlockr.com/2011/11/28/how...s-transformer/
    Last edited by Detection; 12-11-2011 at 11:34 AM.
    Krinkster likes this.
    TF No longer charges: Clicky
    Transformer won't boot: Clicky
    Power / Lock button issues: Clicky
    Flash downloaded ASUS Firmware: Clicky

  3. #3
    Guest
    Member #
    15773
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Detection View Post
    There is a way to gain root access, it is a process on Android devices called "Rooting" all be it, not without its dangers as one member found out today.

    With your device as it is a B70 there is one definite way of gaining root, and another possible way which works on "some" B70" devices but not the majority.

    Razorclaw is the rooting tool, but be aware, OTA updates will no longer work once you have rooted, and getting back to stock in order to repair OTA updates will require you to completely wipe the tablet clean by flashing a stock ROM.

    Again, because of your TF being B70 - this method will more likely need to be done via a custom recovery called ClockWorkMod that you need to flash in place of the stock recovery. (Make sure you flash ClockWorkMod after rooting to avoid being stuck with a damaged ROM if root fails)


    So with all that said, if you still want root access, here is the link to the tool

    http://www.transformerforums.com/for...orclaw-v1.html

    ClockWorkMod Recovery installer
    Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!

    Instructions on flashing back to stock
    How To Unroot and Remove CWM Recovery on Asus Transformer | TheUnlockr
    So there is no user ID equivalent to the Windows administrator? No "root" user ID?

    I find this very bizarre.

    Why is Android designed this way?

    Ray

  4. #4
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    8638
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,958
    Liked
    362 times
    SU = Superuser

    That is what the root tool installs - Android is give or take, Linux and needs the SU command to run things as root.

    Im not so sure it is Android that is locked down like this, the manufacturers add a secure encryption boot key to prevent root access - the rooting methods either bypass this or have the key in the coding of the program used to root
    TF No longer charges: Clicky
    Transformer won't boot: Clicky
    Power / Lock button issues: Clicky
    Flash downloaded ASUS Firmware: Clicky

  5. #5
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    I think that the reason there is no root access is legacy from the phones and that the manufacturers want to have control over part of the device.

    I have no idea how many people I have helped who messed up their Windows PC because they had root (administrative) permissions and not knowing the downfall of these permissions.

    Not to mention the number of users who have rooted their device and caused issues due to not knowing what they are doing.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  6. #6
    Guest
    Member #
    15773
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Detection View Post
    SU = Superuser

    That is what the root tool installs - Android is give or take, Linux and needs the SU command to run things as root.

    Im not so sure it is Android that is locked down like this, the manufacturers add a secure encryption boot key to prevent root access - the rooting methods either bypass this or have the key in the coding of the program used to root
    Why couldn't I just load this "SU" script into one of the /bin directories?

  7. #7
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    8638
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,958
    Liked
    362 times
    Doesn't work like that - you need root access to install that Superuser app to begin with in order for it to give root access to other apps

    The Razorclaw tool uses an exploit technique found in a new app that the latest firmware has called "App Backup" using this method it is able to "restore" Superuser as if it were installed to begin with

    The other method uses APX Mode and NVFLASH to install the Superuser app - but this only works for the model TFs that the secure boot key was found for
    TF No longer charges: Clicky
    Transformer won't boot: Clicky
    Power / Lock button issues: Clicky
    Flash downloaded ASUS Firmware: Clicky

  8. #8
    Ratchet
    Member #
    2171
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    102
    Liked
    12 times
    Part of it is to protect against malicious apps. Apps can't access other apps' data. And part of it is to fight piracy. You can't access app data to keep you from copying an app off your device and uploading it to the net.

  9. #9
    Guest
    Member #
    15773
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ebrowne72 View Post
    Part of it is to protect against malicious apps. Apps can't access other apps' data. And part of it is to fight piracy. You can't access app data to keep you from copying an app off your device and uploading it to the net.
    None of what you say should be the reason to turn off root SU access.
    Windows does no such thing. Neither does Linux (Ubuntu, Red Hat, etc.).

    I would think that building some sort of copy protecting into apps should not
    be that hard to do.

    Ray

  10. #10
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    8638
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,958
    Liked
    362 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Rayj00 View Post
    None of what you say should be the reason to turn off root SU access.
    Windows does no such thing. Neither does Linux (Ubuntu, Red Hat, etc.).

    I would think that building some sort of copy protecting into apps should not
    be that hard to do.

    Ray
    Probably originally to lock the phone to the provider, Android started life as a phone OS
    TF No longer charges: Clicky
    Transformer won't boot: Clicky
    Power / Lock button issues: Clicky
    Flash downloaded ASUS Firmware: Clicky

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. network access
    By ripzilla in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 11:37 AM
  2. VPN access
    By Torresjoe77 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 12:28 PM
  3. how do i access
    By njtone in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2011, 03:16 AM
  4. USB Access No Go!
    By electrolytics in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 07:18 AM

Search tags for this page

no root access

,
no root access detected
,
no root access found
,
no root access found android
,
no root access was detected
,
no root acess
,
no root permission
,
not root access
,
not root access detected
,
root access no access
,
root no access
,
why root access: no
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.