Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    35852
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    0 times

    I just rooted my TF101 and want to overclock it. How do I do it?

    I used this method (shown below) to root and I did it only so I could overclock my tablet. Can someone please guide me how to do it?

    HowTo: Root you Asus Transformer TF101 running ICS 9.2.1.21 or Transformer Prime TF201 running ICS 9.4.2.21, WITHOUT unlocking your bootloader! - Freek.ws

  2. #2
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Welcome to the forum!

    To overclock, you need to run a custom kernel. The most popular at the moment are Guevor's from XDA.

    In order to instal a custom kernel, you will need to install ClockWorkMod Recovery (and replace the stock recovery).

    If you overwrite the stock recovery, you will not be able to receive OTA updates from ASUS. You will have to flash them through CWM, but it will replace CWM with stock recovery. Then you will have to restore root with OTA Rootkeeper, then flash CWM Recovery again, then flash your kernel in recovery.

    Another option is to run a custom ROM like Revolver, Android Revolution HD, Megatron, AOKP, or others and then you will not have to reinstall CWM when you upgrade.

    Once you get a custom kernel installed, then you can use something like SetCPU or OS Monitor to set your new clock speeds.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  3. #3
    Starscream
    Member #
    28138
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    266
    Liked
    17 times
    Hello

    Do i need a custom kernel for downlocking too ?

  4. #4
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Magissia View Post
    Hello

    Do i need a custom kernel for downlocking too ?
    I believe you do if you want to set the max clock speed slower than 1 GHz.

    However, the CPU will only run as fast as is needed. If you grab CPUspy from the market it will show you how fast your CPU is running over a period. Most of the time when using it unless you are playing videos or games it will run slower than 1 GHz. IMO, underclocking is not really worth the trouble. The amount of battery saved will not be noticed. Overclocking from 1.0 to 1.5 GHz my average run time went from about 15.5 hours down to about 15 hours (dock and tablet combined).

    On Honeycomb, the CPU was mostly maxed out at 1 GHz any time the tablet was used, but since ICS it uses the processor much more efficiently and does not need the extra horsepower and runs a lot slower under normal circumstances.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  5. #5
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    Actually, Megatron has a built in tool for overclocking if you have a custom kernel. I am using Guevor's with Megatron ROM and it works very well. I am set at 1504Mhz and am getting very good battery life with the ondemand profile.
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  6. #6
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bfmetcalf View Post
    Actually, Megatron has a built in tool for overclocking if you have a custom kernel. I am using Guevor's with Megatron ROM and it works very well. I am set at 1504Mhz and am getting very good battery life with the ondemand profile.
    I have run into issues with some of the OC utilities built into some of the ROMs. I also have mine set at 1504, great trade off for performance vs battery life and it doesn't get too hot. At 1600 MHz it gets a bit warm at times.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  7. #7
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    Yeah, I was actually surprised that it worked well. I haven't had a problem out of it at all.
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    35852
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    0 times
    Do I need to unlock bootloader to get CWM?

  9. #9
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    If you have the TF101 like your profile says, it doesn't have a locked bootloader so you are good to go.

    The TF201 and TF300 both require a bootloader unlocker and there isn't one available for the 300 yet
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    35852
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    0 times
    I still have a locked bootloader, and when I tried to start RecoveryInstaller from the app drawer, it said I am not rooted, when I really do have root on tablet.
    So with that being said, is unlocking the bootloader neccesary?

    -Thanks for the help BTW

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [How-To] Overclock TF101 @ 1.6 - 1.7 GHz | ICS | FOR DUMMIES
    By FrancyDTD8 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-02-2013, 11:49 PM
  2. Just rooted brand new tf101 with 9.2.1.17
    By antron007 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) ROMS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2012, 09:49 PM
  3. Rooted TF101 and its Widgets
    By mrteeth in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2012, 11:37 AM
  4. Just rooted and overclocked tf101
    By George in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-11-2012, 03:43 PM
  5. TF101 ICS OverClock Kernel?
    By FrancyDTD8 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 08:30 AM

Search tags for this page

asus tf101 oc kernel
,
asus transformer tf101 overclock
,
best overclock settings for tf101
,
fastest overclocked rooted tf101
,
how to overclock my tablet
,

overclock asus transformer tf101

,

overclock tf101

,

overclocking tf101

,
tf101 kernel overclock
,

tf101 overclock

,
tf101 overclock kernel
,
tf101 overclocking
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.