Thread: How to root .21

Starscream
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF101
    Liked
    20 times

How to root .21

I'm a noob when it comes to rooting and I finally decided I want to root so I can flash roms like gnufabio's that speed up your system. Conveniently I also updated to .21 before I decided this. Looking around I am finding things like Razorclaw don't work anymore. I did see some people saying I could root if I had B60 or below and I do. Is there a way to do this or do I have to wait till more exploits come out?

Last thing: If I root and I have problems with my device (hardware problems not related to root) and I need to RMA, is it easy to remove the root so Asus will service it?

And one more thing: What is the process exactly for a beginner to root and do the basic stuff? Is it root-> install CWM -> flash roms from there? Is there any tutorials on this or any insights?

Thanks a lot.
    *Rooted* Transformer Pad TF101 and Nexus 7

Starscream
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF101
    Liked
    63 times
    Yes, .21 is rootable now, doesn't seem to matter which revision of TF101.

We were just discussing this in the thread below... http://www.transformerforums.com/for...ootable-3.html

Go here for the guide: Wolf's ultimate flash and downgrade guide (NO ROOT NEEDED) (root opportunity for .21) - xda-developers

I used Method 3, which flashes a CWM-based recovery first and then roots.

For help with using ADB, I used this: [GUIDE] Getting ADB Setup; An Idiots' proof guide on getting ADB working for Rooting! - xda-developers
    Magissia likes this.
    Tablet: Asus TF101 B9O 16 GB + 32 GB microSD | SOC: 1.4 GHz Tegra 2 | OS: Team EOS 4 JB 4.2.2 (latest nightly) | Kernel: KAT 103 | Dock: B7O
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus i9250 16 GB | SOC: 1.2 GHz OMAP4 | OS: stock JB 4.1.2 (JZO54K)
    Laptop: Dell XPS 1340 | CPU: Core 2 Duo P8600 w/ 4GB DDR3 dual-channel | OS: Win7 Pro | Other: copper mod

*Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet