Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: {Guide}ClockWorkMod recovery bootloop fix (Tested on my c10) Windows

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    29481
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Binghamton,NY
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    82
    Liked
    13 times

    {Guide}ClockWorkMod recovery bootloop fix (Tested on my c10) Windows

    So, you've rooted your tf, its running a manual install of ics direct from Asus, and you stupidly take there ota bugfix released this week, and now you're stuck in recovery bootloop. Every time you reboot,you see the Asus splash, hear a click, and you're in cwm recovery.
    Vol down and power doesnt work for you either, freezing upon cold boot of os.

    WHAT TO DO?

    1st off, let me say this is by no means my fix. Its borrowed from numerous sources,
    Also, I had this problem myself, so I know the feeling. With this guide, you will fix your tf
    And, this breaks root. But root is half the problem, other half being cwm

    1) You need to download these files
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1326576777
    This is a different version of cwm

    ASUS - Eee- ASUS Eee Pad Transformer TF101
    Original Asus firmware. Get for your sku (i.e. us,ww,de,etc) Ics only though, Asus removed hc files

    http://dl.google.com/android/installer_r16-windows.exe
    Android sdk tools, which has adb, neccessary for this fix. Well get more in detail about that in a minute

    http://www.junefabrics.com/desktop/
    Download whichever installer is appropriate. This is purely for the drivers since pdanet has all major phone manufacturers

    2) I recommend for ease of locating all these files be placed on desktop, at least for now
    You'll first want to install pdanet. Simple enough, just install, nothing special here

    3) Follow this guide for adb setup; How To Set Up ADB/USB Drivers for Android Devices (Updated 12/13/11) - TheUnlockrTheUnlockr

    4) After that guide, you should be looking at a cmd line that looks like this;

    "List of attached devices
    0123456789abcdefg recovery" ( something like that)

    5) Here you'll type;

    "Adb push "
    With the space at the end, no quotes, and dont hit enter yet

    6) Now, in windows explorer, find your download of Asus firmware, extract it ONCE, there will still be a zip, drag that zip to the cmd line
    Now it should look like this in cmd;

    C:\android-sdk\platform-tools\ adb push "c:\us_epad-user-9.2.1.11.zip"
    Those quotes stay put.
    Now type " /sdcard/download/" (no quotes) Put a space before typing
    Adb will try a million times to start the server, just keep up arrowing on your keyboard after error to bring your previously typed cmd
    Enter after getting the cmd
    You'll know it worked when it says
    "Push 1300mb blah blah" That's not an exact size, just a reference. Essentially, as long as it doesn't say error or protocol failure, you're
    ok

    7) Now, use the same cmd (adb push), and same technique(windows explorer, drag file)to push the rogue xm file to sdcard/download/

    8) Now, on the tf, in cwm, navigate with vol buttons for up/down, power to select
    Install zip from sdcard/
    Choose zip from sdcard/
    Download
    Rogue xm bla bla bla
    Install; yes
    DO NOT REBOOT

    9) In cmd line, type;
    "Adb shell" (again, no quotes)
    Type "echo boot | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=0" The 0 are zeroes
    Type "exit"

    10) Now, reboot

    11) Now, your tf may freeze on the Asus splashscreen, it may not.
    Regardless of whether or not it does, this is the next step

    Reboot by holding vol down and power for a few seconds, until splashscreen pops up with white letters
    Wait for "wipe data/android" screen, choose "wipe data" and reboot the same as before, except
    After the splashscreen comes up with white letter, press vol up immediately, which boots into recovery
    Install zip from sdcard
    Choose zip from sdcard
    Us_epad-user bla bla bla
    Yes to install
    Reboot system using cwm reboot option



    Hopefully, you should be all good now
    I should say this is still a work in progress, and Im still trying to figure out a replacement recovery, as I think it needs to be reflashed
    Any input, or corrections are welcome
    Thanks rburrow of xda for the original fix, and goodintentions from this site for helping me

    Just to clarify, again, this is not my fix. The fix was already out there, just not in non tech lingo
    In fact, anyone with some time on their hands, and can type in a search bar, could have done this
    Thats where i started, that's where people that helped me fix mine found stuff
    And there are many things i didnt touch on, like the many more commands adb can do
    Just wanted to compile everything for this specific issue, and hopefully, you wont have to stay up all night, sick to your stomach about your botched tf like i did
    Last edited by Kevchaps; 03-15-2012 at 07:30 PM.

  2. #2
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Thanks Kevchaps.

    Stickied.
    Kevchaps likes this.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    29951
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    Adb

    Hello,

    I also have the clockwork bootloop problem.

    I can only boot into CW. my version is v3.1.0.1 (it says on the top)
    I can still acces my sdcard in CW.

    But how do i get ADB working?
    i followed your guide like 100 times, but i cant get it to work.

    i cant even install PDAnet.
    when it wants to install the drivers, it says my phone is not connected.

    tnx!

  4. #4
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    Did you check out this LINK?
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    29481
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Binghamton,NY
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    82
    Liked
    13 times
    Sorry for my lack of help after, but life beckons sometimes.
    I agree with bfmetcalf, that guide is what originally helped me install adb

  6. #6
    Shockwave
    Member #
    26523
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    892
    Liked
    145 times
    This is cool. I am slowly learning about the TF and ADB program-- useful to know, just in case.
    TF101 B70 series, USA running Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3, rooted. 64gb microSDXC, keyboard dock with 32gb microSDHC in an adapter
    Dell Streak 7 running Honeycomb 3.2, rooted. 64gb SDXC. Mainly used as a music player.
    Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider, rooted -- frequently used as WiFi hotspot. 16gb microSDHC.

  7. #7
    Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    5624
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    11,748
    Liked
    1818 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob_of_QF View Post
    This is cool. I am slowly learning about the TF and ADB program-- useful to know, just in case.
    You seem to be doing a pretty fine job yourself. Seriously!

  8. #8
    Jazz
    Member #
    29481
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Binghamton,NY
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    82
    Liked
    13 times
    Any chance this thread could be "un-stickied"? At least for the time being? I dont believe I have done enough homework for the guide, I dont want anyone screwing their tf up because of me.

  9. #9
    Soundwave
    Member #
    30415
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    Let me start by saying I am complete noob to Android and especially this ClockWorkMod business. I'm sure your solution should fix my problem, however I'd prefer to keep my current rom as it is working fine. So maybe I don't have to do all the steps?

    As it stands, if I start my Transformer normally it will show the Asus screen then go right to ClockWorkMod Recovery. The only way to get around it is to hold Vol-Down and Power when starting up as then I can cold boot it and I get into the Android OS just fine.

    So every time I restart my tablet or turn it back on after powering off, it goes into ClockWorkMod Recovery... how can I stop this or how can I remove CWM?

  10. #10
    Shockwave
    Member #
    26523
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    892
    Liked
    145 times
    It sounds like some sort of "switch" has been set in the startup process, that is not getting reset.

    Think of it this way: to install certain updates/ROM's the system has to restart from a power-off back into CWM mode to complete the process (or install the remaining parts).

    Obviously, once the process is complete, the switch is cleared, and normal start-up resumes.

    We know that you can achieve normal start-up, because you can do a cold-boot and it starts normally.

    So all you need to do is locate that switch... unfortunately? I have no idea what or where it is.

    I would pose your conundrum over at XDA, who are much more deeply into that sort of thing, were it my tablet...

    ... good luck!

    But here's one possible fix (I just thought of): you could try re-flashing your ROM and/or update. If the flashing of the update goes normally? It should, if it completes as it properly, reset that switch.
    TF101 B70 series, USA running Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3, rooted. 64gb microSDXC, keyboard dock with 32gb microSDHC in an adapter
    Dell Streak 7 running Honeycomb 3.2, rooted. 64gb SDXC. Mainly used as a music player.
    Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider, rooted -- frequently used as WiFi hotspot. 16gb microSDHC.

 

 
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 03:51 PM
  2. [ Recovery]Rogue XM Recovery v1.3.0 (CWM-based Recovery v5.0.2.7)
    By baseballfanz in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2012, 11:04 AM
  3. Wifi signal strength tested??
    By nmoreman in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 07:41 PM
  4. So TP tested in Norway
    By Horizon in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 12:13 AM
  5. Tested HD games for Asus Transformer
    By anton_aks in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 06:26 AM

Search tags for this page

clockworkmod boot loop fix
,

clockworkmod boot loop fix download

,
clockworkmod bootloop
,

clockworkmod bootloop fix

,
clockworkmod recovery loop fix
,
cwm boot loop fix
,
cwm boot loop fix zip
,
cwm bootloop fix
,
cwm recovery boot loop
,
download clockmod recovery bla bla zip
,
fix bootlop clockwork
,
how to fix boot lop at cwmr
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 AM.