Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By eejit
  • 1 Post By Doobster

Thread: GPS not working on TF201

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    55883
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    2 times

    GPS not working on TF201

    I cannot seem to get GPS to work.
    I downloaded GPS Test or GPSFIX like the guide suggest and have run the both several time and they never connect.
    I did not see much else in the forums about GPS so if I am just missing it please point me in the right direction.

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    590
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    U.S/CA/OC
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    3,375
    Liked
    471 times
    You might try going outside where you have a view clear of the sky, but the 201 has notoriously bad GPS.

    Do you have the GPS booster dongle they gave out?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator & Forum Sleuth
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    26017
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    toronto, ca
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    3,441
    Liked
    1118 times
    GPS didn't work properly on the 201 model--due to the aerial and the 'all metal back'.
    ASUS released a dongle, an attachment that went on the bottom port ...sort of like an outside GPS aerial.
    So no, it won't work on your unit without the dangling dongle.
    There is a thread around here somewhere on it....don't know if you can pick one up on ebay or somewhere,
    don't think they offer them anymore. cheers

    *EDIT... Ye Olde Dangle Yer Dongle Thread
    Last edited by eejit; 04-11-2013 at 04:19 PM.
    VictoriaParker likes this.

  4. #4
    Ratchet
    Member #
    55505
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Thessaloniki, Makedonia, Greece
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    206
    Liked
    27 times
    Ye, it takes like 15 minutes to lock. But using wifi, shows an accuracy of 10-20 meters in less than 30".
    Haven't tried connecting it to a hotspot tho.

    I got a 200m accuracy in 3 seconds.
    Hotspotted my nexus (no gps activated, just mobile signal).
    Opened google maps.
    0" : 1st click at current location : "Awaiting for location"
    2" : 2nd click at current location : "Your location is within 200 meters"
    7" : 3rd click at current location : "Your location is within 20 meters" (i actually saw the location circle shrinking)

    And that took less than 10 seconds!! (Prime's gps is still searching as i'm currently at home)

    This happened withing my house, after cold boot, only carrier was used, no gps lock.
    Last edited by christoi; 04-11-2013 at 05:34 PM. Reason: Forgot to cold boot

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    52249
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Android 2.X
    Posts
    73
    Liked
    11 times
    Welcome to the forum! I hope you can try connecting it to the hotspot. It helped me before though I could no longer remember what I did exactly.

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    55883
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    2 times
    Well that sucks...

    Maybe I can return it for a TF300

    Connect it to a hot spot? You mean wireless? It's on the net, just nothing for GPS
    Last edited by Doobster; 04-11-2013 at 05:25 PM.

  7. #7
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    590
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    U.S/CA/OC
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    3,375
    Liked
    471 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Doobster View Post
    Well that sucks...

    Maybe I can return it for a TF300
    If you can you probably should.

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    55883
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Tablet
    TF201
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    2 times
    Tigerdirect.com is pretty awesome. TF300 on the way at no additional charge! Doubt many places do that.
    eejit likes this.

  9. #9
    Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    41525
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Tablet
    VivoTab Note 8
    Posts
    981
    Liked
    233 times

  10. #10
    Soundwave
    Member #
    20849
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    28
    Liked
    1 times
    You might try this app "u-center GPS evaluation App", it's located on "Google Play". I believe it's listed in the tools cat..

    garylr

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. can't get 802.11 /n working on TF201
    By russ_nd in forum Transformer Prime FAQ
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-21-2013, 10:30 PM
  2. TF201 data transfer through USB cable not working
    By bernhardtdrew in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-2012, 01:09 PM
  3. GPS Doesn't Appear to be Working on TF201
    By drnshow in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-02-2012, 07:35 PM
  4. 7,8,I,U,H,B Keys not working TF201. HELP!!!!!
    By Cynth in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2012, 02:03 AM
  5. GPS working on TF201 running ICS 4.0.3
    By hbotl in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2012, 04:30 AM

Search tags for this page

asus tablet gps problem

,

asus tf201 gps not working

,

asus transformer gps not working

,
asus transformer tf201 gps issue
,
gps not working on asus tablet
,
gps not working on asus transformer prime
,
gps on tf201
,
tf201 can not turn on gps
,

tf201 gps

,

tf201 gps fix

,
tf201 gps problem
,
transformer prime gps dongle not working
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 PM.