Thread: Is the t200 right for me?

Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    Researching Tablets
    Liked
    0 times

Is the t200 right for me?

I hope this is the right spot for this topic.

Planning on buying a new machine Friday but having a hard time deciding between the two.

1) Asus transformer t200ta
    11.6" screen, z3795 bay trail with 4gb ram and a 6 4gb ssd.

2) asus 15.6" flip
    i3-4030U processor with 4gb ram and a 500gb hdd

Currently I have a ancient Toshiba with a t4400 processor and 3gb ram so either will be a big upgrade.

I do prefer the ssd out of the box on the t200ta which would have to be upgraded in the flip on the other hand the flip offers the option to upgrade the 4gb ram to 8gb down the road.

Price wise the flip has a little bigger price tag, I'm a webmaster so I'd be using the machine for surfing, editing html, email and light photoshop tasks, I never used anything under a 14" for the mentioned use so not sure if I'd be able to get used to the 11.6" without a external monitor.... I'm also a console gamer but being able to play games such as sims 4, euro truck simulator 2 and train simulator would be a plus.

Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    VivoTab Note 8
    Liked
    233 times
    If you want to even occasionally game... the Asus flip would be the better choice...

To lay it out for a basic comparison, here are some things to consider...

The Passmark score comparison is...

Intel ATOM Z3795 - Average CPU Mark = 1658 (Assuming the T200 can achieve the max performance, not sure yet as mobile SoCs can be throttled/limited)

vs...

Intel i3-4030U - Average CPU Mark = 2710

Pro's for the T200 is...

1) Full 2 in 1, makes it easier to use as a tablet and still have a fairly decent keyboard that'll still let you use it like a laptop

2) Battery life could be better but still longer than the flip with only a 3 cell battery...

3) Better cameras than the flip has...